Sounds like a cuntfest
Salt of the earth locals just wanting their few pints and bets on the horses and a load of steamer students coming in in their Christmas jumpers playing some idiotic game disturbing their routine
Anyway the Barrs v Castlehaven should be a cracker the weekend.
Fennessys in Limerick wonât serve them
Itâs great seeing a contrary barman telling them get to fuck and the realization that they are stupid cunts sinks in as they sheepishly waddle off.
But I never said the words
I said working class, specifically about certain areas of Douglas, I never said anywhere was a shit hole or a ghetto, those have been attributed to me bizarrely,
Thereâs nothing wrong with working class, itâs being given a terrible rep here
The Pinecroft was a rough enough pub, closed a couple of years ago,
This is mad, at least reply with things I actually said
what would you consider the place in Shameless? I was only taking the piss with the shithole comment, as I thought you were with the Shameless comment, but it seems not
Most of Douglas is very working class was the statement that began this, youâve been trying to depict Douglas as something itâs not since the start mate
Most of Na Piarsaighâs catchment area is Moyross and Ballynanty but you wouldnât hear anybody try to say Na Piarsaigh is a working class club
The Douglas he knew doesnât exist anymore. Douglas is now the centre and focal point of a catchment area stretching from Rochestown in the east to Frankfield in the west.
I stand by it despite our disagreement on the definition of working class, Grange and Donnybrook are the majority of Douglas, I donât consider it Douglas up around Mount Oval etc, I call that Rochestown,
@Thomas_Brady mentioned an influx of 25000 people which sounds huge, Iâm not sure how accurate that is?
Anyway, nothing will convince me that Grange isnât a working class area.
And those areas along with the village always backboned Douglas teams, I suppose the success at ROCO has played a part.
It was an innocent statement, canât believe how much controversy it caused, people piling in with zero knowledge of the area but thatâs the way it is here.
Iâm sorry mate, but Iâm very familiar with the geography, the sneering is disappointing
You do enough sneering yourself
Lads who wouldnât find the pitch in Douglas even with their phones, absolutely desperate to prove me wrong
He lives there, I have very good friends there and a cousin who lived there for years
Thereâs no sneering kid. Im just outlining the modern outlook and demographic of the modern Douglas.
The Douglas he knew doesnât exist anymore. Douglas is now the centre and focal point of a catchment area stretching from Rochestown in the east to Frankfield in the west.
I read this in a Twyin Lannister Game of Thrones accent.
I reluctantly agreed to a 12 pubs of Christmas on Barrack Street. The first pub we went into was absolutely choc full of wankers in Christmas jumpers absolutely polluted, went to go to the jacks and there was about two inches of piss on the floor, some cunt backed up the urinal with beermats. I fucked off up to Pa Johnsons where youâd be put through a window if any of that nonsense went on. I wouldnât go beyond the river, unless I really, really had to for pints in Cork City, I usually get as far as MCCurtain Street
The only pub Iâve been in on the Northside was Pat Buckleyâs on John Redmond Street. Was a grand boozer. Think it has changed ownership now.
that is the catchment area of Douglas, if you just want to arbitrarily choose parts that suit your view, fire away
itâs all B&Bâs and hostels up that way now
Whatâs it from? Most of that is farmland and a lot of it is the river.
Grange and Donnybrook make up a lot of the housing right?
What is Rochestown @Thomas_Brady, it seems to be entirely contained within Douglas as that map stretches to the outside of Passage
thatâs the douglas electoral area, where Douglas GAAâs catchment area is. Grange and Donnybrook donât make up most of it, they are part of it. Most of the houses are East of the Village.
Look mate, I have no doubts part of those areas have working class families in them but professionals have been buying up houses in those places since the mid 2010âs.
Iâm trying to think of an equivalent in Limerick, say Raheen, there are working class familes in Raheen and Dooradoyle, but you couldnât call them working class areas.
Iâd class working class areas as Weston, Prospect, Thomondgate
Mayfield, Ballyphehane, parts of Mahon etc
I used to golf in Frankfield. And use the range quite a bit. Thereâs nothing about Grange that even hinted at working class, there was nice cars in every drive, nice gardens etc
From that map Rochestown to moneygourney, taking in Maryborough and Garryduff is the biggest catchment area. There must be 20k houses there if not more ⌠Most built in the last 20 year and all latte drinkers