Dealing With Burnout

are you including lads playing FIFA on the Playstation in those numbers

The playstation is obsolete mate

@The Wild Colonial Bhoy does it yet again:clap:

It is the same auld merry tune but someone always dances to it:pint:

that’s a serious clamping, a mugging off in fact

An epidemic of young lads getting hip replacements in their early to mid 20’s and you’re telling us Ireland is at the top.

You are some nutter.[/quote]

Not aware of anyone that’s had a hip replacement due to sports activity while still active. There’s a hip op that’s all the rage these days but it certainly isn’t a replacement.

http://www.thestar.ie/star/time-to-hip-it-in-the-bud-39058/

“while Wexford chairman Diarmuid Devereux revealed in December how four young players in the county had undergone double hip replacements.”

[quote=“Rudi, post: 884024, member: 1052”]http://www.thestar.ie/star/time-to-hip-it-in-the-bud-39058/

“while Wexford chairman Diarmuid Devereux revealed in December how four young players in the county had undergone double hip replacements.”[/quote]

Say that’s bull. Presume devereux is talking about the likes of Liam og- they were not hip replacements- and just cleaned up natural occurring bone growths. Dowling got an awful bang from memory …not too uncommon in rugby !

Have you a hand injury, bro? Your spelling is shocking today.

[quote=“Rudi, post: 884024, member: 1052”]http://www.thestar.ie/star/time-to-hip-it-in-the-bud-39058/

“while Wexford chairman Diarmuid Devereux revealed in December how four young players in the county had undergone double hip replacements.”[/quote]

lies.

Liam Og and James Breen hads the smae condition, bone spurs around the top of the femur. not hip r

Sure theyre only club players pal… will we start throwing up fat sunday league footballers?

[quote=“count of monte cristo, post: 884050, member: 348”]lies.

Sure theyre only club players pal… will we start throwing up fat sunday league footballers?[/quote]

Whats the difference between that and LOI?

[quote=“count of monte cristo, post: 884050, member: 348”]lies.

Liam Og and James Breen hads the smae condition, bone spurs around the top of the femur. not hip r

Sure theyre only club players pal… will we start throwing up fat sunday league footballers?[/quote]

That lad played (still plays?) for Limerick.

Fair point.

not sure if it was discussed here already but Niall Moyna yer man from DCU gave a very insightful interview on OTB last night and put together a pretty damning indictment of GAA coaching and overtraining.
he used the example of one fella in his college having 38 sessions lined up for january between all the teams he is on, each team is doing heavy stamina work ( bar the sigerson) and there is no communiaction between coaches, lads are basically being flogged to death.
@caoimhaoin he referred to a study that he did analysing blood samples from players after games and training and found that muscle damage in these players was off the wall due to no time to recover. his point was that sports science is not understood in the GAA and inter county football coaches were the biggest offendors with draconian training plans.
As far as im concerned you’d have to be a complete eejit to play senior intercounty football, i have no idea how these lads hold down a job, study or live normal lives, as they are not professional they have no recovery time as they are expected to train with different teams every night of the week, and they get nothing for it…
the podcast is online

He’s either been told fibs or he’s been misquoted (I expect he’s been misquoted) as those guys did not have hip replacements. And that as Rafa says, is a fact.

[quote=“mickee321, post: 884085, member: 367”]not sure if it was discussed here already but Niall Moyna yer man from DCU gave a very insightful interview on OTB last night and put together a pretty damning indictment of GAA coaching and overtraining.
he used the example of one fella in his college having 38 sessions lined up for january between all the teams he is on, each team is doing heavy stamina work ( bar the sigerson) and there is no communiaction between coaches, lads are basically being flogged to death.
@caoimhaoin he referred to a study that he did analysing blood samples from players after games and training and found that muscle damage in these players was off the wall due to no time to recover. his point was that sports science is not understood in the GAA and inter county football coaches were the biggest offendors with draconian training plans.
As far as im concerned you’d have to be a complete eejit to play senior intercounty football, i have no idea how these lads hold down a job, study or live normal lives, as they are not professional they have no recovery time as they are expected to train with different teams every night of the week, and they get nothing for it…
the podcast is online[/quote]

The issue is not each individual team it’s the fact that the clowns over them think that the player has to play and train each time the group is together.

There are fundamental problems with the schedule too but couldn’t be arsed discussing it with wums.

Cork hurlers S&C coach made point when he took over that he fitness was a 3 or 4 year plan and if you throw kitchen sink at players you overwhelm them and it needs to be a gradual build up.

you can’t add three sessions a week to an 18 year olds existing 3 sessions - need to increase it one per week per year at most

the really good S&C guys have the confidence to trust their methods that are tried and trusted and not fall into “more is better” approach

[quote=“TheUlteriorMotive, post: 884105, member: 2272”]Cork hurlers S&C coach made point when he took over that he fitness was a 3 or 4 year plan and if you throw kitchen sink at players you overwhelm them and it needs to be a gradual build up.

you can’t add three sessions a week to an 18 year olds existing 3 sessions - need to increase it one per week per year at most

the really good S&C guys have the confidence to trust their methods that are tried and trusted and not fall into “more is better” approach[/quote]

yeah that is fine, but again how can it work when a fella is playing for 4 to 5 different teams?
its actually insane when you think about it, the point you’re making above that a fella in cork said is not exactly some serious advanced thinking based on hours of research, this is known fact and shaggin common sense.
what other sport has its elite athletes playing on 4 different teams all at the one time with similar training sessions for each?.. its utterly fucking barbaric.

[quote=“mickee321, post: 884106, member: 367”]yeah that is fine, but again how can it work when a fella is playing for 4 to 5 different teams?
its actually insane when you think about it, the point you’re making above that a fella in cork said is not exactly some serious advanced thinking based on hours of research, this is known fact and shaggin common sense.
what other sport has its elite athletes playing on 4 different teams all at the one time with similar training sessions for each?.. its utterly fucking barbaric.[/quote]
agreed but it is about each coach talking to the other and agreeing the guy only does one programme
I expect dual players don’t do each team’s fitness work and just do one

I think every county should have a full time paid Welfare Officer. He/She should be come from a Sport Science background and be appropriately qualified in the various fitness, strength and conditioning, psychology disciplines (or some of them). This person should be in charge of the welfare of all inter-county players in that county from minor upwards. He should prepare individual training programmes for each player tailored depending on how many teams/codes they’re involved in and he should be the sole arbiter in terms of deciding when and with which team each player trains with. Sure, he can have joint discussions with different managers but he’ll make the ultimate decision on the player’s availability for training. As a result, you won’t have the scenario that @mickee321 outlined of players being flogged by a range of different managers.

can we see a situation soon where players are only allowed play for one team if they are playing inter county?
i.e. Cork name a panel at the start of the year once they have closed on that, those players cannot play or train with any other side until the senior championship is done?
this might sound ridiculous, ok and it goes against the whole club ethos, but in the current situation we have the GAA is and i hate to steal this from Gizzy Lyng " hurtling towards professionalism"…
i suppose where do you draw the line, if a fella is playing senior for Longford is he contracted to the Longford county board or the Leinster Council that is if we have a professional set up? it would be similar to the rugby set up, you then have the fellas playing club at an amateur level
we should get a thread going on it really trying to explore how professionalism in the GAA would work.
I for the life of me dont see how a fella can play inter county today unless he does a Tony Griffen on it and takes a year out, is a primary teacher working 9-2pm or a lad failing first year in college ad nauseum, it cant be worth it