Cultec Hurleys

Anyone on here own and use one?

I’d say you’d be lucky if there’s 5 people here who actually tog for a team.
The rest just talk shit about it.

I think it is only me and Declan Moffett and neither of us are located in Ireland :lol:

I was hoping for the thoughts of some of the puckaround merchants on here like Appendage and Turfcutter

Appendage reckons you can get a fantastic flick off them

I know a lot of goalies are using them for puck outs. That’s about all I know.

Had a quick puckaround with one last week and the ball fairly flys off it alright, although the strike feels rather dead compared to a normal hurley. I presume you would get used to this over time. I suppose the fact that there is no seasoning them and they last longer than a normal hurley is an advantage and they are fairly light too

Few lads in my club use them, shite in the wet…

Touch can be tricky too, my touch being errant enough I stick to the ash…

Sent from my HTC Desire S using TFK App

Very good strike off them. Touch isn’t too bad once you get used to them either. Expensive enough though and they’re as liable to break as any other hurley.

A ringing endorsement right there…

Few lads down here use them and have used one myself for a bit. Great strike off it, easily get 10yards extra on it when you meet it right. Touch can be a bit heavy on it but once you get used to it, it’s grand. Wouldn’t be a fan of it in the wet as the ball tends to skim off it and the grip can wear off it. However one of the boys has started coating his cultec in the grip stuff used on skateboards. Serious stuff.

They are pricey but worth it in that barring someone sits on it or stands on it, they won’t break. That said a fella down here is on his third one.

why thank you.

I use one. Big strike off it but more difficult to kill and control a fast ball that comes towards you.
They’ll do for European hurling.

[quote name]
The Cúltec Hurley is the result of over 6 years design and development combining tried and tested space age materials with the very latest manufacturing techniques to produce at a Hurley with all the positive characteristics of an Ash Hurley but without any of it’s limitations… The Cultec Hurley through innovative design produces a smooth, accurate and consistent stroke. Its large forgiving sweet spot ensures predictable and repeatable results. The Cultec Hurley has a constant specification, is resilient and durable and offers a higher degree of safety. [/quote]

Space Age Materials :lol:

An it’s / its error in their marketing literature. How amateur. :guns:

I find the touch awful but then again the new market lads have a better touch than most, I couldn’t manage with one at all but I’d say if you were a young lad they might be the way to go

Any of ye old enough to have had the pleasure of using or getting a clatter off of a Wavin Hurley?

Ah they weren’t that long ago? I remember them being around when I was a young fella, awful lumps of yokes

I would say they came out first around 76/77, Runt. I remember getting a belt of one of them at an early punk rock gig.

[quote=“Fagan ODowd, post: 696024”]

I would say they came out first around 76/77, Runt. I remember getting a belt of one of them at an early punk rock gig.[/quote]

If you didn’t have a proper hold of it going in for a clash you’d feel the shock off it for a week.

[quote=“Fagan ODowd, post: 696024”]

I would say they came out first around 76/77, Runt. I remember getting a belt of one of them at an early punk rock gig.[/quote]

There is a half one in the uncles boiler house. A vile looking implement.