Coronavirus - Here come the variants

“free association” is a leading term – and an abstract term. Besides, lockdown temporarily halted their right to free association.

How? By saying: ‘You might think of the business implications, lads and lassies.’ And so forth.

That is some pile of nonsense

I don’t think that would have resonated much

What are you actually arguing, then? Are you saying the whole scenario could have been different, via eschewal of hysteria-influenced sentiment, or that it was all the one, really?

Telling young people they must lockdown to save their parents businesses from a deadly virus that doesn’t boosts the profits of multinational businesses?
A hard sell.

No, it is not. Ye cannot have it every way. Either this process is an economic disaster, because so many people are affected, or it is not such a disaster at all, because young people are neither medically affected via age nor economically affected via their parents.

Have a think about it all.

So, defeatism – and multinationals.

You are not saying what you really believe. But so be it.

How am I doing…?

What is it you’re asking?

Whether hysteria was allowed to cost trillions.

A remarkably strange scenario, if so.

Absolutely. That’s obvious…there were billions spent on unused field hospitals, ventilators, tracing systems and ppe alone

I’m only after getting into the conversation and haven’t been following but your point there was nonsense. It’s not a government failure of communication that young people are congregating in groups. They could have the best communication possible and young people will still meet their friends after 13 months, as they should

1 = you are ignoring the moot point. The ‘let it rip’ stuff would see hospitals overwhelmed in a few weeks. There is no way round this point – and it reflects poorly rhat you either ignore this facet or pretend this facet does not apply.

2 = using the word ‘coercion’ is rhetoric. You could take such logic anywhere. You could say speed limits on the road are coercive. The point is whether ‘vaccine passports’, so called, will be proportionate to the situation involved. For anyone, such as myself, who feels ‘let it rip’ is both ethically repugnant and logistically nonsensical, some such passports might be acceptable – might.

3 = you keep eliding the risk to an individual’s health with the logistical disruption caused to normal society by high infection rates. I can only keep noting the elision. A society cannot function normally with high infection rates. This factor has been proved over and over again during the last year and more.

4 = “massive case numbers”… How would the medical services cope? And: the USA has a long way to go yet.

You are not grasping the point. We are in an abnormal situation.

Basically, you have a child’s perspective: ‘I/we should be let do what I/we want.’

Right…

A truly amazing scenario, so.

The key word is “unused”

Of course we’re in an abnormal situation. However you are in dreamland if you think better government communication would result in young people not meeting up over a year after the first lockdown came into place and a more than 3 month continuous lockdown

That craic was not what I said. I specified the start of the process, 12 months ago. I also said the ‘bubble’ system might have been tried.

Stoclholm syndrome indeed, as per @iron_mike

Ok, thanks for the detailed reply pal,

To get to the key point here, I’ve given you in broad terms what I think should happen, ie open up similar to the likes of Florida whilst vaccinating and shielding the vulnerable.

Achieve herd immunity naturally that way - I think its very possible and we shouldnt underestimate the human populations immune systems - particularly amongst the vast majority that are young and healthy. We have certainly beaten worse viruses in the past.

What you seem to be suggesting is to put all our eggs in the vaccines basket, I’ll say it again they may very well not be the silver bullet people think, especially when dealing with a respitory virus along with many variants. The big pharma manufacturers are certainly not claiming full immunity on their products.

What do you believe is going to get us out of this mess? Or what should be done differently pal in your view or are the government correct in what they’re doing?