They should have built it at the Mardyke in collaboration with UCC that way it could be filled for Fitzgibbon and Sigerson Cup matches each year
Difficult to move any big games from Croke Park because of the premium tickets and corporate boxes - sold on basis of access to those games
Won’t happen until those current tickets expire and then Croke Park will fight tooth and nail to preserve them
you end up with Limerick, Killarney, Semple (assume it will be redeveloped) and Cork - four sub standard stadiums that are not modern or close to best in class
that is one province - same in other provinces
Casement Park in Belfast as a 38,0000 all seater covered on 3 sides (assume it will get go ahead) is the exception
[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1119595, member: 273”]The GAA will change championship structures in a few years. The Dubs coming to cork for big games, as an example, could bring a huge crowd. All Ireland semi finals could become a possibility. It only takes a meeting to change a competition, adding 15,000 seats is another issue.
Most people down here realise that’s part of the back room chat.
Not to mention holding other events and expos etc.
Short sightedness as usual.
Musgrave & Christy Ring are both tiny seated venues. They are not sufficient.[/QUOTE]
They’re building a giant stadium then on the basis that the GAA are going to change Championship structures. The very same GAA that haven’t changed the structures in any real meaningful way in 130 years?
Would you ever fuck off you bullshitter, you nearly had me there
All Ireland semi finals in Cork
Cos that never happened.
[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1119595, member: 273”]The GAA will change championship structures in a few years. The Dubs coming to cork for big games, as an example, could bring a huge crowd. All Ireland semi finals could become a possibility. It only takes a meeting to change a competition, adding 15,000 seats is another issue.
Most people down here realise that’s part of the back room chat.
Not to mention holding other events and expos etc.
Short sightedness as usual.
Musgrave & Christy Ring are both tiny seated venues. They are not sufficient.[/QUOTE]
fantasy stuff, not alone do you want a white elephant stadium built for you but you want the whole structure of the organisations flagship games changed so as to justify doing so.
30m of taxpayers money into a stadium that is relying on a whole heap of coulds and hopefullys.
personally have no issue with Cork people having their own big new stadium if the gaa want and decide to build it themselves. but whats funny is that it will be nothing more than a monument to Frank, the same Frank that was persona non grata to the majority of Cork GAA folk a few years back.
have ye forgotton what that was all about because ye are still without an ALL Ireland since that happened and the way ye are going ye will have a fine and shiny 45000 stadium in the mans honour and no all irelands since he ran the best generation of hurlers ye had out of the game.
short sightedness?
No need for this stadium in Cork.
It would have been a waste of GAA money and taxpayer money.
Munster has sufficient stadiums in Limerick, Thurles and Kerry.
Also, it seems like this 30 million could easily become 50 or 60 million with overruns for this white elephant.
Well done lads keep them down
clare lads too busy stabbing each other in the back
[QUOTE=“HBV*, post: 1119605, member: 234”]fantasy stuff, not alone do you want a white elephant stadium built for you but you want the whole structure of the organisations flagship games changed so as to justify doing so.
30m of taxpayers money into a stadium that is relying on a whole heap of coulds and hopefullys.
personally have no issue with Cork people having their own big new stadium if the gaa want and decide to build it themselves. but whats funny is that it will be nothing more than a monument to Frank, the same Frank that was persona non grata to the majority of Cork GAA folk a few years back.
have ye forgotton what that was all about because ye are still without an ALL Ireland since that happened and the way ye are going ye will have a fine and shiny 45000 stadium in the mans honour and no all irelands since he ran the best generation of hurlers ye had out of the game.
short sightedness?[/QUOTE]
Of course you are twisting what I am saying.
People are funny. On one hand they cry foul when the government contributes to a sporting stadium and a community outlet yet don’t mind when the government sell out to a tax cheat like Denis O Brien who is pillaging the country.
[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1119770, member: 273”]Of course you are twisting what I am saying.
People are funny. On one hand they cry foul when the government contributes to a sporting stadium and a community outlet yet don’t mind when the government sell out to a tax cheat like Denis O Brien who is pillaging the country.[/QUOTE]
There are better projects to spend taxpayers money on.
There is no need for a 50k + stadium in cork. Munster is more than adequately serviced with Limerick, Tipp and Kerry.
[QUOTE=“ProjectX, post: 1119772, member: 1742”]There are better projects to spend taxpayers money on.
There is no need for a 50k + stadium in cork. Munster is more than adequately serviced with Limerick, Tipp and Kerry.[/QUOTE]
What has Munster got to do with it?
Cork is the 2nd city, has an airport, a port etc.
why should it be thought of just in terms of Munster finals? It’s retarded thinking.
Doesn’t matter anyway. It will happen.
An airport is relevant for intercounty matches
The hay saved and Limerick bet.Well done lads. Tonight is just a start but we’ll take it.
A port is relevant too. On that basis Rosslare will be high on the priority list for the GAA going forward. Luckily Dublin Port is close to Croke Park.
Correct.
Cost benefit analysis indicates this cork stadium will be a waste of money, fact.
It would fill its capacity once every three to five years at best. It’s not needed.
Here is what i wrote on another site.
There’s no more i can do fellas.I have to move on with my life.It’s up to the rest of ye now to keep up this fight.I’ll be posting with more regularity again once the championship comes around but i can do no more with regards to exposing the county board as the shower of bullshiters that they are.It’s over to ye now.These guys took what was the leading brand in hurling to a county that is happy enough with winning munster and all ireland defeats.The all ireland wins of the 2003 to 2006 Cork team was not good enough for this crowd.Instead they are happy with our county suffering a serious all ireland famine at all the main grades of intercounty hurling for their bit of control and power.3 senior hurling all irelands and 1 senior football all ireland since 1990 hang yere heads.Hang yere heads for reducing Cork of the champions to Cork of the happy losers.
One last word for the man who through his own vanity and selfishness oversaw our countys decline as a hurling power.One last word for the man who dragged the reputation of people like our last senior all ireland winning captain through the mud because they had the bravery to stand up to him.One last word for the man who has used countless good people as pawns in his game of chess over the years.One last word for the man who pissed and shitted all over the legacy of the great hurlers of our past with his selfish and power hungry antics.And i finish with the this line (i’ve changed the words slightly) from an Elvis Costello song.
Was our countys hurling and sporting heritage, all the peoples on the grounds efforts (who you treated with disdain at every county board meeting and who you have treated with disdain with every single decision you have made since you were appointed an runai) and of all our hurling greats efforts over the years to preserve Cork hurlings legacy of achievement and refusing to accept second best and mediocrity that cheap to you.As Elvis Costello would say when they finally put you in the ground.A lot of those people will stand there laughing and tramp the dirt down
We’re fucked so
Thank God the Leinster Council don’t think agree with @caoimhaoin. Watch that space.
[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1119809, member: 273”]What has Munster got to do with it?
Cork is the 2nd city, has an airport, a port etc.
why should it be thought of just in terms of Munster finals? It’s retarded thinking.
Doesn’t matter anyway. It will happen.[/QUOTE]
It’s just a new stand though, the rest of the stadium will still be a run down shithole. It’s an awful waste of money.