As one who has done this ancient tradition for 40 odd years under the umbrella of the local GAA club, does anyone here participate/engage in this duty?
We’ve provided music, drama, solo singing, story-telling, dancing and general ribaldry across a multiplicty of parishes for generations.
The Captaincy of the Wren is looked upon hereabouts as being a more onerous task than captaining Ryder Cup/Lions Tours. The Wren Captain must assess the most lucrative venues to attend at appropriate times, co-relate troops on the ground and curtail excessive drinking of half-ones by key performers, while all the time wringing the last drop out of his charges…
Funds collected on the day are disbursed to local charities…Cue the Leitrim phrase…“The Fenagh Mummers”…
The Wren used to always call to my grandfathers house, as I think he used to go out with them in his younger days, was a source of great excitement for us as young lads. The same Wren group (Carrigkerry) still do the rounds but not sure where they hit.
[QUOTE=“Boxtyeater, post: 1061060, member: 246”]As one who has done this ancient tradition for 40 odd years under the umbrella of the local GAA club, does anyone here participate/engage in this duty?
We’ve provided music, drama, solo singing, story-telling, dancing and general ribaldry across a multiplicty of parishes for generations.
The Captaincy of the Wren is looked upon hereabouts as being a more onerous task than captaining Ryder Cup/Lions Tours. The Wren Captain must assess the most lucrative venues to attend at appropriate times, co-relate troops on the ground and curtail excessive drinking of half-ones by key performers, while all the time wringing the last drop out of his charges…
Funds collected on the day are disbursed to local charities…Cue the Leitrim phrase…“The Fenagh Mummers”…[/QUOTE]
The tinkers have taken it over down our way. Not a note in their head. Pure annoyance
[QUOTE=“Boxtyeater, post: 1061060, member: 246”]As one who has done this ancient tradition for 40 odd years under the umbrella of the local GAA club, does anyone here participate/engage in this duty?
Funds collected on the day are disbursed to local charities…Cue the Leitrim phrase…“The Fenagh Mummers”…[/QUOTE]
One of our men has infiltrated one of the public houses in Fénagh village I believe.
Not a bad old skin.
You’re spot on with that assessment. An alright sort of the highest order.
What would be your number 1 party piece @Boxtyeater
I remember the Grandfather singing one about a red bikini, he possibly wrote it himself, but maybe not. He was a great poet and songwriter, had a few songs recorded over the years.
Never did the Wren myself. But I used to repair to Bobby Graces pub in Ballybricken every Stephens Day when the Wrenboys would come in. High jinks would invariably ensue. Bobby would cook them a fry on the range in the pub and they’d sing their hearts out.
[QUOTE=“TreatyStones, post: 1061353, member: 1786”]What would be your number 1 party piece @anon67715551
I remember the Grandfather singing one about a red bikini, he possibly wrote it himself, but maybe not. He was a great poet and songwriter, had a few songs recorded over the years.[/QUOTE]
A bawdy recitation outlining the failings and failures of the local club depending on location. Given that we’d only be attending 3 parishes it’s handy enough to pull it off.
All the better if a past or present player is in attendance, it boosts their ego to get a mention. It also ensures a “quick booster” for the narrator…
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fov5HTEJDdk
The wren, the wren, the king of all birds
On St. Stephen’s Day got caught in the furze
Although he was little his honour was great
Jump up, me lads, and give him a treat.
As I was going to Killenaule
I met the wren upon the wall
I upped with me wattle and knocked him down
and brought him into Carrick town
Dreoilìn, Dreoilìn where is your nest?
'Tis in the bush that I love best
It’s in the tree, the holly tree
where all the boys do follow me
Up with the kettle and down with the pan.
Give us a penny to bury the wren.
We followed the wren three miles or more
three miles or more, three miles or more
We followed the wren three miles or more
at six o’clock in the morning
I have a little box under me arm
under me arm, under me arm
I have a little box under me arm
a penny or tuppence’ll do it no harm
Mrs. Clancy’s a very good woman
a very good woman, a very good woman
Mrs. Clancy’s a very good woman
she gave us a penny to bury the wren.
The Wrenboys were out in the Butcher Powers last night. High jinks ensued.
This seems to have died somewhat. I come from & live in very strong horsey/hunting/hound part of the world and this was a huge deal growing up. Saw none of it yesterday.
Also Cork was extremely quite yesterday evening. Are people staying at home on Stephans day these days?
3 different lots of the cunts hit the local last night.
I’m all for the tradition but these cunts were collecting only for themselves and not a screed of talent in any of them. The first lot got a bit of change but the novelty soon wore off.
In a place in Kilkenny last night for a 40th birthday party when a couple of mothers and children of the travelling persuasion came in shaking cups, on the ‘wren’.
Two of the children, girls, no more than 8 years old were caught trying to steal handbags and anything else that wasn’t nailed down.
A lovely cultural twist on a tradition once fondly looked upon.
Is this a traveller thing elsewhere?
Its not where i’m from.
Dunno. The wren used to be big when I was growing up, good oul craic and all of that.
The last decade or so, it’s just traveller children being sent into pubs to see what they can get. I think I’ve seen one proper wren crowd in the last 5 years.
Travellers have latched onto it in a big way. Basically just throw on face paint and hit the local pubs begging
Having been slightly removed from the main stream this year, in slightly dubious circumstances, I vowed to give it one last blast and with the aid of a mini-Boxty on the uileánn pipes, my rendition of “The Boys of Barnasráide” rocked the historical
village of Fenagh to it’s fucking roots last night…
We never died a Winter’s yet around here.
they were at it in Foynes / Shanagolden @TreatyStones yesterday
the travellers be walking into the bookies doing it looking for money
inspiring post
happy new year to ya boy