ACL?
Or he went on the piss again?
Hamstring off the bone from what I read.
Oh fuck, an avulsion.
He will probably never play county again. Have been involved in 3 of those rehabs, one right now. Its a long shot to even play sport again, not to mind a decent level.
Iâd love to know where you went to school ,
I know that BOK went to Nagle so it wasnât Harty ye were playing, the coach sounds like a character
Iâm a couple of years olde than you but Iâd know all those lads you played against, I would contend that OâKeeffe was well deserving of a place on that team and he was quite a mature and decent young fella so he could well have been a good captain choice, that Rockies team won the minor county as well.
He is a top man, we got on well, i went to Carrig Na Bhfear. That was B alright, played them 4 times in a short emough period. We played Harty then the year after.
We met every now and then in town and whatnot. He would have delivered coal to my house with his grandad back in the day. Good stock.
You make a good point on his maturity etc. And i am not trying to take too much away from him, he was better than i ever was. But that was a spectacular squad in 95.
Rockies won the year before, Juniors age were pretty average. Think Rockies won the first ever Premier. Midleton won my age (Juniors age) when they beat Na Piarsaigh who to that point had never lost a game, ever.
Coach was old school in ways, but in the best sense of it. I can imagine he would evolve with the times. Have not seen or heard of him since.
Dublin have regressed under Cunningham⌠Outdated tippy tappy tactics,and poor man management skills. Seems to have done a similar number in UCC. He is a complete spoofer.
Walsh and Cadogan back training with the footballers.
Suckers for punishment or what
Canât deny their commitment.
Walsh is an awful idiot. Would he ever just relax and play with his ckub and then fuck off travelling for 6 months.
As much as i like this Cork management as a bunch of people, this is distinctly unfair and imbalanced on Shields and Halloran. Ok they stepped out of line. It showed you couldnât act the langer and get a Cork jersey too easily. Grand. Harsh considering other things that happened over the years, but fine a line in the sand. However, those 2 choose Football. Walsh and Cadogan choose Hurling. Now its been shown that you can say âscrew football, they have no hope, we might win a hurling. And sure if we get knocked out of the hurling i can fall in with the footballâ.
Its a poor message. And what of the 2 players that lose out now?
I think this sort of thing mentally erodes a squad. It may not be even talked about, it might be just a rolled eyes, but players do take note and it does effect them.
It also looks panicked. What are the odds of Longford for Sunday?
When Walsh drove that ball wide after settling himself for a completely free shot on Saturday night some clown in front of me screamed âgo back to the fucking football you langerâ and despite rolling my eyes I had to agree with him, Walsh is a good footballer, that night that he lost the plot in an u21 hurling game and looked like Henry Shefflin has been his undoing.
Nah, institutionalised.
Dunno, but surprised its not on TV, has âshockâ all over it.
I been thinking about this recently and @caoimhaoin might have a view. But is it the hardest thing in coaching to protect and enhance the ability of your most talented players rather than develop the average ones?
Walsh is a fine hurler (was maybe) and that night with u21s was not a isolated freakshow. He had been a very impressive player at club level both with Kanturk and with Duhallow seniors and a v good Duhallow U21 side for a while. But heâs gone a mile back since he focused on hurling.
Look around the country at Hannon, Rushe, Dowling, Lehane, Horgan, Canning off top of my head. How many of them are as good now as they were a few years back, or even close to fulfilling their potential? I think all of those guys have regressed in performance. Obviously many different reasons why but possibly had it too easy too young and never added the application to the talent, maybe targeted more by opposition etc all of which are valid. But the very best coaches i.e. Cody is well able to keep his best performers at their peak for a long spell. Has to be in the coaching for me and how these players are dealt with
Would it be a shock? They beat monaghan away from home last weekend
Hence why shock is in commas. Iâd expect Longford to win.
Cody doesnât really coach, theyâve been coached all their life⌠He doesnât care about talent just who is performing. His coaching is essentially breaking guys down to see who can handle the heat, who would kill for the team ⌠As Richie Hogan said last week when asked is it hard to keep the whole thing going with all the success- those that want to win are in the team, those that done arenât⌠Do you think Cody would carry those players if they were not hungry or performing?
Cody is a puppet, Mick Dempsey is the real bossman there.
I saw the Kilkenny coaching manual last week, the expectations for 6 year olds and each year after are something to behold,