Decent Journalism

Eubank was never the same after that, he would have lads in trouble and couldnā€™t finish them off.Eubank was box office in the early to mid 90s.

There was a great buzz to British boxing in the mid 90s with Bruno and an emerging Lewis at heavy weight, a loaded middle weight with Benn, Eubank, an emerging Calzaghe and our own Steve Collins.

Prince Nazeem and his showboating ways was the cherry in top

How many of them did calzaghe fight ? I remember him beating an ageing Eubank, canā€™t remember him fighting other two ?

Nope. He had a split decision victory over Robin Reid and beat Richie Woodhall. His iconic fights were against Lacy and Kessler.

Robin Reid always came across as a bit of a mad bastard

Eubank was the only one but it was for a world title from what I remember. He came after the other three but had many big fights on sky in the late 90s

Collins dodged him for a year before retiring

Who was equivalent in America back then in mid 90s ? Trinidad ,de la Hoya ,Roy Jones jnr ?
Always remember Eubank and Benn on some chat show and they went live to America to talk to James Toney ā€¦he started abusing the two lads saying he was going to bate them and their mothers ā€¦

:joy::joy::joy: Johnathan Ross

There was Mike McCallum and Reggie Johnson a few years before Roy Jones too. Bernard Hopkins and Toney were mw who were better suited at cruiser, Toney won a HW title later on even. Felix Trinidad is a blast from the past, some legend. Forgotten all about him

Trinidad was a dirty bastard , I remember him fighting Vargas (?) and he was in trouble and he just boxed him clean in the nuts ,totally took the wind out of him ā€¦

Maybe he did but Collins more than any of them went to America and fought the best over there including McCallum. Itā€™s a pity Collins was such a cunt outside the ring cos he was one of the great Irish boxers.

Vargas had him down in that fight earlier too if I recall. Trinidad kept hitting him whilst he was down later on and it meant he couldnā€™t get up from the count! Refs as well as judges were crooked those days. He got a very generous decision over Oscar too when they met.

His early fights at ww were brilliant though , himself and Campos bate ten shades of shite of each other for four rounds. Both down in fight

Plus it was all free to air,donā€™t forget Mensa member Nicky Piper and Ray Close also.

Henry Wharton a Yorkshire gypsy was another hardy fighter in that era

Eubank was one of the hardest cunts I ever see box. The fights versus Carl Thompson ( a good fighter ) and a light heavy weight showed his phenomenal bravery when he was past it .

He was a likeable sort overall

Gerald McClellan also. RIP. Another warrior.

Gerald McClellan is alive.

I wasnā€™t quite sure tbh. That fight with Benn was the best I ever saw, and Iā€™m ashamed of myself for enjoying it. I canā€™t bear to read about it since.