The money is meant to be savage though?
An auld job driving around the roads delivering parcels would be a grand handy gig I’d say. See a bit of the countryside.
The money is meant to be savage though?
An auld job driving around the roads delivering parcels would be a grand handy gig I’d say. See a bit of the countryside.
Not as good as it used to be,they changed the pay for new entrants about 15 years ago.Gave the old timers a big rise if they agreed to a new rate for new lads.
There’s an entire cohort in wheat field that left the guards to be prison officers.
Post Man is a great gig, has to be for an post though. Those poor Amazon lads do be stressed out of their minds trying to meet targets.
Post man in a big town or city going around on one of those big bikes. Great exercise all day, out early, home early.
Fuck all stress. Job for life.
As with a lot of these jobs the money is nowhere near what it was years ago.Back in the day if you had a job with the P+T Coillte Co Council ESB Guards Nurse Health Board uou were set for life with a decent wage and good pension to look forward to.A family could be raised on one wage.Not so anymore.
Are you taking into account the 14 bottles of Whiskey you get at Christmas?
You are essentially following the same roads every day; I’d imagine it becomes tedious enough after a while.
I knew a lad who did relief postman out in county limerick 10 or more years ago before post codes and the internet. He found it very stressful trying to remember who lived where. If he could have hacked it for a few years he’d have got a handy route to himself, but he couldn’t.
I’m sure it’s a bit easier now.
Sure aren’t women and all doing it now?
They have no sense of direction.
Having had the need to hire e-bikes recently it seems to me that an e-bike rental business somewhere on the NAW or near a greenway would be a stress free and decent income way of life.
Provided you have proper insurance over them.
And no meetings.
Think its going to be a huge industry going forward. Far from stress free Id imagine, where members of the public find a million ways to damage the bikes.
Having said that, I invested in a real expensive
E bike and never gave me a moments trouble over the last 5 years.
Sorry to hear of your struggles. The only advice I’d offer is think long and hard about becoming a prison officer. I know 2 of them, they are both head the balls and both of their lives are a mess. Some of the stories I’ve heard from them I wouldn’t do that job for love nor money. Mostly shift work aswell so I’d say that wouldn’t help your sleep struggles.
I did shift for years and, weirdly, found it easier than 9-5. The commute is just a killer. And I don’t think I’m wired to sit at a desk tbh.
And sure I’m a certified head the ball myself
I know a couple of prison officers - one in particular.
He was fond of the beer but the job turned him pretty much into an alcoholic. They go on the beer on their breaks.
Then he got a savage beating from an inmate and was off work for months. Not sure if he ever went back.
You either run/walk or drink pints on the break. I’ve been in a Monday Club or two after games back in the day and its an eye opener.
With the utmost respect to anyone here who is, or may have relatives in the prison service it’s one career path that I’d avoid. There are many aspects to the job that I’d dislike. The whole atmosphere of the workplace would be my principal issue followed by the thoughts of dealing with people on a daily basis who utterly, utterly despite you to the point of hatred.
The visions of a 5 hour round trip from A to B for court appearances (suspended sentence) and the prospect that tomorrow brings more of the same must be soul destroying. Many of these inmates are combustible and are as likely to attack you going into a courtroom as in a corridor.
An emphatic NO from me.
That was the dream for most of them from what I can gather. Get a few clips and take 9 months off.
@Batigol when did you leave the airport?
I also think I heard somewhere that being a prison officer is an incredibly stressful job and can impact one’s health greatly.
That’s some element of job satisfaction.
‘I hope I get a beating in work so I can take nine months off’