Cork GAA 2016

Didnā€™t deserve to stay.

All deserved to go

Wonā€™t know until we find out lad.

What others?

This move will do the Rock as well as Paudie the world of good. POS is a serious club man and an exceptional club hurler, so he can go and enjoy that and DOS can have a weight off. Its been clear ever since he came back pAudie was not up to it.

From what i understand the commitment was hard for SON and i would imagine this was taken into consideration. Cronin was a no-brainer, Cian Mac the same.
Moylan though i would query a little. Never going to be a starter or a star, but a very handy late sub with tired defenses as he is crabbit. May have walked himself though and hard to blame him.

Fair play to them, easy dodge big calls like that. Cronin was going alright last year I thought? For Cronin like.

Ya iā€™m very impressed. Its very un-Cork to do it.
Cronin was good in one game which escapes me now, but also goes missing. It would not surprise me if the training Flannery is doing is having an effect on a few decisions.
From what i hear alot of the hurlers are quite old school in their approach and reject S&C and anything that is not Donal Oā€™Grady/Donal Og drill based. Its a hugely common thing in Cork, see it with clubs i am involved with over past 2 years or coaches i meet. Nobody actually plays fucking hurling at training anymore in Cork, its ridiculous.

I have to completely change my field conditioning for hurling at club level as if i did what makes most sense, alot of speed and interval aerobic work, i would only be repeating what the coaches do as drills are essentially intervals. So what itonically has happened is the Hurling Coach does the interval work and i go in and play conditioned games in big spaces for Aerobic Conditioning. Madness.

So i think that change from Flannery would upset some lads.

POS never recovered from the leg break. Cian should not have been asked back unless they planned to play him. Left for same reason he left last year. Cronin could still do a job and they are now banking on Harnedy not being injured. Again he may have walked if now in second tier. Moylan has never really got a chance so probably felt time to go.

All the optics of a big call but they were in the main popular lads in dressing room.

Cork donā€™t have a great record of lads wanting to or being prepared to sit on bench

Ya because they have poor set ups for a good while. Not always managements fault but sitting there beside Frank & Bob on match day is not going to entice middle of the road lads to stick around. The bench last year looked positively depressed anytime i saw them. Zero hunger. Thats a culture issue. Corks GAA culture stinks

And SON never really recovered from the roasting Shane Oā€™Donnell gave him in 2013.

They must be seething out in Bishopstown!

What club is Flannery from? Any history as a player? I hadnā€™t come across him I donā€™t think til he won camogie AI with Milford. Did his involvement with Oulart develop from that?

He played hurling for years with Carrigtwohill.

Senior hurler for Carrigtohill.
Won All Ireland Camogie with Cork in 09, Milford men and women. Think CIT too.

Largely makes a team out of whatever he gets wherever he goes.

Gas man is Frank. Heā€™s a builder by trade and did our extension there a few years back. Talked for hours about hurling to him back then, loves the game. Lives and breaths it. Total lunatic though. Had to retire from hurling because of injury early on in his career but was telling me that even back then he was too tapped to go far in the playing side of the game. Good trainer by all accounts.

Carrig are absolutely full of nutters.

That they are Kev, that they are

Mostly in a likable way though i should emphasize

Frank told me heā€™d never train the seniors, no way he said!

Got a tiny insight into that myself this year. Helped out a guy doing the S&C. Youā€™d want a Phd in Psychology.

And a 2-by with a few rusty nails to gain orderā€¦