I agree Mac but itās hard to blame people.
Limerick GAA is just one crushing blow after another. If you dare to reach for the stars, Liam Lenihan and Spike are waiting on the grassy knoll with an uzi to shoot you down.
Plus see my other point re: selectors taking over from managers.
Iām being delusional but then you pretty much say what I have said about Wexford underage-just because weāre not winning all-Irelandās/Leinster doesnāt mean weāre a shambles either. Itās a killer that we aināt winning them but weāve improved a good bit underage, still behind Tipps and KK but certainly not near the shambles it once was. (Under 21 last year apart-that was aCB thing). Your U21ās gave Tipp a right rattle, thatās what I was saying about our minors a few years ago that gave the Tipp minors a right rattle also, should have beaten them.
We are doing ok but it aināt near enough as is plainly obvious-we have much more factors killing us than the likes of Cork and KK have anyway in underage. All we need down here is to break that duck in Leinster and who knows then.
The 2009 crop was awful Kev, had about three decent players on the age. Iād expect next yearās U-21 first 15 to have only two players (at most) on that team, Brosnan (thanks to his club form) and Rodgers (if he recovers properly from his injury).
As far as I know the current U-16 team that played this year had one training session and tow practice matches into the lead-up of whatever tournament they entered. That is taking the piss.
Also the fact that Limerick will be spending the next two years hurling in division 2
Utter nonsense Turenne, i have a cousin and club mates on the panels, hurling and football. The football does seem a bit better organised alright, but they meet regulary enough. Alot of the work is done outside the main season as to not affect the clubs too much. They probably meet twice a month at most in summer.
The Cork U-17 panel in football for instance are starting to get going already. There will be trials and sectional training sessions for next 4-5 months. The hurlers are following suit this year i believe.
Turenne you judged the 2009 crop on one game, doesnāt make them awful. When Mick Shields was 17 that Minor team were awful as well according to some people, they got well beat, by Tipp i think. Yet they won the All-Ireland U-21 3 years later.
This year will see a repeat of the Limerick V Clare NHL clashes of the mid 90ās with 30,000 people at the Gaelic Grounds.
OāGrady is by far the best appointment Limerick couldāve made. Heāll straighten out the disciplinary issues in the squad and get the best lads playing for them.
Heās an outstanding coach who unlike Justin will embrace modern technology & will work with players who want to improve.
With this improvement in set up & having their best players back Iād safely say Limerick will achieve mid table safety in division 2 next year.
ā¦how many of the 2009 Minor team was even on this yearās U-21 squad? Iām comparing them to the team after them and before them and what Iāve seen of the likes of Farrell, OāRourke, E. OāSullivan, Wiley etc since - they were cack.
I agree with Mac. This seems like an excellent appointment to me. Itāll be between Limerick and Carlow for promotion for my money.
In the name of Jaysus how do keV and turrenne manage to turn every thread into a thread about the Cork minors ?
In shock about this one myself too. Never heard the rumours about it at all. After Cody, the man youād want next on your wish list would definitely be OāGrady.
Wexford would only dream of having a manager like him these days.
Any truth that he has only commited himself for one year
I am ruling myself out of the Limerick squad for as long as Donal OāGrady is in charge.
I will be making no further comment on this matter.
Ya I believe that to be the case. Probably best for both parties.
Do you think heāll be able to combine playing and managing? Heād only really established himself in the last couple of years. Iām surprised more hasnāt been made of this. Itās not like Limerick could attract the Cork DOG.
I heard one year on the radio as well, which seems pointless.
What was the craic with Justinās backroom team, were they as clueless as Justin regarding Limerick GAA or what?
more that they were as pig ignorant and dictatorial in style as justin, rather than anything to do with their abilities as selectors
its a tough one to call from the outside to be honest- it appears to me that there are a lot of structural problems with Limerick hurling & o grady cant do much about that but he will bring discipline,drive & a will to win to the players which will ensure that the fans will get behind the team & maybe just maybe they can go somewhere this year
Iād say heāll have them flying in training