Coronavirus - Here for life (In high population density areas)

I dont have an alternative. What is yours?

Well, you just did, you clown.

“no statistical difference” between what?

You are just a Kango. Your views are completely irrelevant.

We’re in a drought now but there’s a flood coming

Stay safe CP.

And because of that, they are pushing for the highest level of our restrictions to be even higher with both the UK and Irish advisors thinking that they “might not work”.

You’d wonder why…

We will need people to comply with those arrangements and if we start things early, people get fatigued with them, they cause significant hardship socially and economically and the compliance levels go down and they lose their effectiveness.

We live in a fallen world. People need to be saved not just from themself but from also other people. SĂŠ sin.

Populist rhetoric about “ordinary people” is just that: rhetoric.

From a government perspective yesterday and today were by far and away their two worst days since this whole sorry saga started at the beginning of last year. The back and forth and the diddering was absolutely off the charts. The dogs on the street knew that the schools would be kept closed and yet right up to yesterday evening they were insisting they would open. Martin was on the radio today and didered his way through the interview. It was obvious he hadn’t a fucking clue what was going on, insisting that the leaving cert would proceed as normal during the summer. Also leaving himself open for a kicking by saying there would be 135k vaccinated by the end of Feb. So 135k in roughly 54 days? Less then a thousand people a day. Some going lads, record breaking stuff. Donnelly the same, not a fucking iota did he have. On top of this you have the obvious political point scoring between parties while the country is on its knees.
Now I understand completely that this is a novel virus and that we are learning as we go along. Therefore at some stages along the line , you wont know what to do. And do you know what, I’d have a lot more respect for them if they put their hands up just once and said “lads, we’re in a bit of a bond here. We need to take a step back and take a breath sit down and figure something out” But no. Bulldoze shit through and then get egg all over their face a couple of days later.
If they even decided at this stage to shut the whole country down lock, stock and barrel for three months and get started on the vaccines, people at least would think that they’re taking some sort of proactive stance.
I said a few days ago that if they didn’t start getting their act together people would start losing patience. Its started long before I even anticipated. I normally listen to Joe Duffy for a bit of entertainment during the day as the vast majority of the time its aul cranks ringing in because RTE have decided to move fair city back by a half hour. I genuinely felt sorry for the poor students ringing in today who were once again left in limbo.
I decided at the start of this thing to take it day by day and remain relatively calm. I came close to fucking the radio out of the car today.

Rant over

Rte doing a good job on ensuring construction gets shut down here.

I was talking specifically about late 2020…

What a fuckin’ Kango…

There’s so much grey area here I think the arguments on both sides are right and wrong at the same time. It’s impossible to know what’s really going on. Lockdowns don’t work yet what else can we do. When testing was shit our numbers were much higher than we knew and we were grand about it… now they are up and we’re freaking out. Shur you can’t win. How much has ICU capacity increased by? It wasn’t so long ago experts were predicting 10k deaths in a month… We’ve barely addressed that issue in hospitals. And on deaths, the numbers are very low and we still have no numbers on deaths from covid alone… And that does make a difference to Joe Soap who has no underlying conditions… Now there’s a vaccine being lobbed into mix that’s an unknown in many ways… It’s all a bit mad Ted.

People are deluded if they don’t believe lockdown fatigue is real and they are losing people with each lockdown… it being Jan and Baltic will keep people in more than the ask from gov. Young people are still meeting/drinking in numbers. Personal responsibility yes, but you also can’t blame people for being sick shit of a disease that’s 99% asymptomatic and yields a very low death rate… We’re selfish creatures at the end of the day .

I don’t think there’s an alternative to lockdowns but could we have had a more even keeled version of it all along? And go region by region when it flares up? Did we abandon that too quickly? We can’t trust people to follow restrictions yet lockdowns create as many problems as they solve … It’s a cluster fuck and no one has the answer.

I think everyone just needs to keep their distance. Stay home. And @carryharry needs to wash his hands… That’s about the height of it.

Not my fault you are stupid and irrational.

Now take yourself off into your other handles.

Id agree with all that.

Competent testing to allow perspective, and to allow medical staff to work, antibody testing for workers who want to work, free vitamin d level testing, free vitamin d, temperature checks at schools etc, designated shopping hours for the vulnerable, allowances made for anyone with, or living with those with underlying health conditions. A bit of imagination and leadership from someone other than the appointed few.
If people still are afraid to work pay them a very basic wage and use the surplus to fund the above.
Lads crowing about lockdowns aren’t seeing their businesses going down the tubes, if anything they’re probably better off.

Look, you are terribly interested in my opinion. So much is obvious. I have no interest in your opinion, because you are an AIER Kango.

Just take a thick hint, so to speak.

5325 new case and 17 deaths

Some excellent points.

But: who is “crowing” about a lockdown? Who on this board? I can see no one. I merely see lads with whom I agree – such as @EstebanSexface, @fenwaypark, @mikehunt, @carryharry et al – saying they hate lockdowns but see no alternative.

You demean excellent points with such inaccurate terms. The temperature one is central.

I was talking about lads crowing on Twitter. I love everyone here, and respect their opinions

Fucking hell

Its 2021 people think they and loved ones will live forever. What has caused this? Some might say immaturity others the lack of belief in a higher power. Yet here we are wasting over 1% of our lifetime if lucky to avoid a cold for 99% of us. Jesus wept the world has gone soft

The Tan variant now responsible for 25% of cases.