Coronavirus - the deadly virus that no one dies from

Thats actually good. If was the one doing the rounds today I’d be put off going for a pint myself

I have to say I didn’t recognize him the day I was stood behind them in the fish shop in Howth

The World Health Organization’s Special Envoy on Covid-19 has urged people in Ireland to maintain discipline in relation to Covid-19, as when the numbers in intensive care go down towards zero, that’s when you’re at your most vulnerable.

We need to increase the numbers in ICU if we want to be safe lads

Needless to say it’s the South Kilkenny crowd that had us riddled.

Any word on when this death was?

I was nearly drawn to comment on their Twitter post, about the utter drivel they have printed there.
Nearly.

:+1::+1::+1:

He’s an O’Byrne from Griffith Place. She kept her maiden name.

September.

That’d be Cnoc Sion territory alright. But he didn’t look like a hurler to me.

I saw mid September somewhere earlier. But then that was deleted as obviously that’s in the future and they hadn’t meant to tell us yet

David Nabarro struggling to convince himself of the virus deadliness here

It’s a deadly and cunning virus though. The most cunning of them all no doubt.

I don’t like to call them lockdowns myself but at the same time blah blah

He hasn’t a notion.

On and on about living with the virus.
What does that look like?

Not sure if he played or not but his brothers, nephews etc would have.

Thank you to the people of Ireland
WAC

[quote=“mickee321, post:9397, topic:31704, full:true”]
what you will see in your analysis here is that this virus only is of interest to a definite subset of society, merely those >80 years of age who are in residential care
/quote]

Even though I have been one of the most critical of government interventions, especially lockdowns, this simply isn’t true. Your level of risk of being hospitalized, end up in ICU, or dying from Covid is mostly determined by your health rather than your age, and other factors that are not that well understood. Age comes into it obviously as the older you get the more likely you are to have health issues.

Based on all the data I have seen if you are over 40, overweight and have a few even relatively mild health issues like early stage heart disease, hypertension, early onset diabetes, if you get Covid you have a 15% chance of hospitalization and a 0.5% chance of death. That increases to 20% and 3-5% for the over 60s with moderate health issues.

I would say what we are seeing currently in Ireland in terms of cases, hospitalizations and deaths is people in the higher risk categories are being extremely careful to avoid infection.

Hopefully thats TJs 15 minutes done with now. Fair play to him all the same

He’ll probably be running in the next election. Tipp elects all sorts.