A few early starts for you this week pal. Hope all is well with you.
since it is now clear that the cork hurling team is filled with tippy tappy merchants who can`t cut it are there any players they could select that might actually win the odd hard ball or at the very least do more than wave a hanky and shout forsooth at their opponents as they gather the ball and burn off down the field.
are michael o sullivan or even fintan O leary worth a look? That oleary lad looked like a very solid hard working player at fitzgibbon level as does o`sullivan
Cads out for Kerry now as well.
[quote=“twiceasnice97, post: 750219, member: 1061”]since it is now clear that the cork hurling team is filled with tippy tappy merchants who can`t cut it are there any players they could select that might actually win the odd hard ball or at the very least do more than wave a hanky and shout forsooth at their opponents as they gather the ball and burn off down the field.
are michael o sullivan or even fintan O leary worth a look? That oleary lad looked like a very solid hard working player at fitzgibbon level as does o`sullivan[/quote]
Well said TAN. Unfortunately O’Leary/O’Sullivan are as shit as the lads starting.
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 750090, member: 273”]His 3rd Cruciate. Not sure about which leg is twice. Having seen the incident and seeing how lOng he is back etc you could say it probably would have happened anyway no matter who it was.
In the other hand one would have to wonder about the medical side and rehab as these days the ACL operation and comeback is much better understood and far more successful than it was. It’s rare you hear about this type of re-accurrance.[/quote]
David Moran did his again a few weeks after coming back last year kev
Was it same knee?
There are not many parts of sports science better here in WA but I have delt with 4 since I started here and they are all back better than they were before. I do know though here they do alot more weights in rehab and in general and we get them to lifting 85-90% as soon as is reasonable. Now I have no idea what the recovery Of CON & DM was like, but I know in the past what traditional ACL recovery was like and there wasnothing like the encouragement to do weights ti the degree they do here, 3-4 sessions a week.
It may have nothing to do with it, it could be pure bad luck or genetics or as I have a slight suspicion with CON is he is too big for his skeletal structure and possibly carries too much upper body muscle.
Ti be honest un 90% of cases the treatment is spot on. It’s te player themselves that is the issue. From experience some lad are just plain stupid or in too much of a hurry to get back. I have had several occassions here to stop guys doing stuff. 3 Players here I have had to pull up on shoulder and bench weights they were doing outside their rehab program after shoulder re-con’s, real stupid ignorant stuff, former AFL system guys 2 of them as well, it’s unreal. I’d email or text the Physio about where they are at and they’d be 6 weeks away from doing what they were specifically told not to do.
Not saying that’s the case here, but rehab and following the guidelines is always down to the player. I think alot of it is poor education on it and boredom, they are used to training all the time and do not know why to do with themselves.
http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/cork-cull-didnt-surprise-o-hailpin-225987.html
Sean Og making a clown of himself now, going back to Barry Egan being dropped. His lOgic seems a bit messed up. On one hand he thinks JBM has made a catastrophic mistake dropping arguably presently the 3rd most talented goal keeper yet he uses an example of a former player being dropped in '98-99 as a stick to hit out at JBM. But didn’t that decision to go with a whole new team (virtually) work put ok Sean Og? Ye won the fucking All Ireland in 99?!?
I admire Sean Og as a player and the barriers he crossed, but he’s looking like an awful fucking goal now. Why didn’t he pop up about Barry Egan back in the day?
And he’d now like to coach Cork, seems he might have seen how hard the old young fella training is and wants to skip the whole coaching apprenticeship, typical.
Turenne, what do you make of the O’Connors refusing to play for Newtown? Sad stuff, thought they were better than that.
[quote=“Turenne, post: 750233, member: 232”]Cads out for Kerry now as well.
Well said TAN. Unfortunately O’Leary/O’Sullivan are as shit as the lads starting.[/quote]
I haven’t seen o.leary play on a few years but it’s totally wrong to say that o’sullivan is shit.
He has enough hurling to survive and is at least strong enough not to be pushed aside like a child
[quote=“twiceasnice97, post: 750443, member: 1061”]I haven’t seen o.leary play on a few years but it’s totally wrong to say that o’sullivan is shit.
He has enough hurling to survive and is at least strong enough not to be pushed aside like a child[/quote]
how did you reach that conclusion?
[quote=“twiceasnice97, post: 750443, member: 1061”]I haven’t seen o.leary play on a few years but it’s totally wrong to say that o’sullivan is shit.
He has enough hurling to survive and is at least strong enough not to be pushed aside like a child[/quote]
O’Sullivan has been on the panel since half-way through last year and has little to no game time, so obviously Cunningham/JBM think he isn’t less shit then the lads starting.
