Dealing With Burnout

Yet when John Delaney fires the FAI’s underage welfare officer to protect his bloated salary, you defend him to the hilt. Your hypocrisy sickens me at times, mate.

[quote=“mickee321, post: 884114, member: 367”]can we see a situation soon where players are only allowed play for one team if they are playing inter county?
i.e. Cork name a panel at the start of the year once they have closed on that, those players cannot play or train with any other side until the senior championship is done?
this might sound ridiculous, ok and it goes against the whole club ethos, but in the current situation we have the GAA is and i hate to steal this from Gizzy Lyng " hurtling towards professionalism"…
i suppose where do you draw the line, if a fella is playing senior for Longford is he contracted to the Longford county board or the Leinster Council that is if we have a professional set up? it would be similar to the rugby set up, you then have the fellas playing club at an amateur level
we should get a thread going on it really trying to explore how professionalism in the GAA would work.
I for the life of me dont see how a fella can play inter county today unless he does a Tony Griffen on it and takes a year out, is a primary teacher working 9-2pm or a lad failing first year in college ad nauseum, it cant be worth it[/quote]
Makes sense.

Why are players training with their clubs if they are training with the county?

It has to be impossible to train with both club, college and inter county teams.

[quote=“mickee321, post: 884114, member: 367”]can we see a situation soon where players are only allowed play for one team if they are playing inter county?
i.e. Cork name a panel at the start of the year once they have closed on that, those players cannot play or train with any other side until the senior championship is done?
this might sound ridiculous, ok and it goes against the whole club ethos, but in the current situation we have the GAA is and i hate to steal this from Gizzy Lyng " hurtling towards professionalism"…
i suppose where do you draw the line, if a fella is playing senior for Longford is he contracted to the Longford county board or the Leinster Council that is if we have a professional set up? it would be similar to the rugby set up, you then have the fellas playing club at an amateur level
we should get a thread going on it really trying to explore how professionalism in the GAA would work.
I for the life of me dont see how a fella can play inter county today unless he does a Tony Griffen on it and takes a year out, is a primary teacher working 9-2pm or a lad failing first year in college ad nauseum, it cant be worth it[/quote]

I don’t understand why lads like lyng are so intent on professionalism. If it’s too much hassle just give it up.

[quote=“tazdedub, post: 884172, member: 312”]Why are players training with their clubs if they are training with the county?

It has to be impossible to train with both club, college and inter county teams.[/quote]
Very few do. They like to exaggerate a lot.

The example of the college player with 30 odd trainings is surely an exaggeration or else he’s too dumb to speak up for himself, I don’t believe that all 4 or 5 managers he has are going to insist on him doing all the physical training for each team, or even require him to attend every session. And county players are not going to be following the fitness programmes of their clubmates either.

+1. I don’t know a single intercounty player who trains with their club, other than a token session here or there.

I think you are right. KK seniors don’t train with their clubs, U 21s on the senior panel don’t train with both -

I think Diarmuid Lyng is a sensitive soul - one Saturday during the OTB panel show he recounted how during his inter county years no one once took him aside and asked him was he “okay in himself”, not relating to injuries or health or performance - just in himself

I though (unkindly) that he could have just given it up

Exactly, most county players only train with their clubs before a championship or other big matches and if the club manager has any sort of cop on the sessions will be light.

[quote=“Midshipman Asha, post: 884187, member: 1508”]I think you are right. KK seniors don’t train with their clubs, U 21s on the senior panel don’t train with both -

I think Diarmuid Lyng is a sensitive soul - one Saturday during the OTB panel show he recounted how during his inter county years no one once took him aside and asked him was he “okay in himself”, not relating to injuries or health or performance - just in himself

I though (unkindly) that he could have just given it up[/quote]
Teams have lifestyle coaches now. Element of coddery about it.

