Coronavirus thread - 19/10/2020 - The Day Ireland Died

Yes I’d agree. Way too cautious to the point of choking the country. Destroyed whole industries on very sketch evidence. Terrified old people. Wasted Garda time checking hundreds of pubs and setting up checkpoints everywhere.

Agree.

All the while they fudged Food Processing facilities, Contact tracing & Testing.

They’ve bored the nation into complacency.

Cases have gone up since masks were introduced. Arguable that masks are making people complacent about social distancing and hand hygiene. Supermarkets are as packed now as ever.

What is annoying people is the inconsistency

• museums closed but shopping centres open

• cannot leave Dublin but can go to Dublin airport and mix with lots of people travelling all over Ireland and Europe

• restrictions on houses are unenforceable. My missus is out a restaurant tonight. If she was not she would have been in her friends house. Tomorrow people will socialise but in each other’s homes.

• Level 3 in their own plan allows pubs and restaurants open. But 3 days later Level 3 is announced but pubs and restaurants are closed.

• no restrictions on shop numbers. Restrictions on church numbers

• meat plants with cases left open. Pubs with no cases kept closed.

• NPHET having no data to back up their suggestion people are catching virus in restaurants. They simply don’t know. They don’t know because their systems are not fit for purpose.

That’s me on tfk ranting for 60 seconds. Imagine a journalist who does this professionally called this out for the nonsense it has become.

The lockdown of LOK was the warning shot no one paid any attention to.

We’re in this shitheap since March ( most likely earlier ) and the scientific world is none the wiser.

2hr test & result for TD’s & European Commissioners but we can cancel Factory testing and leave kids waiting 48hrs plus for test results all while their school carry’s on as normal.

Do you think it’s complacency or do you just think it’s inevitable? We can lockdown, cases will fall, we open again and cases will rise. Human beings can’t go on treating each other like they are radioactive. They need contact, interaction.

I believe we need to have a frank look at how dangerous this thing is. Heart disease kills more in a day than this does in a month. No life is expendable but society, to function, unfortunately needs to make trade offs like this.

Chocolatemice way ahead of the curve again on masks.

It’s a pity the Covid got him while he walked the dog. He had weak enough lungs, if I recall correctly, from the days as a boy he swept chimneys.

The asbestos got him.

It’s definitely complacency. Personally, I washed my hands 5 times today while probably sanitising my hands 4 times.

Hopefully that’s enough to counter me touching something I shouldn’t.

The masks thing is problematic in that a vast amount are not wearing them properly or probably thinking the same mask is good for days on end?

Bit of a rise there in the deaths in Spain.
Elsewhere in Europe - nada.

Other than restrictions and lockdowns. Those are on the up everywhere.

He should never have started smoking it.

Our population density rates everywhere bar Dublin is probably the only thing helping us from large numbers.

The chances of you getting it off a surface are very low. Keep your distance and you’ll be grand.

and there you have it, stuck in at the end of a post, glibly

no life is expendable, but

who needs to be expendable in order to make your society work?

So long as you’re not putting the hand into your mouth straight away, you should be alright.

I’d wear a mask in a crowd, on a train, I’ll wear one on a plane etc. But mandating them everywhere sits wrong with me, let alone the fact that half of them are homemade cloth rags and they’re on arseways.

What do you mean by everywhere? They are only advised in indoor areas

Can muldoon wet pubs open Monday?

No one needs to be.

Every speed limit on every road is a trade off between safety and efficiency. Society makes that trade to allow everything to function.

The government could outright ban alcohol and tobacco if safety was its only priority. But it doesn’t, it makes a trade off.

I kicked the habit early doors but I was a fucker for messing with my lips or rubbing under my nose while driving.
Not a normally dangerous habit but while not practicing decent hand hygiene you just wouldn’t know.

Personal responsibility has dropped is all I’m saying.