Iâve seen JRs costing the taxpayer a fortune because some twat didnât follow a set procedure, they should have to face the financial consequence of going off on a frolic.
Iâve just figured out what JR stands for
judicial review
Word is Direct Provision will not be coming to Oughterard. The local racist hicks will be thrilled because no foreigners and hose opposed to direct provision will be happy too because squalor and deprivation should not be state sponsored. Question is, where do they go now?
Isnât there a scatter of houses below in Tipp that the âlocalsâ deem unsuitable because thereâs no stables and grazing. Better show the welcoming hand than leave them idle.
Oughterard was a stupid place to send people under a stupid system anyway. Sending them to oughterard was the ultimate nimbyism.
Explain that one there for me.
People being shoved into a previously derelict hotel with nothing to do, and the only way of even getting into the village is a walk down the main galway clifden Road for the guts of a mile, part of which has no pavement. Oughterard was designated by city dwellers who didnât want them in the major metropolitan area(s)
You think whether they have anything to do, a safe walk, or the distance involved are even factors for consideration on where to put these centres? Ha.
These conditions in Oughterard were 5 star compared to most direct provision centers around the country
I clearly donât think that. Youâre surely not this dim.
Itâs unfortunate that racists who donât want foreigners in their area and people who are genuinely concerned about Direct Provision are both on the same side of the debate. Leads to very muddied waters.
Direct provision seems to be a needlessly but purposefully cruel and inhumane system.
Surely it should take no more than a matter of months to process these claims and either return people or being integrating them into society. Leaving them locked in concentration camps with a meagre allowance is of benefit to no one.
So whatâs your complaint? They should all be out in cities? Cities already have housing shortages. Finding an unoccupied building and repurposing it for direct provision does make sense within that system (yes, the system is shit). Itâs just a pity oughterard appears to be full of unashamedly backward racist wankers. Compare it to other towns that have organised welcome events or drives to contribute to direct provision centres etc.
Great post
#notaracist
Say you fled as a refugee from somewhere, leaving all your worldly possessions behind, made your way across deserts and war torn countries and what have you and some people smugglers somehow got you to Ireland. Land in then and youâre asked for documentation to verify your story. âI havenât it sorry ladsâ. Right, youâre out, back to Afghanistan so says some low level civil servant type. Appeal. Appeal through the courts. Etc etc etc. You can see why it will not be a fast process. Women at risk of FGM have been told to cop on and go back to their own country and that type of craic, cue appeals.
We should grant leave to remain to anyone thatâs been kept in DP a certain time at this stage.
But they are not all refugees are they?
Who? The people in direct provision? Iâm open to correction on this but theyâre people whoâve applied for refugee status. Theyâre held in direct provision, which is supposed to be âshort termâ, ie a number of months, until a decision is made on whether grant asylum or return them.
The major problem is obviously itâs not quick and easy to make such a decision.
One of the worst parts of all of this was how easily the protesters in Oughterard allowed themselves to become infiltrated by the likes of Justin Barret and other shady far right figures. These guys are lurking just beneath the surface of polite society and it wouldnât take a whole lot for them to get a bit of traction going.
They are the ones who will actually be most disappointed at todayâs announcement as they were hoping this would blow up in a big way and give them real national exposure. They havenât gone away, far from it, theyâre just waiting for the right moment to pounce, could well hit the jackpot next time. Noel Grealish will be sure to give them the thumbs up when they do.