I think I understand your question
Yes Mattie Kenny was a selector with Galway under Cunningham
I think I understand your question
Yes Mattie Kenny was a selector with Galway under Cunningham
If this is true I hope Gilroy gets the job
definitely, mattie has the proven ability to turn a team of manufactured hurlers with a few wristy county blow ins into winners, a loud mouth like gilroy who thinks he knows everything is precisely what the rest of leinster and connacht want to see in place to keep dublin, despite their financial doping, down in the doldrums
Glad to see you back pal. Congratulations on the all Ireland win. Thoroughly deserved and I hope you got full value out of it.
“All” Ireland win
I didn’t really, but I’m confident there’s one more in them, I’ll be there for that one. Kenny is a fanatical galway hurling man by the way, used to be going to the county board with in depth plans for training squads (cc kev) centres of excellence etc only for the lack of money and vision holding him back, I gather he was lining himself up for the job but its donoghues for a few years now, if he puts his heart into dublin he could bring htem way on. That’s why my votes for Gilroy.
I would think there is one more in that Galway team at the very least.
To be honest I’d be happy enough with either Kenny or Gilroy. The appointment is turning into such a clusterfuck I’d be concerned about the new manager having to deal with the aftermath.
What hurling coaching has gilroy done? would he not be more of a general manager? its coaching dublin need, their fitness, physicality and commitment (disregarding the ger cunningham fiasco) are ok
Not a lot to be honest. Gilroy would certainly be more of a general but I would trust him to be smart enough to surround himself with the right people. I appreciate it would be a risky appointment but he has made a success of almost everything he has done in his life
Apart from his playing career with the Dublin football team.
He was a limited footballer alright. He has an all Ireland medal all the same
What does Gilroy do as a career?
Set up a high-end facilities management company called FP2. Grew it rapidly then sold it for a big chunk to French giant Dalkia. He was then running the Dalkia operation (several hundred employees) about the time he was managing Dublin. I believe he’s now involved with a mid-size mechanical contracting group.
Yes . A number of directorships as well .
That’s what he did with the footballers. Mickey Whelan did the coaching from what I remember.
He won a club Ireland with Vincent’s when he was fairly old. Full forward and 3 stone over weight. He was also sponsoring the team at the time…
I was actually at that. He. effective enough
Me too, 2007 I’d say ?
You could be right. I went to a few years in a row that time. A young Connolly was the main man. Was that the year Whelehan got the line for giving a lad a dunt in the balls?
The Dubs lads here thinking Kenny is a suitable alternative to Gilroy are nuts, and sorry ye may call me a condecending prick but it shows a lack of knowledge on 1. What IC management is about abd 2. What dublin really need.
They do not need a guy right now who is open for instance to being accused of being cuala centric. Or just recreating a Dublin version of Cuala.
Gilroy is incredibly qualified for this.