Anyway he isn’t physical at all, and tends to waste lots of possession.
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 750375, member: 273”]http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/cork-cull-didnt-surprise-o-hailpin-225987.html
Sean Og making a clown of himself now, going back to Barry Egan being dropped. His lOgic seems a bit messed up. On one hand he thinks JBM has made a catastrophic mistake dropping arguably presently the 3rd most talented goal keeper yet he uses an example of a former player being dropped in '98-99 as a stick to hit out at JBM. But didn’t that decision to go with a whole new team (virtually) work put ok Sean Og? Ye won the fucking All Ireland in 99?!?
I admire Sean Og as a player and the barriers he crossed, but he’s looking like an awful fucking goal now. Why didn’t he pop up about Barry Egan back in the day?
And he’d now like to coach Cork, seems he might have seen how hard the old young fella training is and wants to skip the whole coaching apprenticeship, typical.[/quote]
terrible gowling Kev - JBM gave Donal Og his inter county start and made him captain when he took over as manager again last year. It is not JBMs fault that Cusack got badly hurt and an all star keeper emerged in the vacumn. JBM gave Sean Og his inter county start and brought him out of retirment last year and gave him his place on the team. He couldnt possibly have been fairer to the pair of them. You would think that is time for Sean Og to stop commenting on JBMs selections out of respect for JBM and just to seen to be acting gracefully.
When you hear gowl baggery like this its makes you wonder were Frank Murphy and Gerard McCarthy actually more in the right than the wrong
Are the O’Connors not play for Newtownshandrum? whats going on there, if that is the case they must be favorites to be regulated. Did they transfer to Charleville or Ballygran or are they just sitting it out?
They are playing for the juniors this year because Bernie got passed over the senior job.
Light touch regulation, I hope. They’ve been a good club.
A lot of people are tipping Newtown for relegation, i’d still fancy them to beat the likes of Bride Rovers and Kileagh myself, still got some decent forwards.
By watching the cork forwards get pushed put pf the way last saturday night and then make no effort to chase
The Cork Senior Football team to play Kerry in Round 6 of the Allianz Football League on Sunday at 2pm in Tralee has been named as follows:
-
Ken O’Halloran
Bishopstown -
Michael Shields 3. Eoin O’Mahony 4. Jamie O’Sullivan
St. Finbarr’s Macroom Bishopstown -
Paudie Kissane 6. Noel O’Leary 7. Tomás Clancy
Clyda Rovers Cill na Martra Fermoy -
Aidan Walsh 9. Graham Canty
Kanturk Bantry Blues -
Fintan Goold 11. Mark Collins 12. Andrew O’Sullivan
Macroom Castlehaven Castletownbere -
Daniel Goulding 14. Barry O’Driscoll 15. Paul Kerrigan
Eire Og Nemo Rangers Nemo Rangers
Subs
16 Andrew O’Donoghue Aghada
17 John McLoughlin Kanturk
18 Brian Shanahan Carbery Rangers
19 Sean Kelleher Cill na Martra
20 Conor O’Driscoll Ilen Rovers
21 James Fitzpatrick Carbery Rangers
22 Pearse O’Neill Aghada
23 Alan O’Connor St. Colum’s
24. Liam Shorten Béal Atha’n Ghaorthaidh
25 Denis Crowley Bishopstown
26 David Goold Macroom
The Cork Senior Hurling team to play Galway in Round 4 of the Allianz Hurling League on Sunday at 2.30pm in Pearse Stadium will line out as follows:
-
Anthony Nash
Kanturk -
Shane O Neill 3. Brian Murphy 4. Conor O’Sullivan
Bishopstown Bride Rovers Sarsfields -
Christopher Joyce 6. Patrick Cronin 7. William Egan
Na Piarsaigh Bishopstown Kilbrin -
Daniel Kearney 9. Lorcan Mc Loughlin
Sarsfields Kanturk -
Cian Mc Carthy 11. Paudie O Sullivan 12. Seamus Harnedy
Sarsfields Cloyne St. Ita’s -
Stephen Moylan 14. Peter O’Brien 15. Patrick Horgan
Douglas Kildorrery Glen Rovers
Subs:
- Darren McCarthy Ballymartle
- Kilian Murphy Erins Own
- Mark Ellis Millstreet
- Tom Kenny Grenagh
- Stephen White Ballygarvan
- Michael Walsh Kildorrery
- Conor Lehane Midleton
- Luke O Farrell Midleton
- Cathal Naughton Newtownshandrum
The Cork team shows no changes from the side defeated by Clare last Saturday night. Stephen McDonnell remains out through injury, as does Jamie Coughlan.