Cruciate Ligaments

Did Corbally utd pick up the bill?

I was never the same player again.

I hope it didnā€™t make you asexual

you were the victim of evolution. The knee has evolved into a very imperfect hinge joint.

Only pulling your leg, mate.

Only soft lads and really good players suffer ACLsā€¦i was neither.

There was no such thing as a cruciate 30 years ago.

Players swallowing their tongue was all the rage 30 years ago

Badly gone out of fashion now though

There was for me in August 1993! I followed Gazza and Shearer you could call me a GAA trailblazer.

Not 30 years ago yet mate, although we are getting there

Gazza was a great trailbazer for cruciate awareness

David Beckham later did for metatarsal awareness what Gazza had done for the cruciate

there was a metatarsal pandemic there about 10 years agoā€¦ lads were missing matches with broken metatarsals and showing up the following Tuesday, grand for training.

Pat Spillane was the first person in Ireland to do his cruciate

did you get a knee replacement?

Patā€™s inspiration on his comeback trail was former Ipswich Town player and later manager George Burley

In his media career his inspiration was Kay Burley

I got two knee replacements

jaysus. You win this thread anyway.

Has it worked out for you? I worked with a fella that got oneā€¦ could hardly walk before it and could play golf a few months after getting it

It was shit after I got the first one done, because I still needed to get the second one done and there was also the prospect of having to get the ankles replaced. However once I recovered from the second one I went to see a different ankle specialist who didnā€™t recommend surgery but put me on a course of physio and steroids injections. Itā€™s not perfect but it has been life changing. I walk everywhere now when before I would only walk if it was strictly necessary.

all from sports injuries?

Only partly. Did an awful lot of stupid training when young but the main issue was the haemochromotosis, which destroyed the joint. And I had flat fleet which didnā€™t help.

Harty in Cork told me Iā€™d be looking at a replacement eventually on the right knee. Iā€™ve had four serious injuries to it. Iā€™ve flat feet too funny enough.