Well lads, I am over an intermediate hurling team and I’m just wondering how to best deal with a fellow suffering from burnout. A young fella aged 20 came up to me after training looking for a break telling me he was burnt out and has lost his motivation to play. It seems to have really affected his game as his formed has dipped dramatically in the last few months. Even away from the field he has not been himself. What is the best way to deal with the young fellow in your opinion guys? He is a fair talented young fellow and its actually worried that he just doesn’t seem give two shites anymore.
Laps.
Lots of laps.
Run the lazy out of him.
huh?
How could a lad be burnt out out playing intermediate hurling?
What’s his schedule like at the moment?
Is he involved in many other setups / sports?
good post HB
:oops:
tell him it,s just a hobby that he can train or not as he sees fit then welcome him to matchs with open arms and put him on the subs
What has him burned out? What other sports/grades does he play? Does he work and is it physical?Also, does this lad have County potential? You can advise a few days break down the country, or a few days in the sun, with a young wan.
But at the end of the day you can only bring a horse to water… At 20, it certainly sounds more mental than physical, but no harm bringing him down the local on a Monday morning or a Tuesday night, and introduce him to the guys that were gifted but never did anything with it… Fella’s that chose the few pints over the graft and tell him he has a choice- Go way for a week or two and think on what he wants- To look back in ten years on what might have been - Or to achieve his goals now- If it’s the latter and he really wants to play you can start from there… You don’t (or maybe you do?) know what’s going on in this fella’s personal life either but if he wants to play then you can figure it out between you, if he aint bothered, move on to the next lad.
[quote=“ChocolateMice, post: 771699, member: 168”]What has him burned out? What other sports/grades does he play? Does he work and is it physical?Also, does this lad have County potential? You can advise a few days break down the country, or a few days in the sun, with a young wan.
But at the end of the day you can only bring a horse to water… At 20, it certainly sounds more mental than physical, but no harm bringing him down the local on a Monday morning or a Tuesday night, and introduce him to the guys that were gifted but never did anything with it… Fella’s that chose the few pints over the graft and tell him he has a choice- Go way for a week or two and think on what he wants- To look back in ten years on what might have been - Or to achieve his goals now- If it’s the latter and he really wants to play you can start from there… You don’t (or maybe you do?) know what’s going on in this fella’s personal life either but if he wants to play then you can figure it out between you, if he aint bothered, move on to the next lad.[/quote]
are you for real? There is no need to try teaching the lad american style lessons in life. You will only come across like a fcuking spanner
we are talking about a young lad playing intermediate hurling for jaysus sake. Find out if he has a new girlfriend first before you do anything else. Then just keep him in the group as best you can and eventually it will resolve itself one way or the other
[quote=“ChocolateMice, post: 771699, member: 168”]What has him burned out? What other sports/grades does he play? Does he work and is it physical?Also, does this lad have County potential? You can advise a few days break down the country, or a few days in the sun, with a young wan.
But at the end of the day you can only bring a horse to water… At 20, it certainly sounds more mental than physical, but no harm bringing him down the local on a Monday morning or a Tuesday night, and introduce him to the guys that were gifted but never did anything with it… Fella’s that chose the few pints over the graft and tell him he has a choice- Go way for a week or two and think on what he wants- To look back in ten years on what might have been - Or to achieve his goals now- If it’s the latter and he really wants to play you can start from there… You don’t (or maybe you do?) know what’s going on in this fella’s personal life either but if he wants to play then you can figure it out between you, if he aint bothered, move on to the next lad.[/quote]
its intermediate hurling CM- there is nothing to achieve
[quote=“twiceasnice97, post: 771707, member: 1061”]are you for real?
we are talking about a young lad playing intermediate hurling for jaysus sake. Find out if he has a new girlfriend first before you do anything else[/quote]
thats just sick
[quote=“twiceasnice97, post: 771707, member: 1061”]are you for real?
we are talking about a young lad playing intermediate hurling for jaysus sake. Find out if he has a new girlfriend first before you do anything else[/quote]
If this lad is left go to waste, he will eat himself up inside in years to come. He will be the kind of fella that endlessly watches underage games, roaoring and shouting at youngfella’s and posting about them on the web all becuase he never pushed himself as a youngster.
be careful where you wander fingal. Your obsession with me is bad for you
Do you want another tan out there in a few years???
why do lads start a wind up like this and then just blow it.
true
Has his form dipped with the county as well?
Could it be a case of County Star Syndrome?