Dealing With Burnout

Why do so many gga players have mental health issues, ssame applies to their fans, is it a rural ireland thobg

[quote=“Appendage, post: 884300, member: 11”]My issue with it is that many inter county teams have people involved to deal with that sort of stuff and I’m saying that in this instance that Lyng would’ve had easy access to such a facility (psychology/mental well being/life coach/whatever) if he chose to avail of it. I think once that’s there a manager shouldn’t be expected to do anymore.

I don’t know about Galway.[/quote]

[quote=“Appendage, post: 884300, member: 11”]My issue with it is that many inter county teams have people involved to deal with that sort of stuff and I’m saying that in this instance that Lyng would’ve had easy access to such a facility (psychology/mental well being/life coach/whatever) if he chose to avail of it. I think once that’s there a manager shouldn’t be expected to do anymore.

Going back as far as 96 wasn’t Griffin bringing Niamh Fitzpatrick on board to do this sort of stuff seen as a massive benefit to the players involved?

Like you, I would assume every county team now has this type of person in place permanently so not sure what Gizzys problem is.

Ok so he would have had easy access to a life coach or whatever during his time with the Wexford panel? I’ll take your word for it seen as you seem to be/used to be involved with them for some of the posts I’ve seen here. I suppose I was more making a point that there’s nothing wrong with asking lads if everything was ok with them or whatever. A huge part of the problem with suicide among young males in Ireland is not talking about any problems they might have in case they look weak-we need to change that mindset in this country before anything will ever change with the ridiculously high suicide rates here.

What’s a thobg you thick cunt?

Happy new year to you and yours-you moved back home yet, mate?

Lyng says he felt he didn’t have adequate support in place during his time on the intercounty panel. Two lads on here “assume” he did so don’t know what he’s complaining about. You couldn’t make it up.

Ya the whole point is some lads find it hard to talk, someone else coming up and having the emotional intelligence to see someone may need a chat and asking them. They are not going to go seek it themselves.

Part of a managers role is the welfare of the players IMO, it should be a priority really.

Ok, let’s not assume. There were people involved in those squads to help people with any issues they may have had. I have just checked this with Bandage.

How far does the duty of care of a manager extend?

[quote=“Appendage, post: 884337, member: 11”]Ok, let’s not assume. There were people involved in those squads to help people with any issues they may have had. I have just checked this with Bandage.

How far does the duty of care of a manager extend?[/quote]
If there were, then judging by comments from Lyng they weren’t doing a very good job.

That’s what you’re inferring from his comments. I would say that the GPA have taken this issue on a level and there seems to be more options available nowadays.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 884334, member: 273”]Ya the whole point is some lads find it hard to talk, someone else coming up and having the emotional intelligence to see someone may need a chat and asking them. They are not going to go seek it themselves.

Part of a managers role is the welfare of the players IMO, it should be a priority really.[/quote]

But if they appoint someone to backroom team to deal with this side of things then how much more can they do? Assuming here so beware, would one to one meetings and chats not be part of these guys jobs?

Well I worked with a guy here last year and he just “made himself available” along with the odd presentation on things. He told me at the last game one player came to him, a former Afl Grand Final winner and probably the most stable guy in the squad. He was simply doing it (the life coach believed) to show leadership. So that gives you an insight, albeit a Western Australian point of view, into how young men treat this kind of thing. I believe there would be a bigger pick up of such a facility in a sports team in Ireland as I think we’re more open to it and not as hung up on how it makes a guy look, but I still don’t think the people who really need it will go to the guy. Other people may have a different approach but the good ones tend to stand back and observe and have a soft approach.

I think a manager or a team mate taking an interest is a far more potent tool and would have better results. I have no problem with the “good” life coaches there are a lot of people in it for the wrong reasons. Also I have a problem with a manager abdicating responsibility of looking out for his players. But then I have a bit of a holistic slightly off the beaten track view of sports management in general.

Fergie calling to Lee Sharpes house to stop a party is folklore now of course and no doubt had self serving elements, but it was pure management, and most young men respond favorably to it. I think it can have positive development affects as well.

FAO of @The Wild Colonial Bhoy
what a hero we have here

“I’ll play until I’m told not to by management, not surgeons.”

