Drink Driving

Horrendous comments from glas. Nobody knows what anybody is going through in their real life. Being nervous could be a sign of many things.

Our frailty is all any of us really have in common

Glas is well rattled this weather.
The AIDS comment was spot on.

Bastards be out this weekend in force lads.

I was tasting whiskeys below in the off-licence there a few minutes ago— West Cork Whiskey were doing a promo and your man was fairly liberal with his servings … the head was slightly floating when I got into the car.

They’re a lovely peat infused whiskey on the go. Their standard stuff is grand.

If you lost the license you’d have to give up work,
imagine that.

And become part of the travelling community

He’s only ever a small step away from that, license or no license.

I’d die above on some traveller bird.

Hopefully.

He died doing what he loved.

Stale
Repetitive
Predictable

Don’t be so hard on yourself.

You don’t need a licence if you are a traveler. Its their culture

Very interesting.

‘Morning-after’ drivers key focus of Christmas anti-drink driving campaign

Figures show 11% cent of fatal collisions take place between 7am and 11am

Article image

TIM O’BRIEN, VIVIENNE CLARKE

VIVIENNE CLARKE “Morning-after” drivers who may still be intoxicated even after sleep will be a key focus of the Christmas anti-drink driving campaign, Assistant Garda Commissioner David Sheahan has warned.

Some 11 per cent of fatal collisions in which a driver had consumed alcohol took place between 7am and 11am, according to Garda and Road Safety Authority figures for this year which were released yesterday.

Garda figures show that 6 per cent of all driving under the influence (DUI) arrests so far this year have taken place between 7am and 11am, mostly on Sundays or Mondays.

Prof Denis Cusack, director of the Medical Bureau of Road Safety, said “nothing can help to remove alcohol from your body, only time”.

It was “extremely difficult” to calculate how many drinks a person could have before being over the limit, he said. He warned that one pint of beer or glass of wine could put someone over the limit.

“If you’ve been out drinking until two or three in the morning, there’s a big risk, particularly if you’re a learner driver or a novice driver where the limit is 20 [20mg of alcohol per 100ml of blood], not only of being caught but also of being in an accident and causing injury or killing somebody,” Prof Cusack said .

“How much you drink, how quickly you drink it, whether you mix beer and spirits, whether you’ve had a meal, your weight, your obesity, fat cells, also whether you’ve taken food with it, and, indeed, how used you are to taking alcohol, all of these go together.

“We get rid of approximately half a pint or a glass of wine every hour. So if you take two pints it’s going to take four hours to get rid of that from your system,” he said.

“The advice really is, the bottom line is, don’t drink and drive,” Prof Cusack said.

More than 1,000 people are expected to be arrested for driving under the influence over the next six weeks, Mr Sheahan said.

He said 150 new gardaí had been assigned to regional road policing units in 2018 and 85 more would be deployed to the Dublin metropolitan region to operate mandatory intoxicant checks over the holiday period.

A further 117 gardaí will be assigned to the urban centres of Cork, Galway, Limerick, Waterford and Drogheda.

In addition the force had secured 20 new, high-visibility vehicles which will be used in mandatory intoxicant checks.

Adverse weather

Gardaí will target roads around rural towns and villages, and will have early-evening, night and “morning-after” checkpoints as well as checkpoints on Christmas Day. He said last Christmas Day the force had made nine arrests for drink driving.

Mr Sheahan said since last April the number of arrests for drink driving had risen alarmingly.

While they had been falling from about 610 in January to 560 in March, they had risen steadily since April.

In the year to date, 6,890 drivers were arrested for driving under the influence. This included 6,483 alcohol detections and 407 drug detections.

Mr Sheahan said the rise in arrests since April was partly attributable to adverse weather conditions keeping people off the roads in March and then to the very warm summer which encouraged people to be out.

Other factors included greater Garda enforcement and more vehicles on the road because of the economic upturn.

Some 970 arrests were made for intoxicated driving during the last Christmas and new year campaign and the figure is expected to increase again this year.

Mr Sheahan said his message for those who wished “to gamble with their own lives and the lives of others” this Christmas was that “you will be caught” and that “you will be walking for a considerable period of time”.

I would encourage all forum members to buy an at home breathalyzer on amazon or similar e-commerce sites. It’s a good ten to twelve hours to be ok to drive after a decent session.

Especially if doing an 80s retros Christmas and chancing the backroads home.

Or maybe go out and not drink? How fucking hard is that?

Very fucking hard!!

It’s not though.