Doing the Wren

Sounds like Eastenders .

Tinkers

[quote=“Boxtyeater, post:62, topic:19866, full:true”]

A witty recitation (to accompanying piping) lauding the achievements of The Willies and our townie brethren (Ballinamore), while tearing the holes off our own lads, should provide the impetus to see us escape from Intermediate next summer.

A rhyme accorded the “The boys of Bár na Sraínde” sufficed to bring the crowd to raptures, but a witty entangled ensued in the aftermath:

A local lassie is married to a chap from a Munster county and he’s what we’d call a short arsed little bollix.

You must envisage the rural West of Ireland clique that exists hereabouts (football country) but he imposed himself into our company and proceeded to regale us with his list of the doyens’ of the game of hurling…

He rattled them off, all Munster men, before finally conceding that Carey was "middlin’ but small"…

A local sage enquired, did you hurl yourself "Anywhere above the legs of the kitchen table…"

Howls of vindication…

bumped for @TreatyStones

The auld tinkers love the wren

The tinkers do be mad for the wren

Cunts will be driving around all evening sending the kids into pubs looking for change.

Just had a great wren group call to the house. First time in years, nice to see it as the group mostly consisted of the grandchildren of a wren group that would always have called to the house when my grandfather was alive.

Go way you miserable bollix. They never went near your semi d kip.

Relax mate, sounds like the week in Trabolgan can’t come quick enough for you

Road hurling is the new hunting the wren.

Great job as steward @Declan_Moffat and you lost badly @peddlerscross.

All my planning went out the window when the sliotar I had planned on using was deemed illegal

I would’ve been on the winning team only my team mates were from the era of ground hurling. I picked the wrong brothers of my moniker. If in 12 months times they can hit it out of their hands there will be no stopping us. The victor was still enjoying his win when i left at 7. Christening in the morning :confounded:

@Declan_Moffat got his eye in marshalling the sulky racing.

Gathered 400 euro in a few2 hours today on the wren. 1x driver (me). 1 x fiddler. 1x whistler. 1x concertina. 1 x idle enough but houlding the bucket.
I can see why the tinkers do it it’s handy money.

Did ye dress up as tinkers too?

Did ye spitroast a few brassers once you’d been to the petrol station to change it into 50s?

Who will you donate the money to buddy?

Young lads dressed up as tinkers alright
Auld caps and shirts etc