[SIZE=5]Clarke determined to defy medics[/SIZE]
09 January 2014
http://hoganstand.com/Common/NewGallery/B75B1059.jpg
Louth’s Darren Clarke.
Louth’s Darren Clarke intends to soldier on - even though he probably shouldn’t…

The 30-year-old is Louth’s second-highest scorer of all time (with a tally of 16-311) and is determined to get himself back into shape for 2014, despite the fact that he could do long-term damage to his dodgy knee:

“If you talk to the surgeon, he’ll probably say the knee will get the better of me sooner rather than later, but I don’t see it that way,” the Ardee St Marys clubman says in The Drogheda Independent.

"In 2010 I underwent a micro-fracturing procedure. There was no cartilage left at the bottom of the femur bone so the surgeon drilled into the bone to create tiny fractures and develop new cartilage.

"It’s a makeshift kind of thing but I’m still comfortable and training is fine. I can’t train night after night but it’s all about managing it. Recovery time is a bit longer.

"Long term, the outlook wouldn’t be great. I’ll probably need a knee replacement. But, sure if I stopped playing now, I might still need one anyway.

"I’m not going to stop because of what might happen. I’ll keep going as long as I can because I love playing the game. I’ll play until I’m told not to by management, not surgeons."
[SIZE=4][FONT=Avant Garde][COLOR=rgb(0, 0, 0)][/FONT][/SIZE]

GPA provide a 24 hour helpline and counselling services
Way ahead of any other sports in this country in terms of access to help and services

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 884356, member: 273”]Well I worked with a guy here last year and he just “made himself available” along with the odd presentation on things. He told me at the last game one player came to him, a former Afl Grand Final winner and probably the most stable guy in the squad. He was simply doing it (the life coach believed) to show leadership. So that gives you an insight, albeit a Western Australian point of view, into how young men treat this kind of thing. I believe there would be a bigger pick up of such a facility in a sports team in Ireland as I think we’re more open to it and not as hung up on how it makes a guy look, but I still don’t think the people who really need it will go to the guy. Other people may have a different approach but the good ones tend to stand back and observe and have a soft approach.

I think a manager or a team mate taking an interest is a far more potent tool and would have better results. I have no problem with the “good” life coaches there are a lot of people in it for the wrong reasons. Also I have a problem with a manager abdicating responsibility of looking out for his players. But then I have a bit of a holistic slightly off the beaten track view of sports management in general.

Fergie calling to Lee Sharpes house to stop a party is folklore now of course and no doubt had self serving elements, but it was pure management, and most young men respond favorably to it. I think it can have positive development affects as well.[/quote]
a version of this would be Davy Fitz, Miwadi, biscuits and Davy’s sitting room
as you say it is good management

Gaa is not hurtling towards professionalism- burnout is not a major problem for the gaa. These thing sicken my hole. One small section of the gaa is hurtling toward elitism and can’t handle it and the majority of the gaa is required to feel sorry for them.

I had two lads at minor who were playing for their county and school and club including 21s. Everything that could be done for them was…and they deserved it. I had 7 or 8 who only got to play 6 games of football and 6 games of hurling a year. No bodies crying about them, bar me watching them leave the gaa.

What’s the gaa all about?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7ReyK2YSO84

[quote=“TheUlteriorMotive, post: 884432, member: 2272”]GPA provide a 24 hour helpline and counselling services
“You are through to the GPA 24 hour helpline - press 1 to have a whinge about the quality of the training gear you got this year, press 2 if you only get a sandwich after training, press 3 if you have to pay for your own gym membership or press 4 if you think the manager is an utter cunt imposed by the county secretary just to spite you”.

You put an 021 before that one did ya Fagan?

[B][SIZE=6]‘Whole backroom team needs to be able to coach now’[/SIZE]
[SIZE=5]Following the GAA’s decision to insist coaches of inter-county teams are qualified, Damian Lawlor sought reaction from some managers[/SIZE]

DAMIAN LAWLOR[/B] – 19 JANUARY 2014

[SIZE=5]Responses ranged from the unconvinced to the uninformed. Not everybody is sold on this latest diktat from Croke Park.[/SIZE]

We contacted two managers from each province and three of the eight hadn’t even heard about the new rule. Furthermore, not alone do they not have the necessary qualification, they have no intention of attaining it either.

Four more had heard of the new directive but hadn’t yet got their Award 2 badge. They said, however, that they would have no problem doing so. Just one manager we spoke to had achieved the qualification. He joked that as he was in such a unique position he would surely be in huge demand when 2016 came around.

