Cork v Tipperary

Another reason he should be no.11

Why am I comparing him to the lads marking him?

Dunno mate, suppose Iā€™m just crazy.

You want a center-forward with either (a) speed that can drag the center-back around the pitch or (b) someone that can win the ball in the air. Horgan falls into neither category, plus he canā€™t defend.

Has the training changed this in the last couple of years. I meet a current Cork player every couple of years through work. This player had put on a serious amount of upper body muscle on about 2/3 years ago. So much so that I slagged him about his inability to swing a hurley. Met him earlier this year and he appeared to have lost the excess muscle and looked to have lost a couple of inches around the waist. Looked more of an athlete.

I think 11 is the only place for Horgan. Itā€™s the only place heā€™ll find space and the only place heā€™ll be kept involved in the game. He is easily minded in any other position.

He wonā€™t find any space against a midfield with the slightest bit of awareness.

Heard Fitzgibbon is starting midfield with Kearney out. Best of luck to the lad. Himself and Meade are lovely hurlers although obviously deficient in the physical stakes.,

TBH Horgan to 11 is the kind of shite youā€™d hear from a ā€˜smartā€™ hurling fan that never picked up a hurley in his life.

The Cork team of 1999 to 2006 would have got the best out of Horgan . The team of the last seven years havenā€™t been good enough of compensate for his weaknesses ,

Horgan to 6.

Aside from his comments on Horgan, I think Tyrrell also makes a fair point on Cadogan. It might be harsh and / or my imagination but I think he often gets an impressive early point or two or even three from play and then drifts completely out of the game. Possibly an element of resting on his laurels but he doesnā€™t seem to like it when the intensity is upped and a corner back really gets stuck into him.

He is not able for the Noel Connorsā€™s of the game.

I think thatā€™s the problem from 1-15 with this current cork team, mate - and thatā€™s the overall point of what Tyrrell is getting at.

He gets a load of ball near the sideline. Ultimately you donā€™t want your star corner-forward getting the ball that far from goal. Similar situation with Lehane, we never get these lads ball in hand in dangerous situations.

Considering Connors is about 15 stone in weight these days Iā€™d fancy even Horgan to do a job on his at this stage.

Canning does alright at 11 for Galway without having much pace, or being particularly good in the air. Less effective in the traditional 11 role than he is when he drifts to the sidelines though. Thatā€™s the role I think people imagine Horgan playing. But to be honest even Canning seems to be inconsistent there, and heā€™s surrounded by big hard tackling forwards where Horgan isnā€™t.

Horgan doesnā€™t work hard enough either though. For any role, never mind 11.

Canning isnā€™t that slow at all . Horgan is glacial .

Horgan is a super hurler surrounded by dross. Cutting the back off him saying he is lazy & slow is bullshit.
Give Horgan decent supply of ball & heā€™ll cause most defenders trouble.

Nah. He is a very talented hurler handicapped by his athletic deficiencies in an era where athleticism trumps everything else.

Me bollix.

Play him FF and give him decent supply. Heā€™s a grand hurler.