Coronavirus - Dig In, It's going to be a while yet

That was for Thomas Brady.

Iā€™m in flying form Chief. I drive @gman mad from 7-4 while working very hard from home, then I bond with the little one from 4-9. Watch a couple of episodes with the mrs 9-11ā€¦ Abd then check in with my tfk besties before bedā€¦ What more could a man want?

Routine is crucial.

lock down, lock down, lock down.

Id hate to see them being inefficient if this seen as efficent.

Are the parameters massive for the claim, I heard anyone affected who had earned up to 38k got the ā‚¬350 then incrementally lower till a threshold for the people who will repay most of it at 76k would not be entitled to anything.

I got a few days wfh to tidy up a project for a previous client. Iā€™ll consult the shit out of it and knock at least a month

I wouldnā€™t say they have. Itā€™s politicians and other people working on behalf of politicians like behavioural scientists and scientific modellers who have performed poorly.

Epidemiologists and other medical experts will give their views to politicians but ultimately everything comes down to political decisions.

Politicians will always say they are ā€œfollowing the scienceā€ but thatā€™s just a deliberate buck passing exercise.

I have no doubt if epidemiologists and the likes of Holohan really had their way, far more stringent measures would have been taken sooner.

You really see the dilemma the experts are in when you see Fauci in the US. The guy is top notch, but he has to work with a president he knows is a moron and a scumbag - Trump already sacked the CDCā€™s pandemic response team - and on top of doing his own job, Fauci has to be playing a constant game of psychology abut how not to piss Trump off, which makes his job so much harder. Fauci knows he has to appease Trump somewhat, otherwise heā€™ll probably be sacked - the loony right-wing media in the US has been baying to get him sacked and calling him all sorts, calling him a ā€œdeep stateā€ plant. If Fauci is sacked, he himself knows Trump will appoint a lackey, and the USā€™s response will get far worse than it already is.

So he is faced with a terrible dilemma that a lot of genuine public servants have been faced with in the US over the last four years - appease Trump in the hope that he can steer the ship positively despite constant moronic interference, or speak his mind, get sacked and watch the ship burn.

Iā€™m trying my hardest not to get involved in the politics of this mate. Iā€™m going to try and view it impartially. Iā€™ll look at the politics afterwards

I was referring to the Imperial College really there

That picture seems to have the same attributes as the photo in back to the future that Marty McFly carried around with him. There seems to be quite a few racegoers blurred out. I can only assume they have passed away too.

Interesting the RCSI guy saying on Prime Time tonight that they found a decent proportion of healthcare workers infected came from socialising with colleagues or community transmission rather than from patients.

Also, I believe that Cillian De Gascun was a schools rugby star for Terenure back in the day. What a guy

Imperial college going by their name alone - shouldnt be trusted mate.

The whole thing is inherently political. You have epidemiology and public health coming up against economics. The two donā€™t mix. Who wins is decided by politics. Politiciansā€™ default reaction is to side with economics, and theyā€™ll only change when they calculate the political cost of not changing tack is greater. Public opinion is the driving force in pushing the government towards changing strategy. In the case of a global pandemic, public opinion will always be behind the curve because the public are not experts.

It reinforces the need for journalism to function as a public service and to genuinely inform the public. Ireland has been better at doing this than probably most other countries, but in this sort of a situation, even thatā€™s too slow.

You imagined up all that. Cute.

To be fair I donā€™t think Imperial College were actually at fault for anything really. Yer man gave his models and they werenā€™t necessarily wrong based on the data he had. The fault lay with Johnson and Cummings because they were prepared to let hundreds of thousands die, until they calculated politically that they were no longer prepared to do so because they realised that if they did theyā€™d be lynched.

Instead of being all sarky you could actually point out what you think Iā€™m wrong about.

Your failure to do so just makes you look sad.

http://www.iclodge.org

Bit of humour lads - Iā€™m sure all of these colleges have lodges.

They recommended the herd immunity approach in the first place, they were asked to provide the government with an approach and they led with that. They have a responsibility in that too.