Five had taken foundation courses at some point in their lives, but hadn’t seen the need to go any further and none of those quizzed were aware that club-level head coaches would have to be Award 1 certified within the same time-frame.

“At club level, every second person fancies having a crack at the local senior team,” one of the managers said. "So it’s no harm in having something in place to ensure that they at least know what they are talking about.

"I would make the point, though, that it’s highly different at the level we’re at. Most of us have 20 or 30 years’ experience in the game, either as players or coaches and managers in the top flight, and you learn from that. A piece

of paper will not determine whether you are a good or bad coach."

But where is the harm in self-development?

“Are you telling me that Mickey Harte or Brian Cody who have won what they have would need to go off and do a course like this?” the manager replied. “Would you stop! Paper doesn’t mean anything – managers and coaches have to have a feel for this job and know how to handle both their players and their opponents. You can go into a room or a workshop and listen to all these talks and presentations but sometimes the only way you learn about a player is on the field, or via close contact with them.”

The GAA, however, says that only the head coach – and not necessarily the manager – would be compelled to have this qualification. And by 2018 those respective coaches must have surpassed Award 2 level and be fully qualified. It’s the first strike against the trend of parachuting in ex-county players who may not be particularly suited.

Tipperary under 21 football manager David Power is a younger breed of manager – he recently turned 30 – and says it makes sense to bring qualifications to a backroom team. While Tipperary’s development squads were training at Dr Morris Park last year, Power could be seen orchestrating drills, tactical five-a-sides and other game-related disciplines under the watchful eye of coaching officer Pat Moroney in order to reach the coaching standards required.

It’s not just those two who are equipped to coach the county under 21 team. Along with Power and Moroney, Pat Flanagan, Gerry McGill and Alan O’Connor also work with the under 21s and are all experienced coaches.

“It means that every session we have is totally different and there are some different voices at every session. The players love that,” says Power. “Sure there will be disagreements and friction from time to time but that’s part of the game in any set-up.”

But Power says raising standards is a very positive move and can see little reason why anyone would react negatively to it. "Just because you have a certificate, it doesn’t mean you will be a good manager. There are a lot of other factors to be taken into account like can you communicate? How good are your game plans? Can you delegate and trust?

"The problem is that some managers who have been there and done that wouldn’t really see the need to go down this road and fair enough, that’s up to them. I would say the vast majority of them wouldn’t have the qualification and wouldn’t be interested in getting it either.

"But while the Award 2 process is time-consuming you can get a lot out of it too. Don’t get me wrong, it will not win an All-Ireland for you but through the various workshops you pick up things and the great thing for me was that I got talking to other people and learned from them too.

“You are basically ticking a box. It’s part of what you need to do to get to where you want to go. It will not change your style of coaching but it will help you along. I don’t see it as a big deal.”

Power also stresses the rule will apply to head coaches specifically. “This is crucial because the roles of a manager and coach are completely different now. Someone mentioned recently that the GAA were also looking into running actual managerial courses as well and that would be another good development because as a manager these days you have to be a psychologist, organiser, logistics expert, communicator and tactician. You need your coach to help devise game plans and plays – all that sort of stuff – so they need to know what they are doing. But as I said I think the whole backroom needs to be able to coach now. The days of a stand-up selector are going; everyone has to be able to take a session, or part of it.”

A managerial course could help establish proper channels of communication between players and officials, and look at the importance of media relations. Such a programme would offer advice on how to set discipline charters, how to enforce rules and how to deal with controversies, both internal and external.

While there is a fear that mandatory coaching demands could diminish interest in managerial positions, especially at club level, the flip side is that there could be enhanced benefits for teams.

Many counties employ full-time games development officers and coaches who are grossly under-utilised when it comes to working with their inter-county senior – and even club – teams.

Maybe, apart from improving and streamlining the coaching process, the GAA are also keeping an eye on county boards and giving them the option of reducing associated team costs accrued from working with outside managers and coaches. If a fully-qualified games development officer is on a county’s books, why not use him or her more?

Leinster Council currently employs 38 Games Development Administrators but despite their ground-level expertise very few of these feature or appear in inter-county set-ups.

In the meantime, every aspiring manager or coach should consider taking the Award 2 qualification. There are deficits in the skill set of every manager and rather than denying that, it’s better to recognise what they are and embrace the challenge of rectifying what needs to be improved.

These coaching demands are all about working towards best practice. And more than anything else the mandatory qualifications might reduce the amount of flogging players are subjected to. In fact, it c