[quote=“mickee321, post: 884085, member: 367”]not sure if it was discussed here already but Niall Moyna yer man from DCU gave a very insightful interview on OTB last night and put together a pretty damning indictment of GAA coaching and overtraining.
he used the example of one fella in his college having 38 sessions lined up for january between all the teams he is on, each team is doing heavy stamina work ( bar the sigerson) and there is no communiaction between coaches, lads are basically being flogged to death.
@caoimhaoin he referred to a study that he did analysing blood samples from players after games and training and found that muscle damage in these players was off the wall due to no time to recover. his point was that sports science is not understood in the GAA and inter county football coaches were the biggest offendors with draconian training plans.
As far as im concerned you’d have to be a complete eejit to play senior intercounty football, i have no idea how these lads hold down a job, study or live normal lives, as they are not professional they have no recovery time as they are expected to train with different teams every night of the week, and they get nothing for it…
the podcast is online[/quote]

There are idiot managers, but they are few and far between. They exist in the EPL and La Liga as well, the 2 richest clubs in the world recently/presently had managers flogging professionals to death.

There is a good chance a manager is sick of dealing with Moyna and this is him spitting the dummy. How ever his example of taking blood is NOT a study. It wasn’t published or sanctioned, it’s just a lad monitoring a team, like any coach taking stats an is no basis for this over the top outrage. He then goes on to estimate what he “thinks” most IC players will be at, again a with zero info. Just cos the coach from Rosscommon or Donegal is acting the bollix with one or two FCU players does not call for this dramatization.

Finally at the end if the day it comes down to the player. They need to be sensible, they need good advice. The information is out there and they are very well looked after. Moyna lives the sound of his own voice and this is him venting. The fact is he fails to talk about a lot of the very successful players and programs out there. He also was one of the worst over-training coaches out there. Why didn’t he ease off on Sigerson players in the past.

He’s well qualified, but that still doesn’t mean he can’t be full of it.

[quote=“TheUlteriorMotive, post: 884105, member: 2272”]Cork hurlers S&C coach made point when he took over that he fitness was a 3 or 4 year plan and if you throw kitchen sink at players you overwhelm them and it needs to be a gradual build up.

you can’t add three sessions a week to an 18 year olds existing 3 sessions - need to increase it one per week per year at most

the really good S&C guys have the confidence to trust their methods that are tried and trusted and not fall into “more is better” approach[/quote]

Probably is coaches wanting to over ride that for immediate results. This was one of the main reasons I quit the job here with Perth. Could not do my job properly.

[quote=“Midshipman Asha, post: 884187, member: 1508”]I think you are right. KK seniors don’t train with their clubs, U 21s on the senior panel don’t train with both -

That comment is more a comment on society than inter county hurling. It’s a pretty cut throat environment and if lads are going around wanting to be asked if they’re ok in themselves then they’re in trouble. That said I’d imagine his teams worked with psychologists all through his career and I’d be very surprised if he wasn’t offered an opportunity to discuss his mental well being.

This is absolutely the answer. A couple of counties have it. To me it’s very ibvious, I’m glad a non-sports science person sees it.

This basically is my dream job and something I think I will do some day. In top of that the role should involve educating the clubs in your county and gradually training up certain interested members in mini courses in the basics I.e Functional movement for youths. That alone would be a God send for a club.

[quote=“Midshipman Asha, post: 884187, member: 1508”]

I think Diarmuid Lyng is a sensitive soul - one Saturday during the OTB panel show he recounted how during his inter county years no one once took him aside and asked him was he “okay in himself”, not relating to injuries or health or performance - just in himself [/quote]

I think a lot of people are asking is he ok in himself these days.

That’s because they play a non contact waif sport you ape

Ya but many of them are old stories. The Tom Kenny story was rolled out in the last year or two. He’s retired now it was so long ago. No doubt though he’d still be playing if the science was there then that is now. I see certain players playing well into their 30’s in the next 5 years and beyond. The training they are doing now at 16-21 is getting better and better and it will stand to them.

I really started doing a lot of mobility training 2-3 years ago at 32/33 and I’m even extending my sport for a number of years, albeit at far lower levels.

I’m pretty sure I heard the same show and they were discussing Niall Donohue and mental health issues so it was a fair point. It was a fair point anyway to be honest-not sure the issue you have with it.

My issue with it is that many inter county teams have people involved to deal with that sort of stuff and I’m saying that in this instance that Lyng would’ve had easy access to such a facility (psychology/mental well being/life coach/whatever) if he chose to avail of it. I think once that’s there a manager shouldn’t be expected to do anymore.

I don’t know about Galway.

Agree.