Kinvara licking his lips at the sight of that Cork team I see…and well he should.
Your very downbeat Turenne and not without reason I suppose.
Its a must win game for us and I expect we’ll beat ye. Though I thought we would have had the meaure of Clare too and that didn’t work out.
Our aggression levels in defense we’re well off the mark against Tipp and if we do the same against ye then the likes of Paudi Sull will get plenty scores.
When is the Galway team usually named Kinvara?
Cork football backs look very vulnerable without Cadogan. It’s a much weaker squad in general. David Gould? Fucking hell, not to mention Fintan already being a passenger.
Kerry to have a famous win I think.
Tomorrow night id say.
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 750619, member: 273”]Cork football backs look very vulnerable without Cadogan. It’s a much weaker squad in general. David Gould? Fucking hell, not to mention Fintan already being a passenger.
Kerry to have a famous win I think.[/quote]
Cork playing with our two half-forwards as auxiliary half-backs now Kev, makes our backs look a lot less shit.
Likely to be the same team as the last day or what.
Denis Crowley is from left field also, sometimes didn’t even start for Bishopstown. He is a serious man for a goal though. I’m pretty sure he is the son if the hurler Johnny Crowley, or Dr. Paddy Crowley, not 100% which one.
Good to see Goulding back and Mark Collins getting an extended run.
Without Sheehan, O Neill and Cadogan though Cork look like a Division 2 team.
Why is Lehane on the bench?
JBM/Cunningham think getting relegated is a jolly good idea.
Wondered that too. He was fantastic in the fitz final. Will naughton even get a look in? Is cussen gone off the panel again?
Cussen is supposed to be back from injury and was supposed to be on the bench. He isn’t good enough anyway, I prefer O’Brien although he almost certainly isn’t up to it either.
Naughton won’t get a starting place any time soon. Loads of lads have overtaken him up front.
[quote=“Turenne, post: 750646, member: 232”]Cussen is supposed to be back from injury and was supposed to be on the bench. He isn’t good enough anyway, I prefer O’Brien although he almost certainly isn’t up to it either.
Naughton won’t get a starting place any time soon. Loads of lads have overtaken him up front.[/quote]
Cussen has been unspectacular but effective every time I’ve seen him. Worth having I’d have thought. Naughton was a nice impact sub to have at the least I always thought.
That’s all everyone is doing, you still need to stop the main danger men on the opposite team in one on one situations. Football has higher scoring than ever before so teams are finding a way past that. AO’S is too slow skill wise an in transfer of possession for IC Championship, he will be found out by a high pressure team like Dublin, Donegal or Kildare.
Mark Collins is a creative player, much like Mark Pilland fir Down, playing him in a Mark McHugh type roll is robbing Peter to pay Paul, although with Kelly back and in form that is less of a loss. Fully fit Cork and you have An excellent side with depth. You have to give the new coaches time to mould them the way they want so it’s another few mOnths before we’ll really know where they are going. But the amount of injuries is way above the norm for a top team with massive resources. It’s not just bad luck IMO when you have so many over 2-3 years. Personally I think so many dual players is a massive problem, as dual for their club, as well as (commendable and all as it is) the very high level of commitment this bunch of players have to their clubs playing at almost every available opportunity. I suspect their training programs don’t get peeled back enough around clusters of games. It might be sorted somewhat now but it may be too late. I have over the years played in challenge games against some of the Cork lads who would head out from Cork training ad play the 2nd half or something. It all piles up.
The Cork Senior Hurling team to play Kilkenny in Sunday’s key Allianz League final round game at 3pm in Nowlan Park will line out as follows:
-
Anthony Nash
Kanturk -
Shane O Neill 3. Brian Murphy 4. Conor O Sullivan
Bishopstown Bride Rovers Sarsfields -
Lorcan Mc Loughlin 6. Christopher Joyce 7. Stephen White
Kanturk Na Piarsaigh Ballygarvan -
Daniel Kearney 9. Patrick Cronin
Sarsfields Bishopstown -
Conor Lehane 11. Cian Mc Carthy 12. Paudie O Sullivan
Midleton Sarsfields Cloyne -
Stephen Moylan 14. Luke O’Farrell 15. Patrick Horgan
Douglas Midleton Glen Rovers
Subs
- Darren McCarthy Ballymartle
- Kilian Murphy Erins Own
- Mark Ellis Millstreet
- Michael Walsh Kildorrery
- Colm Spillane Castlelyons
- Fintan O’Leary Ballinhassig
- Michael Cussen Sarsfields
- Adrian Mannix Kilworth
- Peter O Brien Kildorrery
- Brian Hartnett Midleton
- Cathal Naughton Newtownshandrum
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 750375, member: 273”]http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/cork-cull-didnt-surprise-o-hailpin-225987.html
Sean Og making a clown of himself now, going back to Barry Egan being dropped. His lOgic seems a bit messed up. On one hand he thinks JBM has made a catastrophic mistake dropping arguably presently the 3rd most talented goal keeper yet he uses an example of a former player being dropped in '98-99 as a stick to hit out at JBM. But didn’t that decision to go with a whole new team (virtually) work put ok Sean Og? Ye won the fucking All Ireland in 99?!?
