Exactly
No i didn’t witness it.
I feel sorry for him and can relate to it too as a fellow stubborn chap myself. I could quite easily have done the same, in my younger years without a doubt but now i might have some chance. So you’d think with the benefit of years, his experience would have helped him make a better decision. He’ll regret that a cool head didn’t prevail.
He doesn’t have a cool head though.
This is not the first incident of this nature though and I know someone well who’s best mate works in CP who say this security crowd are out on their ear at first available opportunity. I believe there are constant issues between different groups in the stadium.
Have seen similar shite in the Mardyke arena in Cork would seem to have more or less push out all the UCC sports teams from using the gym etc. It’s a disgrace.
Never hire in the goons. They may offer a suitable business model and help you forget about something initially, but long term hiring a Security manager and paying him well and working from inside has longer term benefits. It’s sport ffs and we don’t carry on like those yobbos across the water.
I would agree with the above. McCarthy may have his issues but he was a guest of the GAA yesterday and deserved better than to be fucked around by those black-jacketed, earpiece-wearing wankers that ponce around on their handy earner whilst on a break from taxi-driving and assisting the sheriffs and bailiffs of Dublin.
Pricks!
Surely Teddy was there just two weeks ago for the Hurling 25th Anniversary and would have known where to go?
Thank you. I thought so.
So far we’ve only heard Teddys story and the boys are swallowing it hook line and sinker. We’ll see.
Sure we’ll never get the other side.and in fairness teddy has been honest
Eye witness reports are all you need. 12 o clock outside Croke Park on All Ireland Sunday, there was plenty there. How honest he has been is up for debate. Anyway, he made a cunt of himself.
This is a fucking disgrace. A true national hero, the only man to win AI medals in both codes in the same year. It does not get more Fíor Gael than that.
I will not be watching anymore GGA matches* until a full apology from the GGA to Teddy has been published in a national newspaper.
#StandWithTeddy
*by “anymore” I mean till next Feb/Mar.
Club matches are exempted from my unilateral protest.
He said he lost the plot a bit. Fairly honest really.
And considering the carry on of these goals in the past one would tend to suspect teddy was wronged.
They are complete cunts these security boys
No arguments on the security boys, cunts one and all. But he fucked himself up, even by his own version of events. And it is his own version.
Credit Seán Kelly in all of this, he’s coming out as the thoroughly alright sort that he is.
The thing about him is though, he doesn’t give a dam what people think.that’s why he does tell the truth.
He is as likely to be at home in Cork now telling lads he made a mistake not coming back. Whatever his faults he wears his heart on his sleeve and is honest to a fault.
What’s the name of the security company employed in Croke Park on big championship days? Must be a lucrative contract, there’s hundreds of bouncers there pitch side on big days to prevent the evil of pitch invasions.
Sounds like there was wrong on both sides but all it would have taken was one of these meat head security fellas to say “look, I’ll bring you down there now. Sorry for the confusion.” Would have been done and dusted in a couple of minutes. In fairness to be told to come back in an hour, after they allegedly messed you around, does sound a bit condescending and I can understand why he ultimately fucked off home.
I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again - Croke Park on big days is a circus now and has morphed into the entertainment industry. The action on the pitch is now secondary for the apes calling the shots like McKenna. Common sense has gone out the window. Caul Pollins and Hector screeching down a microphone, burly security guards everywhere, the joyless post match celebrations with the ticker tape as teams like Kilkenny do laps of honour in front of a 75% empty stadium. That’s what has become of it now.
I hate going to Croke Park now. (And not just because we usually get beat)
What music did they play after the game yesterday?
We ll fix all that next year. Cunts will be calling for “PLAN B” before the national anthem
The security lads wouldn’t have recognised Teddy. teddy’s face should be his ticket on a day like yesterday
That’s the problem
Tomas O’Se did an article in The Indo recently, either this year or last year.
He was describing a match in Croke Park in which he had just played for Kerry - AI final it might even have been - and he was strolling around in the tunnel area a while after the game had finished. The head guy in Croke Park Peter McKenna approaches him - “sorry, what are you doing here? You can’t be in this area”. It was only when O’Se explained that he had just played in the match McKenna apologised - he didn’t have a clue who one of the best and most high profile players in the country was.
That’s what Croke Park is like now. The people calling the shots would be more suited to Oxegen or Electric Picnic. No real GAA background whatsoever.
He d fuckin know if it was Garth Brookes though