I get the Sunday night blues
Great when they’re at peace and settled
I absolutely hate my job.
In fact, i don’t think there’s any job out there I’d ever enjoy. Working on someone’s else’s clock is the pitts.
Have you considered a patreon podcast?
I’ll give it a rattle
To the surprise of absolutely nobody. Would you go back and do another PHD or something and skive away for another few years
You’ve become very negative in past few years.
Is the job new?
Settling down, getting married and kids takes a serious gloss off life for some lads. Others thrive in it all.
Ever thought of writing? You’ve a lovely way with words
I enjoy my job tbh. There are rough days, weeks but in general it’s a pleasure.
I’ve never met you
I’d love to be my own boss somehow but that ship has possibly sailed. If teaching paid i possibly might have gone down that route… I’m not cut out for the corporate world as i can’t be fake and buy into the jargon and mission statements and just want to be left alone.
You wouldn’t have much chance being left on your own teaching
Ive a grand job.
Teaching is a different animal to the gowl acting that goes on in corporate companies lad. I didn’t mind it at college level but primary/secondary are different animals… I liked it tho but it pays pittance
Everyone goes through this phase. It takes time to handle the shit in the corporate world but the security of knowing you’ll be paid at the end of every month can be a lot nicer than fighting for every euro when you work for yourself, or chasing down lads to pay you anything at all.
Not sure what the startup scene is like in Cork but it might give you a bit of balance of doing a bit of everything without the bullshit. Some place that has already got a chunk of funding but isn’t big enough yet to be full of bullshit merchants.
Sounds like he’d love correcting state examinations during the summer on his own time. He’d still have to answer to the chief examiner mind you.
Start ups rarely hold a lot of original staff. Average is about 2 years I think. That initial buzz goes and you will find that a different skill set is required to get to the next level
Treat it as a game that needs to be played on occasion. The vast majority of folk in the corporate world grin and bear it and don’t take it too serious. We have a great ould laugh in our place at the LinkedIn junkies in our place, they are detested.
Working for yourself has huge advantages but there are plenty downsides too. After 3 years of it I was glad to get out, i hadn’t the nerve for it.
What does an average Guard earn?
The fuckers barely ever to seem to work with the 4 days on/4 days off roster that Mr. Harris is desperate to curtail.
You couldn’t pay them enough for some of the shite they’ve to put up with