I admire Sean Og as a player and the barriers he crossed, but he’s looking like an awful fucking goal now. Why didn’t he pop up about Barry Egan back in the day?
And he’d now like to coach Cork, seems he might have seen how hard the old young fella training is and wants to skip the whole coaching apprenticeship, typical.[/quote]
JBM is a gentleman, to my mind one of the greatest figures in the history of the GAA. And unlike other GAA figures who have won multiple AI titles he doesn’t act the cunt.
From those quotes there O’hAilpin doesn’t seem to have a great deal of love for JBM. “He’s done this before, like with Barry Egan” etc came across as a bit bitchy. It was JBM who led them to that AI in '99 and brought those players through. O’hAilpin should have a bit more class and gratitue for his former manager who treated him very fairly, in both his stints as manager. Cork are building a decent young team and repeated interviews like this from O’hAilpin only undermine the lads working away on the squad.
If O’hAilpin had his way Joe Deane would still be in the corner with Brian Corcoran at the edge of the square. Sean Og wasn’t happy with Gerald McCarthy, he wasn’t happy with Denis Walsk when he dropped him and now he is unhappy with JBM for leaving out a few veterans. Looking forward to seeing him manage Cork himself in years to come and the undoubted success he’ll make of it…
[quote=“dodgy-keeper, post: 753329, member: 1552”]JBM is a gentleman, to my mind one of the greatest figures in the history of the GAA. And unlike other GAA figures who have won multiple AI titles he doesn’t act the cunt.
From those quotes there O’hAilpin doesn’t seem to have a great deal of love for JBM. “He’s done this before, like with Barry Egan” etc came across as a bit bitchy. It was JBM who led them to that AI in '99 and brought those players through. O’hAilpin should have a bit more class and gratitue for his former manager who treated him very fairly, in both his stints as manager. Cork are building a decent young team and repeated interviews like this from O’hAilpin only undermine the lads working away on the squad.
If O’hAilpin had his way Joe Deane would still be in the corner with Brian Corcoran at the edge of the square. Sean Og wasn’t happy with Gerald McCarthy, he wasn’t happy with Denis Walsk when he dropped him and now he is unhappy with JBM for leaving out a few veterans. Looking forward to seeing him manage Cork himself in years to come and the undoubted success he’ll make of it…[/quote]
good post dodgy
The flip floppery of O’Hailpin is embarrasing for Cork GAA at this stage.
JBM has the respect of the wider GAA community and is a true GAA icon. O’Hailpin will never have JBM like status and could do with shutting the fuck up.
Can’t agree more lads. Always had huge respect for Sean Og, he was my age, I marked him a couple Of times and was proud of that. He always came across as a gent to anyone who met him even in his 20’s, but since his dropping he has taken it very badly. Many many players in the past have been the same but the only bitching you’d hear would be up Barrack St or at the Geln bar or in Mulligans or somewhere. Now media has changed and alot of stuff is aired everywhere.
If we are honest we’ve all had a bitch about a coach or something similar, it happens in every team in every sport in the world. But just keep it to your own mates. That’s his big mistake.
The Cork Minor Hurling team to play Clare in Thursday night’s Electric Ireland Munster Quarter-Final at 7pm in Páirc Uí Rinn will line out as follows:
-
Patrick Collins
Ballinhassig -
Shane O Brien 3. Killian O’Connor 4. Kieran Histon
St. Catherine’s Mallow Cobh -
Mark O Keeffe 6. Conor Twomey 7. Cathal Cormack
Fr. O’Neill’s Newtownshandrum Blackrock -
Michael Cahalane 9. Rickard Cahalane
Bandon Ballymartle -
Peter Kelleher 11. Kevin O’Neill 12. Trevor Horgan
Kilmichael Watergrasshill Newcestown -
Aaron Ward 14. Pa O’Callaghan 15. Anthony Spillane
Douglas Ballyhea Castlelyons
Captain: Cathal Cormack, Blackrock
Subs:
- Michael Browne Ballyhea
- Eddie Gunning Na Piarsaigh
- Darren Quirke Midleton
- David Noonan Glen Rovers
- Conor Kelleher Sarsfields
- Donal Hannon Newmarket
- Mark O Connor Douglas
- Sean Bourke Grenagh
- Sean Hayes Mallow
Six of this year’s starting fifteen also started last year’s defeat to Clare: Patrick Collins, Killian O’Connor, Kevin O’Neill, Michael Cahalane, Anthony Spillane and Pa O’Callaghan, who was Cork’s top scorer in that game, with a total of 1-6. Rickard Cahalane and Trevor Horgan both came on as subs.
Also on the training panel:
Alan O’Callaghan (Blackrock)
Darragh O’Callaghan (Watergrasshill)
James O’Flynn (Erins Own)
Charlie O’Connor (Glen Rovers)
Dayne Lee (Na Piarsaigh)
Shane Mulcahy (Blarney)
Joe Logue (Blackrock)
Dylan Quinn (St. Finbarr’s)
Where is Fr O’Neills Turenne?