Customer Service Experiences - Good & Bad

Flogas sent a large credit note today for the amount requested.

We got there in the end.

Picture taken over half an hour ago

Dawson Jewellers.

On the distribution of my late parents effects, I fell in for my grandfathers watch. It had been left to my father by my grandfather but so far as my father was aware had ceased working 80 or so years ago and because of my father’s emotional attachment to it (his father had died when my father was 14, of a reaction to asthma medicine, would you believe) he was reluctant to leave it in to be fixed for fear of it being lost/stolen.
Anyway I resolved to see if there was anything that could be done for it now that it had come into my hands and a pal recommended Dawson Jewellers.
So I got a train into town and walked up. They looked at it quizzically and somewhat sceptically but then took it out the back. The chap returned and told me the watch was in full working order and opened the back and I could see all the parts moving like clockwork as the fella said. He wound it and then set the time and sent me on my way. The charge - no charge. See how it runs and if needs be we’ll service it for you. He literally could have mugged me off for a couple of hundred and I’d have been none the wiser.

The watch is over a hundred years old by the way.

33 Likes

Now that is a lovely story :heart:

Fair play. I’d say they love to see a yoke like that come across their desk out of curiousity all the same. Certainly the genuine lads.

Will you be pairing it with a waistcoat and monocle on the future cruise trips?

They are 100% in there. Got to know Joe in there through a mutual friend at Euro 2012 and they valued my wife’s rings for insurance purposes with full certs for no charge but asked if they needed cleaning, resetting etc to consider them in the future which we’ve done a few times.

I was actually considering investing in a waistcoat and pocket chain, yes.

I think Fagan has bit more of a Pulp Fiction intention with it, just needs to get his thumb out first

your story has just won them some business

Were the hands not working on it or something? (The machinery inside was?)

I never had @Fagan_ODowd down as coming from ‘ould money’… his disposition was always of a fella that pulled himself up by the bootstraps and crafted an extraordinary life for himself.

This changes things.

What’s wrong with old money?

Thats a thing of beauty.

Could yer man not wind it himself

I might give those lads a call sometime.
Mine isn’t working but then hasn’t been looked at in 40 years. We’ll see…

Hasn’t been cleaned either in the 40 years

Deadly. I’m in. Make it happen. We’ll organise a tfk bamboree out of it for all. Trip to the jewellers, a good few pints in assorted cathedrals while we chew the fat, assert our intellectual superiority over one another through good natured bickering and count how many times weve all been to what part of america in order to establish speaking rights. Then we all take a shit on o Connell st and go home.

The old fogies are circling

I’m very proud of this gold pocket watch. My grandfather, on his deathbed, sold me this watch