Dublin GAA Thread

We played Joey’s one day and this fella came over and started togging off with us.

Anyway after a few minutes of confused looks between us someone asked him who he was.

Turns out he was supposed to be togging for Joey’s but sure he’d never met any of them before either. He apologised and off he went to the other team. Cork lad. Pure ringer. Ran riot.

Played them in league and championship one year. The league game was midweek and they hockeyed us. Got talking to one of their lads, turned out he was a young lad from a neighbouring club at home. Pure ringer, told me their whole team were country lads playing.

Anyways we played them on a Sunday a couple of months later in championship and we returned the hammering. They had auld lads standing in with jeans playing. All their country lads were playing at home.

Ah now we have found our level at Div 9 Dublin north, the away games are grand.

There was nothing worse than a midweek game vs Cuala. Traversing the M50 for hours to be hammered by a load of lads called Fiachra speaking as gaelige.

I wouldnt have had them down for that kind of carry on

There seconds play Junior A, bit less of it at that level

the biggest ringer act of all time actually happened in North Kerry one evening in the very early 1970s

Ballinclogher the town land of Eamonn Fitzmaurice and Paul Galvin broke away Lixnaw hurling club for a year or two and had their own team, were known as the “holy terrors” and the name was merited. Eamonn and Paul father and uncles were playing back then. anyways they played Kilmoyley in a North Kerry intermediate final one early summer evening. Some Ballinclogher lad was friendly with Frank Cummins the all time great Kilkenny midfielder and they played Frank@ midfield!!

Kilmoyley won despite that act

Portobello ringered the living fuck out of it that year in hurling

Now everyone knew you d find gaps in paperwork if you went looking in football but sure look everyone knew the story that twas only a few lads playing a bit of junior ball in Dublin and no one gave a fiddlers and they were competitive in their leagues without hammering anyone

then they started up a hurling team out of nowhere and absolutely hockeyed everyone , it was a step too far and as you say a light was shone on them

I remembering playing another club one year in a championship semi final, a club that were not too long with a hurling team. It was strongly rumoured that they had a house or two of Tipp lads living in Dublin who were also still pucking at home with a particular club. We were hammered anyways , I gathered up me sliotars after our warm up, and maybe one or two strays from the opposition and put them into our bucket. Here they stayed till the 1st training session of the following year. I went to me bucket, and was organising me bits and pieces. I spotted something in one of the sliotars that didnt look right and there it is was the name of said club in Tipp wrote in black marker on the sliotar!!

Christ you gga folk are insufferable with your twee anecdotes

What are u doing in a gaa thread so u grumpy aul cunt?

To highlight the lack of diversity

https://twitter.com/DubGAAOfficial/status/1912242432067989718?t=5pmLpSbf3IXi4fidSER-Cw&s=19

No Brian Ryan.

15 of the 35 evenly split between Crokes and Na Fianna.

Its a big, big game Saturday for Dublin Hurling.

Hard to know what team will start on Saturday. A decent panel there and I’d imagine there will be a lot of marginal calls.

They were unlucky in the league with two stupid red cards ultimately costing them.

I heard Brian Ryan was called up alright but turned it down with work commitments. Personally I wouldn’t have him as a starter.

They did well against Clare recently on the BOICMC and you’d imagine they’ve been able to knuckle down since the League while Offaly have had a lot going on.

Offaly will smell an upset so they’ll need to kill them off early or it turns into a sticky one.

A Kerry man in the squad who’s not a teacher. Interesting.

He’s more Dublin than Kerry. Fairly sure he done all his secondary education in Dublin. 3rd year on the panel I’d wager. Great fella.

A Labourer and playing away senior intercounty hurling, albeit only on the panel is a great achievement in 2025.

Parnell park is such a tight pitch. The smaller Offaly lads might struggle there. 6 is an issue for Dublin. Crummy has played there the whole league. Not convinced by him, much better on the wing. Paddy Doyle missed a lot of the league with injury and never got a run there.

Lucey full back might struggle with Big Brian Duignan.

He’ll 100% see championship minutes over the coming weeks.

A unique fella alright, very much his own man.

Lucey for all his attributes struggles in the air. He was on Ravenhill and Mitchell in the league game. Paddy Smyth picked up Duignan that day. He had him well bet and then Duignan hit 4 points in the final quarter after doing naught before that.

This is the game from Leinster that should have been televised/GAA MINUS ahead of the zombie zone Kilkenny v Galway encounter.