Does anyone here actually really like their work? PS please could you give a clue as to what you do if so

That’s not bad surely. Importance of the job means it probably deserves more but given the hours worked and holidays it’s about fair. If the wife even earned similar ye would be well into 6 figures combined which if an individual earned it wed think they were loaded.

That’s what I said
My wife earns good money so we’re grand, I’m not worried.
Don’t go down the hours worked route though :grinning: my workday is incredibly intense every minute, and it doesn’t always end at 3 o clock

You’d nearly miss the chippy italian northern ireland lad

Go to the teachers thread and follow his trail of posts, he was an awful bore

Yeah that’s true. Not many jobs you can barely go for a piss. The holidays are serious though.
My point in general is about how people say the money is so small. I’d class 800 quid a week as fairly good twine.

Well educated, approaching 50 with 4 kids and two dogs

I do be reading some of the threads here with fellas showing off their fancy work trips (I wouldn’t do it for gold) thinking they must be earning at least triple that for very little actual work

Shur you’d be forking out 500 or more of it on rent or a mortgage , then food, car yada yada yada

Bar flatty being treated like a VIP out in Pakistan there’s very little to look forward to about business trips. The travel and jetlag drains you completely as you get older if you’ve to head to the US or further than Europe. You’ll usually work longer hours while away just because there’s fuck all else to do in the evenings, or else spend time talking shite to co-workers you’ve nothing in common with apart from being paid by the same company - which is often worse than working. And when you’ve young kids left at home with a wife who’s also working it usually means you’re returning home, wrecked tired to an absolute disaster zone.

Indeed, it sounds like hell to me to be honest, alone in a hotel room in a strange city

But in my innocence I’m assuming that if your company sends you 5000 miles from home to do a bit of work they must be paying you VERY well

@Mac is loaded sure.

Would you ever just fuck off to a bar and talk to people?

Yeah going awaybto the US for ‘holidays’ as i get at home is shit. Particularly when your going to the arse hole of nowhere to a town no one has heard of.

Like you do all the time?

I would abroad instead of working anyway.

The extra few bob would be quickly forgotten when she would realise the additional workload falling onto her shoulders

This is a powerful thread

Its certainly opened my eyes. But there’s a few lads here that could do with a right good kick ip the hole

I oscillate between liking mine (80%) of time and absolutely fucking despising it (20%). But it pays well and I like my colleagues and I could see a situation where I could do another 5 or 6 years and be in a position to take a handy number with a payout and coast to retirement

Talking about firing. There is an office in the same campus as mine where the workforce got an email at 11:50 on Monday last week to attend a call at 12. On the call, 250 of them were told they were being fired and they had an hour to clear their desks and go.

Bit of uproar in the local media. Think the impacted people were mainly IT guys so that’s ok.

Wait, what?