Cork Club GAA

I think going on recent results it is very safe to say that the club game in Cork is by far the best in Ireland across the sports and at all grades.

Just today;

Ballymartyle - Qualify for All-Ireland Final

Meelin - Qualify for All-Ireland Final

Doneraile - Qualify for All-Ireland Final

Nemo Rangers - Give the greatest display in one half of club football in history to qualify for All-Ireland Semi-Final.

Havannas will be chocca bloc tonight!

jaysus, I read something in the Tribune there lately that was saying the club scene had gone to hell in Cork and it was all shite there.

Yeah read that aswell - close this thread admins

Unfortunately it’s all overshadowed by the lad from Cobh GAA who killed his daughters

whats this?

you might throw up the article Gman, i wonder was it written by a Cork man? Or Breheny? :lol:

Just to point out though, there is no such place as Cobh, there is however a British colony called Queenstown. I still think its a low blow to mention a murder suicide to score a few points, but i suppose when so little happens in the Rosscommon-Leitrim county area you’d have to have something to talk about.

Yeah gman throw up the article there, wouldn’t mind having a butchers at it…i read a very good one by Diarmuid O’Flynn back last year or the year before lamenting Cork club gaa

None of these articles get away from the success of the clubs though Puke. In fact, Cork clubs do well almost in spite of poor administration.

of course they do, a lot of this has to do with population and given the fact that Cork has probably more junior clubs than there are GAA clubs in Clare, Waterford and Limerick combined

any chance you might stick it up mate?

It has fuck all to do with population Puke. Do you want us to set up competitions based on pick? FFS, look at our most successful team in recent years, Newtownshandrum, they are only half a Parish.

There is 3 teams in the parish Meelin come from. In any other county there would be one reasonable/Intermediate Senior team.

Cork just has a lot more tradition, competition and pride in its games than alot of other counties. Just like Killkenny, tipperary, Kerry in football and a few others do. Tyrone have an amazing set up yet they only get to pick from half their population.

If it had all to do with population, what the fuck is wrong with Ennis and Shannon Puke if thats the case? the population thing is a cop out. Some of the biggest towns in Cork play Junior, yet some of the smallest parishes play Senior.

shocking bigotry

your kind of right with the rest though- large urban areas have no tradition of rural sports so dont play it & are shit at it

No, population isn’t a cop out, the more populated a county, the more clubs you are going to have in that county, the more clubs you have the stronger your intermediate and junior championships are going to be, sheer numbers dictate this…It is no coincedence that Tipp clubs have gone to shit at munster level at intermediate/junior level since they let teams regrade themselves to Senior despite not winning the championship, they now have 32 senior teams, leading to a weaker intermediate and junior championhship…There are 32 hurling clubs in Clare, 30 of which hurl either senior or intermdiate, the other two are junior b, so you have the junior A championship made up 100% of second/third teams, meaning that the standard is never going to get to a decent level for junior as they better players are just going to step up a level come the following year…What would be the proportion of first teams in the junior A competition in Cork, obviously enough the more first teams you have in it the standard the better the standard

So are the players in Cork Hurling for us to compete for an All-Ireland or not Kev?

Alot of first teams Junior A in Cork, not sure what that has got to do with anything. Too many teams in Clare and Tipp call themselves Senior, some of the Tipp Senior teams are woeful and would not win the Cork Junior title.

I’m really not sure what your point is though. If it was based on population then Mallow, Kanturk, Fermoy, St. Vincents, Blarney, Ballincollig, Bantry etc etc would all be dominating Cork GAA, and they are not. Of course certain clubs with be picks do well, but that is because they are organised, not because they have a big pick.

Are Corks 120 plus All-Irelands tainted so because of population?

Are Kerry or Killkennys diluted because they only play one sport?

And explain Dublin’s general shitness in comparison to population?

“obviously enough the more first teams you have in it the standard the better the standard”

Why?

There is no evidence to support this.

my point about population is with regards to the size of the county, not the size of the towns in it…Given that is it a large county with a large population, (nearly as much as the rest of the province put together) it is going to have far more clubs than any other county, the more clubs you have then the more adult first teams you will have at intermediate, junior A etc which should lead to stronger championship at these levels as opposed to other counties…

Think about it kev…If you have a junior A championship made up entirely made up of second/third teams, then if a player stands out at this level then he will be able to move up a level, while if it is made up of mainly first teams they remain at this level until they win it, with only one team moving on each year it means that the standard should remain somewhat the same maybe even improve depending on the age profiles of teams in it, while second/third teams can vary in strength year on year depending on who is needed by their senior/intermediate sides or whether the first team management allow lads to play

So you think Cork has an unfair advantage? Surely the size of the towns is relevant if you are discussing population. otherwise its not a discussion to be considered.

I really don’t know what you are getting at. Another way of looking at it is that Cork Championships are far harder to win, and thats why we have good quality by the time we leave Cork.

You are missing my point though, no matter how big the pick, or how many clubs there are, people still have to do the work and still have to run the clubs.

That was exactly his point???