Coronavirus Thread (sponsored by Anthony Fauci & Pfizer) (Part 5)

OK but I havenā€™t seen you ever call out any personal abuse dished out by anti-vaxxers, which has been vicious, sustained and genuinely frightening. It strongly appears to me that the entire anti-vaccine and so called ā€œvaccine hesitantā€ movement is rooted in threats of violence and the far right. It gives all the appearance of being a fascist or fascist adjacent movement. So the complaints of the unvaccinated about people not respecting their ā€œchoicesā€ sort of rings hollow.

I think the reason there is such frustration among many vaccinated people about the unvaccinated is that the unvaccinated are preaching disinformation and lies. They are quite simply wrong. And those lies mean we end up with a lot more people dying than would otherwise have done so. These lies are very, very harmful to real peopleā€™s lives. So you can sort of see why people take that seriously in terms of being affronted.

The difference between the amount of Covid deaths, in, say largely unvaccinated Romania, and largely vaccinated Ireland, is very telling.

A while back I did a satire of the anti-vaxxersā€™ and so called ā€œvaccine hesitantā€ narrative based on a made up anti-defibrillator campaign. Of course no such anti-defibrillator campaign exists. There is widespread acceptance of the effectiveness of defibrillators. Because we have seen them bring people effectively back from the dead.

Any hypothetical ā€œanti-defibrillatorā€ campaigners would be laughed out of it.

Yet these vaccines are saving far more lives than defibrillators do.

I have no doubt the ā€œconcernsā€ of most people who remain unvaccinated about the vaccine are genuine. But their genuine concerns are based on bullshit.

A lot of people in Florida hold genuine concerns that Joe Biden is a communist. But their genuine beliefs are bullshit.

The people I am by far the most angry at are people with a platform who abuse their platform. The Cumminses, the Malones, the Lawries, the Weinsteins, the Korys, the plethora of C and D list celebrities who have seen a way to revive flagging careers and make themselves ā€œrelevantā€ in the new decentralised media age. I donā€™t know how they sleep.

In many cases, on top of a big wad of cash, probably.

Everything flows from cases.

You say that AY.4.2 is ā€œless virulentā€? Where is the evidence to suggest this?

Go back to last Christmas. On December 1st we started out with 200 odd cases. Within five weeks we were hitting, what, six or seven thousand cases a day?

Which of youse predicted that? None of yis, to the best of my recollection.

This is key. Hospitalisations, ICU and deaths are a function of this. If we have astronomical cases then the others are impacted, even with vaccination.

Yet youā€™re a flu denier.

Breathtaking hypocrisy.

We have 1.25 million unvaccinated people in this country. In a no restrictions situation (and weā€™re reasonably close to that now) all those 1.25 million people can be considered likely to get the virus at some point.

If the vaccines are for argumentā€™s sake 80% effective against people getting the virus, thatā€™s 20% of the 3.75 million vaccinated who can be considered at serious risk of to getting it. Thatā€™s 750k.

If the vaccines are for argumentā€™s sake 60% effective against getting the virus, thatā€™s 40% of the vaccinated who can be considered at serious risk of getting the virus. Thatā€™s 1.5 million.

If the vaccines go down to 40% effective against getting the virus, thatā€™s 2.25 million vaccinated at serious risk of getting the virus.

Not all of those people will get the virus, maybe less than half of them will, maybe a quarter will. But if even a fifth of them do, we have a big problem.

And one that is likely to go round and round and round if we donā€™t get properly serious about it.

If the problem goes round and round and round like a Mexican wave, that will have catastrophic effects on society.

And itā€™s not enough to say let it rip. Thatā€™s base simplism which like all base Trump and Brexit style simplism pays no heed to the reality of the effects that simplism causes.

Woah man. No need for that

Very true.

Iā€™d only trim them back when I can hold the tuft between thumb & index finger easily. Nose Platts a step too far just yet?

Why would you use a photo of Martin Lawrence dressed as a large woman as opposed to an actual large lady?

A bizarre post.

I see you have the Queens Bhoy sniffing incessantly around you, massive compliment in a strange way I suppose. :joy:

this is an absolute fucking joke.

Lets provide free antigen tests for fully vaccinated TDs, but lets make families pay for antigen tests for school children who cannot be vaccinated. A shower of greedy fucking wankers. Extracting as much as they possibly can, doctoring their mileage sheets to get a few hundred quid extra, looking for as many expenses as they possibly can but yet will go talk shite about people on the dole or looking for PUP payments. Its no shock, but in the name of fuck did they think that this would go down well. And theyā€™ll wait until cases are back down again and the demand for the test equipment wont be as high and think they are right lads for subsidising it then.

The optics, the fucking optics. Wankers.

I think itā€™s time to stop blaming unvaccinated, lockdowns, masks and vaccines and just start using common fucking sense again.

• keep a bit of distance
  • lower contacts if possible
  • avoid poorly ventilated crowded areas
  • practice decent fucking hand & cough hygiene

It worked before :man_shrugging:

Thereā€™s a lovely sense of irony here that would only pass over the Village Idiotā€™s head.

Iā€™d do a little search on his posts to highlight the no of posts he has directed at myself in the past day or two (which Iā€™ve not bothered to reply to as itā€™s pointless engaging with a guy who canā€™t string more than 3 sentences together) but heā€™s one of those bedwetters who has to hide his posts from the public.

Ah still itā€™s nice that he makes up an imaginary child to go along with his imaginary wife

Shocking messaging.

The actual messaging on Covid recently is hopeless. The constant rhetoric of case numbers is driving people away now.

Proper advice or messaging on new variants and tell tale signs would make more sense.
Telling communities if case numbers in their area are an issue.
Advising families of new symptoms in kids perhaps? Local family to me have an 9 year old with Vomiting Bug symptoms now testing positive.

People trotting out the line Iā€™ve no temperature so I couldnā€™t have Covid etc needs to be addressed.

Oh dear

On a call here with colleagues from Austria. They are going into a hard lockdown again next week. Some of the regions have it in place already but itā€™s going country-wide next week.

The most famous Austrian only had one ball so itā€™s not surprising they are wetting the bed.

GUBU.

Iā€™m sure the government will be seething at this, I donā€™t know what the fuck the houses of the Oireachtas were thinking.

We live in a kakistocracy of entitled cunts

They wont give one little shit until people start mouthing off about it. If they did care, it wouldnt have even been a consideration to have a vote. TDs, for the most part, particularly FFG types, are a greedy shower of pricks who take as much as they possibly can. If they were asked this, you can be sure they would want their free testing, they are very important you see.

The likes of this affects the most vulnerable in our society. Those living on borderline poverty, in cramped unventilated homes, where there may be a lot of children going to school and the parents cant afford to have them at home. So at least by ensuring the tests are available to them, they can have peace of mind sending children into school and help stop the spread which going by recent numbers, is the largest cohort of confirmed cases. But no, the greedy shower of cunts want to protect themselves, being vaccinated, before unvaccinated kids.

Antigen testing kits should be available to all parents on dole, minimum wage income or PUP payments. That shouldnt even be a consideration, it should just happen. They can follow on with other ranges of parents and affordability after that if needs be and make it more widespread. But a vaccinated TD should be one of the last on the list.