What is a typical Carlow man?
Inside anyone from carlow is a person who wants to be free. Possessive partners, conservative thinkers, and bureaucrats with whom Carlowmen come into contact should be aware of this.
No matter who or what the cause, the carlovian who is held back in life, in love, or in opportunity for spiritual growth will be unhappy, even though he or she will keep smiling through all adversities.
Like the supermacs in Tullow the Carlow personality exercises conflict between mind and body. A carlovians purpose is to overcome this conflict so that they may guide others.
[quote=“Tabby, post: 864474, member: 2142”]How do you define being from cork or being a true corkman?
Must you have been born and lived all your life there and be of cork parents? What if only one parent is from cork? Neither but you were born and grew up there? What if you were born there but moved away? Neither are from there you werent born there but you moved there played for them and got the accent a la Sean og? Is the accent key? What if all family are from there but you never lived there?[/quote]
If you have Cork blood and Cork heritage then you can claim your Corkness.
I would like an apology from Glasagusban for his slur on my character!Limerick is my joint second favourite county after Cork!
Good day for Cork GAA. Clyda win Munster ifc and Midleton win Dean Ryan.
[quote=“Beautiful City, post: 864493, member: 1616”]I would like an apology from Glasagusban ,Limerick is my joint second favourite county after Cork![/quote]Jesus, i’ve tried too hard before but this is new ground broken.
Great win for Midleton.
Eoin Moloney ( Midleton )
Cal Hegarty ( O’Neills)
Seanaidh Smith ( Midleton)
Mike Mellerick ( O’Neills)
Ed Leahy ( Aghada )
Daniel Harrington ( O’Neills )
Sean O’Connor ( O’Neills)
Brendan McCarthy ( Carrig )
Conor Parker ( O’Neills)
Padriag O’Brien ( Midleton )
Kevin Moynihan ( Colmans )
Killian Treacy ( Killeagh )
Jack McDonnell ( Aghada )
Josh Beausang ( Colmans )
John Looney ( Aghada )
Who do Cloyne join up with for Colmans? Our lot are forever playing crackers with them.
Cloyne/Russell Rovers. Moynihan is Shangarry.
Ah right. I was wondering why they were A grade and close to Premier 2 standard.
What’s the story with Fr. O’Neills @Turenne[/USER] & @[USER=276]fenwaypark ?
I know they had a population burst but their success and competitiveness is very consistent now for a club who only started competing at that level maybe 6-7 years ago. They were always a Minor B (effectively “C” grade back then) before the re-drawing of divisions. I realise they were good before that, but now they are making finals at either Premier 1 or 2 at all grades.
[quote=“Turenne, post: 864609, member: 232”]Great win for Midleton.
Eoin Moloney ( Midleton )
Cal Hegarty ( O’Neills)
Seanaidh Smith ( Midleton)
Mike Mellerick ( O’Neills)
Ed Leahy ( Aghada )
Daniel Harrington ( O’Neills )
Sean O’Connor ( O’Neills)
Brendan McCarthy ( Carrig )
Conor Parker ( O’Neills)
Padriag O’Brien ( Midleton )
Kevin Moynihan ( Colmans )
Killian Treacy ( Killeagh )
Jack McDonnell ( Aghada )
Josh Beausang ( Colmans )
John Looney ( Aghada )[/quote]
Are Smith and O Brien related to the 2 coaches from Midleton, Peter and Sean?
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 864702, member: 273”]Ah right. I was wondering why they were A grade and close to Premier 2 standard.
What’s the story with Fr. O’Neills @Turenne[/USER] & @[USER=276]fenwaypark ?
I know they had a population burst but their success and competitiveness is very consistent now for a club who only started competing at that level maybe 6-7 years ago. They were always a Minor B (effectively “C” grade back then) before the re-drawing of divisions. I realise they were good before that, but now they are making finals at either Premier 1 or 2 at all grades.[/quote]
Fr. O’Neills are my club. Secret of our success has being to get former hurlers to volunteer their time and take juvenile teams. It amazing what can happen when you have lads with no agenda working together in a cohesive manner. There is a focus on skill development up to U15/U16 where a greater emphasis on tactics are introduced. Players are screen to spot weaknesses in certain muscle groups and are given exercises to develop these. Very important for injury prevention going forward. Lots of work done on nutrition etc aswell.
In addition there has been no population burst kev. Many of the top players are sons of former players.
also there is a policy that parents cant teams if their kids are involved.
i heard about that and agree 100% ( not speaking from personal experience before @caoimhaoin comes flying in)
jesus i can never remember a population burst in Ballymacoda, its always fierce quiet down there
I fucking knew it. Sick cunt.
@fenwaypark that’s great stuff. I had similar visions for my club way back but I was “taking it too far”. Thankfully our underage is now more or less run by ex-players who are way more in tune with what works. We still have a massive issue with other sports and pandering to the players that often choose rugby/soccer in a whim. We have got to latter stages of several comps recently but could regularly be missing a star player. Have ye any such issues?
Ah there was a bit during the boom no? I delivered nails and glue down there one day myself.
Do you know of a lad from Ballinora down there? Probably has kids old enough to play now, TC, super hurler himself.
We have no issues on that front Kev, it is all hurling down our way. I have been based in Dublin for 14 years but have family that are heavily involved in the club.
Ah right, for some reason I thought you were at the cbs.
Shows what hard work and a bit of education can do.