Cork GAA - They're going home! - sponsored by Sports Direct and Super Valu

Is that a recent thing? Did a 12 pubs station there myself not too mighty long ago.

Great pub by the way, the trad session nights are the finest.

We’re splitting hairs over the term working class,

That map doesn’t represent my view of Douglas, for example Douglas Comm wouldn’t be on it, or Trabeg or anything city side of the village, while Rochestown as far as Passage is, I know Nemo are dry own in Trabeg now but they hardly redrew the map to facilitate a GAA club.
20k new houses sounds like an awful lot @Thomas_Brady, that would represent a very large percentage of the entire housing stock of Cork City

A lot of the areas that you describe as working class I would categorize as deprived, Ballyphehane is no worse than Grange these days

@thelimericks

I don’t think there were any real Cork people challenging what was a fairly innocent statement…but I suppose the sombreros etc were circling

Fellas be telling you Passage is middle class next

Lads, who gives a shite.

@thelimericks clearly

A campaign to relegate the Little All Ireland down the news cycle

There’s probably 1000 houses built alone in the last 2 years where Maryborough and Moneygourney meet. Loads of houses around Maryborough and up behind the garda station. You’ve a good clatter leading from moneygourney down to Douglas hall / Garryduff also. Mountoval yes is RoCo but it’s all Douglas these days.

is that Douglas GAA’s catchment? More or less?

there is something genuinely disturbing about Passage and it’s inhabitants… it’s the closest thing to hicksville/deliverance country you’ll get in Ireland

You’ve Limerick lads born and bred in Limerick City schooling Cork City lads on the geography and demographics of Cork City and WINNING HANDS DOWN

Jesus this superiority over our Southern brethren is unprecedented, it’s in all aspects of life. It’s like the end of Game of Thrones when the North rises and the Starks rule everything. Fuckin hell.

Is the gentrification of Cork the reason their hurlers are so soft these days?

Am, that’s not a recent phenomenon. Cork has always been gentrified

Why are the hurlers so soft so?

Donal O’Grady + Donal Óg Cusack = A lot of talk about spare arm tackling and refereeing the game correctly = Cork Hurling Culture promoting the skillful side of the game more than all other aspects + Referees policing the game accordingly = Soft Cork Hurlers

Ger Cunningham Newtownshandrum too

I don’t think so, maybe more or less if we’re gonna be pedantic, but it stops at the start of the Grange road and stretches pretty much from Passage to Ballygarvan, and it doesn’t include anything from the village towards the city including Douglas Comm etc, those people live in real Douglas, it also includes a large chunk of water,
I’m surprised that all of Rochestown is in Douglas, I was sure Rochestown was a parish in its own right

Cody 2006
Mulcahy 2018

No more about it.

RoCo is a townland in Douglas. Ive been trying to tell you this, Douglas is now the centre of a huge suburban area.

You have my attention, what does that actually mean in practical terms? Is it part of the address ’Rochestown, Douglas, Cork. Are the churches/ parishes unified,

Rochestown church is part of the Douglas parish. They are joined im almost certain.