It’s not a senior match.
U-18 is underage, they use the underage team. Cathal Martin on the U-16 squad last year was listed as Kiltha Og not Castlemartyr, which is fair enough, he actually plays for the former not the latter.
Not sure where to put this. The government is withholding 30 million of funding for Pairc Ui Chaoimh because they don’t believe the cost benefit analysis the lying cork cunts put together. Hopefully now they cancel the whole stupid project, the gobshites.
Frank will sort it don’t worry. Will probably secure an additional 30 million as part of it.
PUC should be levelled and a new stadium built off the South Ring Road. Ballintemple is a nightmare to get into and out of. I have no idea why it was built there in the first place. It wasn’t like there were any shortage of greenfield sites around Cork back in the mid 70s.
What’s stupid I’d the insecurity of limerick lads wanting to have the most seats in a stadium in Munster!
And the lack of foresight that things may be needed down the road is an awesome Irish trait.
Considering Limerick people decided to knock a meter off their “50M” swimming pool so they couldn’t hold big competitions it’s laughable to have them blowing on about public wasted of money.
Well done Enda Kenny, taking on Big Bad Frank
Agreed, there are better places for it. Somewhere off dunkettle or Little Island may have made sense too.
They are a very nostalgic bunch in Cork GAA.
seems a lot of money for what they are getting in terms of a finished stadium
every county seems to have a half assed stadium now with uncovered stands, terraces etc
Maybe Cork should have a stadium but then make it a proper covered all seater stadium and hold most games there or else redevelop Semple as such
Another symptom of Ireland with everybody insisting on having immediate (even though nowhere really more than a couple of hours drive away anymore) access to facilities - same with local hospitals that are supposed to be fully functioning and all that goes with that but if you have a choice you will go to a major Dublin hospital and indeed are often transferred there so you end up with the optics and cost of local facilities that are really sub standard
[QUOTE=“TheUlteriorMotive, post: 1119469, member: 2272”]seems a lot of money for what they are getting in terms of a finished stadium
every county seems to have a half assed stadium now with uncovered stands, terraces etc
Maybe Cork should have a stadium but then make it a proper covered all seater stadium and hold most games there or else redevelop Semple as such
Another symptom of Ireland with everybody insisting on having immediate (even though nowhere really more than a couple of hours drive away anymore) access to facilities - same with local hospitals that are supposed to be fully functioning and all that goes with that but if you have a choice you will go to a major Dublin hospital and indeed are often transferred there[/QUOTE]
A complete white elephant. Ridiculously unsuitable location for a stadium. Completely unnecessary in the context of how many games will approach filling it a year with 3 other large stadiums in the region already, the most needed is two.
The GAA is retarded to support this project but there’s no way public money should go into it.
[QUOTE=“TheUlteriorMotive, post: 1119469, member: 2272”]seems a lot of money for what they are getting in terms of a finished stadium
Another symptom of Ireland with everybody insisting on having immediate (even though nowhere really more than a couple of hours drive away anymore) access to facilities - same with local hospitals that are supposed to be fully functioning and all that goes with that but if you have a choice you will go to a major Dublin hospital and indeed are often transferred there so you end up with the optics and cost of local facilities that are really sub standard[/QUOTE]
My woman, an Australian, laughs all the time at us and our complaining about how far we have to go for this and that.
Cork needs a big stadium, for Cork. Putting things in a Munster context is ridiculous.
I agree though the location and what they are getting for the money are very questionable.
For 2-3 games a year? This is the thought process that has this country ruined. Properly develop Pairc Ui Rinn or Musgrave Park and allow multiple teams use it. This fascination with having big concrete arenas lying idle is ridiculous.
As Pairc Ui Rinn has shown, it’s perfectly capable of hosting Cork games. This is such a crock of shit it’s not even funny.
@The Selfish Giant is right when he mocks the Irish for their lack of use of community stadia.
[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1119510, member: 273”]My woman, an Australian, laughs all the time at us and our complaining about how far we have to go for this and that.
Cork needs a big stadium, for Cork. Putting things in a Munster context is ridiculous.
I agree though the location and what they are getting for the money are very questionable.[/QUOTE]
Musgrave and Ui Rinn seem to be coping fine for current demands so what exactly does cork need a stadium with 50k capacity for?
the cost benefit analysis you can be certain is saying that there is no justification to pumping huge amounts of public money into a facility that size that would be filled randomly 1 or 2 times every couple of years at best.
you cant be wasting public money on monuments anymore kev, even if that monument is for the people of cork.
[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1119510, member: 273”]My woman, an Australian, laughs all the time at us and our complaining about how far we have to go for this and that.
I agree though the location and what they are getting for the money are very questionable.[/QUOTE]
utter shite, they need 30 million of taxpayers money for a stadium that is full once a year and at 10% capacity for the rest of the year,?bullshit
Build a 50k stadium because you never know when it might come in handy!
:D:D:D
Hurling semi finals shows mindset of GAA - unallocated seating in the stands - nightmare for anybody bringing kids to a game as getting a couple of seats together is now not a given
Presumably they expect people to leave after first game and Waterford/Tipp crowd to come for second game but if there is extra time in Dublin-Cork then it is going to be a bit of a mess
Enda has given Frank a hell of a crack across the snout, hon Enda
The following statement was released by Cork GAA on Wednesday, April 8:
"Cork County Board wishes to clarify a number of issues arising from a story on the redevelopment of Páirc Uí Chaoimh published in today’s Irish Independent.
"No State monies have been withheld from the project and no drawdown of monies has been requested by Cork County Board.
"An initial Cost Benefit Analysis draft on the project was submitted in December 2014 and is the subject of ongoing dialogue with the relevant officials in the Department of Public Expenditure and Reform.
“It is entirely appropriate and is the norm that any case being made for the expenditure of public monies would be subject to rigorous examination. Cork County Board is fully engaged with the Department in that process. The Board is confident that the basis of the business case for the redevelopment of Páirc Uí Chaoimh is correct and will be pleased to provide any further information or clarification requested by the Department.”
[QUOTE=“HBV*, post: 1119540, member: 234”]Musgrave and Ui Rinn seem to be coping fine for current demands so what exactly does cork need a stadium with 50k capacity for?
the cost benefit analysis you can be certain is saying that there is no justification to pumping huge amounts of public money into a facility that size that would be filled randomly 1 or 2 times every couple of years at best.
you cant be wasting public money on monuments anymore kev, even if that monument is for the people of cork.[/QUOTE]
The GAA will change championship structures in a few years. The Dubs coming to cork for big games, as an example, could bring a huge crowd. All Ireland semi finals could become a possibility. It only takes a meeting to change a competition, adding 15,000 seats is another issue.
Most people down here realise that’s part of the back room chat.
Not to mention holding other events and expos etc.
Short sightedness as usual.
Musgrave & Christy Ring are both tiny seated venues. They are not sufficient.