Sinnott’s on King Street, just off Grafton St. Has it been entered here yet? One of the best places i’ve ever been. Staff couldn’t be more helpful, had the Munster club final on the telly along with every other sport. Food absolutely top notch.
I am a big fan of the Sinnotts carvery due to it being nice and the excellent service of staff.
I wouldn’t go drinking there though.
I’m off the beer over a year. Went in there before the Bad Manners gig there on Sunday. Definitely not a “drinking pub” but an out and out sports bar.
I got the Crispy wings and steak sandwich and they were absolutely beautiful. Pricey enough, but it seemed every other pub around the place were more catering to Americans. Stew, Guinness Pie, chowder, all that paddywhackwry shite.
Sinnotts was peak roaster carvery feed in the early 00s but pretty shite for a night out.
Was in there the night of the Lions game during the summer, meeting a couple of colleagues over from the mainland. The kind of pub you’d be working through the IPA/lager options on tap. Served its purpose well that night in fairness.
Ok - I’ll bite
“The mainland”?
![]()
Steady on now
I’ll be judged by you? Haha.
Surely he wasn’t served.
Was he?
There was a one on Newstalk this morning defending Stephens Green as iconic 80s/90s architecture and worried we were going to lose some architecture history if we keep knocking them down.
Coleman then said he actually thinks Phibsboro shopping centre is a very beautiful building.
It’s happening!!!
This is beautiful
The grimmest place this side of Athy.
The telecommunications masts on the roof are the making of it.
Question for the dubs… how do you pronounce this pub?
I always assumed Bree-oh-dees
Never went in the gaff - too full of off duty bus drivers and drunken wannabe “journalists” ![]()
Always a few lads from A Post supping there too. You’re missing out
Coleman is an awful drink of water
The ode to Phibsborough Shopping Centre has already been done on this year’s All-Ireland Hurling Final edition of Sunday Miscellany.
A lot of people do indeed like the Stephen’s Green Shopping Centre. Me included.
I think it’s super smashing great and beautiful is indeed ICONIC.
The brutalist tower above Phibsborough Shopping Centre is ICONIC alright but I don’t think anybody in their right mind would claim it’s beautiful.
But it’s dramatic.
One of the under explored psychological themes of brutalism is how it was the visual backdrop to so much great British music and popular culture from Joy Division to New Order to The Specials to synth music right up to Oasis and The Verve, to the film Get Carter and A Clockwork Orange to Only Fools And Horses and countless other screen productions.
When you listen to Joy Division you’re mentally looking at Hulme Crescents in your mind. You’re looking at brutalism.
A basilica amongst cathedrals.