Coronavirus Thread (Markey hates Immigrants )

No it wasnā€™t but if that makes you feel better to keep saying it, work away. Iā€™ve preferred what I thin were more proportionate measures, like they had in Sweden.

It is the logic. Travel does not affect the Covid that is already in the country, but it piles more Covid on top of that that is already here. Thatā€™s not clever.

The vast majority of travel is not necessary. People might want to travel, but most donā€™t have to. Thatā€™s a fact.

People either live here or they donā€™t. If theyā€™re transiting through the airport for necessary work, itā€™s extremely unlikely they are part of the poorest sections of society.

I didnā€™t do that. Whereas you are saying that travel is 0% to blame.

That is wanton dismissal of reality.

You didnā€™t want any restrictions. At least own up to it.

No thatā€™s wrong. In my unit alone in the airport there are 2 lads who live in different jurisdictions but work here (Brussels and Belfast). They are essential workers. They have to travel. I know nurses and guards/PSNI officers in the same position.

We have loads of workers based here from elsewhere, or a need for fresh workers from outside, especially healthcare workers. They will be coming in, by air, road or sea. A variant WILL come with them. If the country is open when they arrive, itā€™ll spread

No one WANTS restrictions, but Iā€™m fairly certain I never called for all restrictions to be removed. If I did and you can find the post Iā€™ll happily admit Iā€™m wrong.

How many of those who need to travel through the airport for work are the poorest in society?

Pretty much none, I would suggest.

are lads really still listening to these lads

Quite a lot are. Unless you consider Bulgarian and Romanian truck drivers, Indian nurses and Filipino seamen to be wealthy? They are what I deal with mainly.

No point interacting with a proven liar mate.

Truck drivers and seamen donā€™t transit through the airport to go to work. They transit through the airport if they are moving here or moving home or going home on optional travel. I doubt Indian nurses are flush with cash but they do get a steady wage. And if they are travelling home to visit family on optional visits they are not among the poorest in society.

Which ones would you have kept? Youā€™ve raged against nearly all of them in the last year.

Yes they do mate. Yes they do.

Very few. Mass gatherings mainly.

Again, I may have gotten it wrong on that but I maintain that lockdown-fallout will be terrible long-term.

I doubt they do very much. And if they do, they are classed as essential travel anyway. We should not be encouraging non-essential travel.

I know they are essential travel. Thatā€™s my point. These people come in, in large numbers, and will bring variants regardless. Banning travel, unless you ban just about everything else, will not make a difference

But travel is not banned. The point is, it is foolish to encourage non-essential travel because it is foolish to want to bring as much Covid and as much new variants in as you can shovel into the country . So anything that makes it harder and will put people off is to be welcomed.

Grand. By that logic, you would keep everything thing else closed too? Anything that can be done to limit any form of mixing should be discouraged too? So, lockdowns for another long, long time?

Iā€™m already on record as saying I think the government have moved about six to eight weeks too fast for my liking.

Again we go back to the question of logic. If weā€™re to adopt your logic, indoor pubs would open at the exact same time as, say, department stores.

Currently department stores are open and indoor pubs are not. Thatā€™s an example of the logic you object to. Itā€™s possible people could pick up Covid in a department store. Is that a reason to pile the re-opening of pubs on top of that?

The reason this is happening is because the government are taking baby steps in the re-opening of society. Whether I agree with when that happens is beside the point. I agree with a graduated, baby steps re-opening.

Your logic says open everything fully at once, ie. go from zero to 100 immediately. That makes no sense.

I havenā€™t mentioned pubs or the reopening (though I think it is too slow personally). I feel people act like lockdown is no big deal and that itā€™s only ā€œlads looking for a pintā€ as if shutting down a heap of businesses has no consequences. It has savage consequences, ones I believe will be with us for years. Everything that we can open, we should.

I include travel with that, as I feel it can be done incredibly safely, particularly with antigen testing. I also think stopping it is a token gesture when you consider the amount of people (poor or those Indian nurses who are wealthy) who will be travelling in anyway.