Drink Driving

A heartwarming tale to kick off the long Weekend:clap::pint:

[quote=“THE LINK WALSH”]I detest cops as a rule,the main reason for this is that the horrible cunts around here(and probably most other places) are only out for the handy hit,they’d do a poor fucker mooching home from the pub in a heartbeat and put huge effort into trying to corner fellas but you wouldnt see one of the horrible bastards for dust if a shower of tinkers were robbing a building site or emptying your diesel tank at home.

Heres an example of this,remember the Bank in Graiguenamanagh(around 5 miles from me) being smashed up there a few Months ago by this ATM gang,they levelled the whole front of the building to get the ATM containing around 100k out.The crowd that did it stole a JCB digger which had a puncture from a building site half a mile away from the Bank,they drove it on the rim causing an awful racket down through the town passing about 100 houses at 5am in the morning.

From the time they started knocking the building to the time they left in two vehicles with the ATM on a trailer 23 minutes elapsed,a fella from Graig even recorded the whole event on his mobile phone,the delay in getting away occured because the fella driving the digger couldnt get the ATM into the front bucket and made several failed attempts to load it onto the trailer before he succeeded,a row broke out between the digger operator and another masked raider during the raid which resulted in the fella on the ground throwing an iron bar through the side window of the digger at the fella inside,the commotion woke dozens of people,people phoned Thomastown Garda station(its 12-13 minutes away maximum) before the demolition work even began and would you believe it the cops didnt manage to arrive until around 10 minutes after the boys had made it away,you can be sure of it the cops pulled in somewhere along the way to let them off,they would have made it in 23minutes on bikes the cute cunts.Oh yes when it comes to the constant surveillance of quiet Country places with a view to hounding decent poor oul divils the cops around here are great fellas but they steer well clear of real criminals the cunts.[/quote]

Whats your point? You still drive home drunk. Garda or no garda, you’re still driving a vehicle and putting other peoples lives at risk. Have a pop at the cops and be cool but you’re still an arsehole for thinking its ok to drive home after a few pints. You’re fooling no-one link.

If people didn’t drink and drive the Garda would have no excuse for not catching the real criminals.

I agree with the lads. It’s not big and it’s not clever link

Mattie McGrath coming in for a bit of criticism now and I have to say it’s richly deserved. Heard most of his interview on Newstalk yesterday - what a complete idiot.

Basically said that a drink helps some people to drive if they’re nervous types and then said that there should be different laws in rural and urban areas. Is this fucking clown for real? Everyone who voted for him should be asked to rescind their vote and anyone who fails to do so should be shot. What an embarrassing moron for a TD.

Lad beside me in the pub on Saturday night from just outside of the area asked the bar man what ‘the guards were like around here’. The barman replied that he hadn’t heard of anyone been done in a while. Yer man then asked for another pint, bringing his total to 5 and then he drove home.

Thought of this thread in that instance.

Jaysus thats some statement to come out with, what a fool.

I drove back up from the country yesterday. Left it til 4 or so to get into the car, after the weekend of sauce I had it was a tough drive. I was most likely under the limit at that stage, but jaysus I wasn’t in the whole of my health. Reached my destination safe and sound thank God.

Well, how many check points did ye come across the weekend?

I was on the road a bit over the weekend and saw one speed trap, funnily enough at the spot of the incident Rintintin mentioned above, but that was it.

Funny you should say that runt, I drove from Dublin to the arse end of Kerry and saw ne’er the one checkpoint or speed trap.

There was a checkpoint outside of Newtownforbes in Longford but they were waving everyone on heading towards Dublin.

You’d have thought Dublin to Kerry would have been one of the main routes they would have hit.

Maybe I just hit it at the right times, found it a bit odd meself.

I’ve never seen a speed trap on the way down from Dublin to Limerick.

Ever? Used to come down that way most Friday evenings and up on Sundays and you would come across them alright, dual carriage way beyond the Curragh, Pike Of Rushall, outside Roscrea and Birdhill village were regular enough spots for them.

They’re getting fierce fond of the off ramps around Portlaoise there too, either side going either way.

[quote=“Rocko”]Mattie McGrath coming in for a bit of criticism now and I have to say it’s richly deserved. Heard most of his interview on Newstalk yesterday - what a complete idiot.

Basically said that a drink helps some people to drive if they’re nervous types and then said that there should be different laws in rural and urban areas. Is this fucking clown for real? Everyone who voted for him should be asked to rescind their vote and anyone who fails to do so should be shot. What an embarrassing moron for a TD.[/quote]

the old boys looking to simply do what they have done for a lifetime, having a quite pint and a small one on the way home from the mart, are being done no favours by this ape.

there was 2 young coppers hiding behind those big signs between the spawell and templeogue on friday evening.
a 50 or 60km zone where you are usually sitting in a queue for the lights at that hour.

[quote=“HBV*”]there was 2 young coppers hiding behind those big signs between the spawell and templeogue on friday evening.
a 50 or 60km zone where you are usually sitting in a queue for the lights at that hour.[/quote]

They fucking are all over that stretch like a fat kid on candy. That really shows the coppers up for what they are - looking for the easy pull.

They would always be under that bridge just before you come through Finglas after coming off the M50, the speed limit goes from something like 100km to 50km in a very short stretch. We’d often becoming onto that section and slow right down so as not to be caught only for some tool unfamiliar with the area to get inmpatient and tear past us, right into the clutches of the waiting gardai.

theres a nice 6 or 8 inch gap at a lovely height between the signs, its like a shooting range for the cunts.