Drink Driving

Might drive it a couple of times every 2-3 months or so. Not a regular user. But since the road was done up, I haven’t seen them at the Pike for example.

I don’t do the road regularly anymore, only a couple of times a year when I get up to Dublin for a match or on December 8th.

Spent the Weekend in Kinsale mesef and didnt see any checkpoints early Saturday morning on the way down or Yesterday afternoon on the way home,didnt do any drink driving either btw,id only ever slip home from the Village and i wouldnt do it if i had any more than 5 or 6 pints in me,doing it a lot less frequently now anyway,they have the place virtually surrounded the cunts.

Kinsale is a grand place,i was never in it before.

Over 500 held for drink driving

More than 500 people were arrested for suspected drink driving offences over the bank holiday weekend, according to garda.

Chief Superintendent Gabriel McIntyre said almost 2,000 checkpoints were used over the weekend and that a number of people were also arrested for suspected dangerous driving offences.

While five people had been killed over the Bank Holiday two more than the same period last year he said the overall number killed so far this year was 42 less than in 2008.

Supt McIntyre appealed to motorists to drive defensively and to pay attention to vulnerable road users such as pedestrians and cyclists, particularly as during the dark, winter evenings. He noted that two pedestrians were among those killed over the weekend.

There was a big checkpoint in Fairview on Friday evening, random breath testing.
Road covered in fucking cones, four cars pulled in at a time to be bagged.
This was at the tail-end of rush hour though, causing long delays, and anyone would have known there was a checkpoint up ahead and toddled off down towards Richmond Road direction.
Was still a pretty impressive sight to see, travelled down home Sunday and didn’t see a guard until I returned to Dublin last night.

[quote=“The Runt”] While five people had been killed over the Bank Holiday two more than the same period last year he said the overall number killed so far this year was 42 less than in 2008.

This is a statistical blip and shouldn’t be used like that.

What is? The number of road deaths? If so I’m not sure that it is a blip, I belive they have consistently been falling the past few years. I could be wrong though.

[quote=“THE LINK WALSH”]Spent the Weekend in Kinsale mesef and didnt see any checkpoints early Saturday morning on the way down or Yesterday afternoon on the way home,didnt do any drink driving either btw,id only ever slip home from the Village and i wouldnt do it if i had any more than 5 or 6 pints in me,doing it a lot less frequently now anyway,they have the place virtually surrounded the cunts.

Kinsale is a grand place,i was never in it before.[/quote]

Posh cunt, what had you down there. There does be a lot worse than drink driving going on in Kinsale during the summer.

Gas.

I was actually breathalysed yesterday on the way to football in Harolds Cross.

The cars in front of me were waved ahead, I was waved into one side. The cop asked me to blow into the bag which I did, but nothing was happening. He hadn’t turned it on!

Zero rating, he bid me good night and I was on my way.

[quote=“The Runt”]Over 500 held for drink driving

More than 500 people were arrested for suspected drink driving offences over the bank holiday weekend, according to garda.[/quote]
:clap::clap::clap:

Sterling work from the Garda, it’s a pity that probably none of these cunts will see the inside of a prison cell.

Ye’d like the cover story on the front of todays Limerick leader. If it’s on the website later I’ll post it up, but basically a fella got off with drink driving because he successfully claimed that his vechicle could not be considered a use able automotive machine when the Gardai arrived at the scene to arrest him (he blew twice the legal limit). He was after flipping his car into a ditch and himself and his passenger had to be pulled out through a side window. The car was completely wrote off so he successfully argued that the car was not in a driveable state when the gardai arrested him and the charges were dropped.

My brother had to give evidence in court once about some dodgy cheque that he received and said that the court was full of court cases on drink driving. Nearly all of them got off on some technicality like that mentioned above.

Crazy stuff.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]My brother had to give evidence in court once about some dodgy cheque that he received and said that the court was full of court cases on drink driving. Nearly all of them got off on some technicality like that mentioned above.

Crazy stuff.[/quote]

Ya, that is the general jist of the article, the amount of appeals and technicalities people get off on in relation to drink driving. It said that over 50% of the appeals to Limerick Circuit court were in relation to drink driving.

I like drinking
I like driving
Whos a baby dear on the lawn?

:clap:,tremendous stuff out of all concerned in pulling that one off,here in Kilkenny theres a couple of solicitors who are well known as the ones to enlist if yer going to plead not guilty and pull the technical stunt,i know fellas who’ve succesfully argued that the cop put the wrong townsland on the chargesheet as place of arrest and others who’ve got out of it by being arrested at 11.45pm and the cop putting the day after on the chargesheet by mistake.

Theres always hope when you have thick cunts of cops involved in the process,one of my favourite cops in our area worked with a relative of mine as a student nurse Years ago but failed his exams 3 times and got fucked out only to return to the area as a cop a couple of Years later.hed do his own mother the bastard,i reminded him of his past life in nursing in front of a couple of other cops one night when he was giving me shit for no reason inside in Thomastown,didnt go down to well i can tell ya:thumbsup:

theres a very detailed book on the matter by marcus deblacam. the problem witht the legislation is that its very technical and the gardai simply arent

So what you’re saying is that we need Judge Dredd?

[quote=“THE LINK WALSH”]:clap:,tremendous stuff out of all concerned in pulling that one off,here in Kilkenny theres a couple of solicitors who are well known as the ones to enlist if yer going to plead not guilty and pull the technical stunt,i know fellas who’ve succesfully argued that the cop put the wrong townsland on the chargesheet as place of arrest and others who’ve got out of it by being arrested at 11.45pm and the cop putting the day after on the chargesheet by mistake.

Theres always hope when you have thick cunts of cops involved in the process,one of my favourite cops in our area worked with a relative of mine as a student nurse Years ago but failed his exams 3 times and got fucked out only to return to the area as a cop a couple of Years later.hed do his own mother the bastard,i reminded him of his past life in nursing in front of a couple of other cops one night when he was giving me shit for no reason inside in Thomastown,didnt go down to well i can tell ya:thumbsup:[/quote]

How can you applaud someone for getting off who is so fucked with drink that they turn a car over?

[quote=“THE LINK WALSH”]:clap:,tremendous stuff out of all concerned in pulling that one off,here in Kilkenny theres a couple of solicitors who are well known as the ones to enlist if yer going to plead not guilty and pull the technical stunt,i know fellas who’ve succesfully argued that the cop put the wrong townsland on the chargesheet as place of arrest and others who’ve got out of it by being arrested at 11.45pm and the cop putting the day after on the chargesheet by mistake.

Theres always hope when you have thick cunts of cops involved in the process,one of my favourite cops in our area worked with a relative of mine as a student nurse Years ago but failed his exams 3 times and got fucked out only to return to the area as a cop a couple of Years later.hed do his own mother the bastard,i reminded him of his past life in nursing in front of a couple of other cops one night when he was giving me shit for no reason inside in Thomastown,didnt go down to well i can tell ya:thumbsup:[/quote]

I know a lad who got off intention to drink drive because he was too drunk to sign the form which says I intended to drink drive. So they showed he hadn’t intended to drive that night and that he was absolutely wasted. A novel defense I thought.

I know a fella who got done for drink driving while on a boozy weekend away. They had no accomodation so was sleeping in the car. During the night one of the other lads in the car put the key in the ignition to put the heater. A while later there was a knock on the window of the car from a gardai, saw the keys in the ignition and bagged him. The case is still waiting to be processed. A bit ridiculous don’t you think?