Dublin V Cork All Ireland Hurling SmeiFinal

Re Dublin keeper- agreed , highly over rated.

The Cork full backs ate the dub full forward line without salt. Superb displays by Keaney, Sutcliffe and O’Dwyer might have been enough to drag them through had O’Dwyer not got himself stupidly sent off.
Nash is as good a keeper as you will see. You just expect him to stop everything at this stage

[quote=“corner back, post: 815793, member: 1572”]The Cork full backs ate the dub full forward line without salt. Superb displays by Keaney, Sutcliffe and O’Dwyer might have been enough to drag them through had O’Dwyer not got himself stupidly sent off.
Nash is as good a keeper as you will see. You just expect him to stop everything at this stage[/quote]
Paul Ryan really is not up to it when the chips are down.

N

[quote=“Bandage, post: 815573, member: 9”]Ryan O’Dwyer didn’t do that against Wexford. It was a different player. Silly for him to go in for another frontal charge when already on a yellow card, even though the first incident wasn’t too forceful and a free without a card would have sufficed. But, as I said, once he was already booked, he didn’t need to go in for a similar type challenge. The second one was more aggressive and it almost seemed like he realised it just as he was doing it but it was too late.

Great game. Not a fan of Dublin hurling but feel fairly sorry for them there. Well done Cork though.[/quote]
I’m not entirely sure I agree to be honest. A frontal charge is a yellow and r o d knows the fucking rules. I don’t have a problem with refs giving an early card even if marginal as things can get out of hand very quickly. Don’t know why pundits are giving out about early cards, as if it should be a free for all if there is less than ten minutes gone. The ref was good bar the utter bottling of the rushe decision. I had a hundred on Dublin so I am at least neutral. That can have no complaints whatever. Its o Dwyer they should be getting vexed about.

Yes, I heard it and I thought… what a stupid old gobshite.
I mean, if that was the rule, what would stop a Manager sending on a man to “do a job” on the opposing teams best player, safe in the knowledge that having taken the red card you would still have fifteen men on the field and sent the other teams best player to A & E.

Tony Consodine=Fuckwit

[quote=“H.P Sauce, post: 815815, member: 2044”]Yes, I heard it and I thought… what a stupid old gobshite.
I mean, if that was the rule, what would stop a Manager sending on a man to “do a job” on the opposing teams best player, safe in the knowledge that having taken the red card you would still have fifteen men on the field and sent the other teams best player to A & E.

Tony Consodine=Fuckwit[/quote]
Because that would be a red. :rolleyes:

JBM was positively beaming in his post match interview with RTE

Hurling is getting sexy again because of Cork

[quote=“Bandage, post: 815731, member: 9”]Don’t necessarily agree with your point on Dublin, unless they get some of the dual players to commit. As discussed earlier this evening on the thread, it’s a fairly old and settled team and they’ve all been knocking around the panel for years with the exception of Sutcliffe and the returning Keaney. It’ll be interesting to see if Daly stays on actually.
Keaney, Dotsy, Hiney, Carton, Corcoran and Maguire are all in or around the 30 mark. Apart from Keaney and to a lesser extent Dotsy all those players are replaceable, although Dublin should hopefully get a couple of more years out of all of them at least, and 30 is not particularly old for a goalkeeper.

The real key players in Rushe, Kelly and Sutcliffe are all 24 or under.

Treacy, Boland, McCaffrey, Durkin, Ryan, Schutte etc are all 26 or under. O’Dwyer is 27.

Dublin definitely need some fresh blood next year and for some of the existing panel to step it up again, particularly in the forwards. It’ll be interesting to see how the 2011 and 2012 minor teams go at under-21 level the next two years.

Costello is the only star dual player I could possibly see being persuaded to play hurling, but even he is more likely to play football.

Barring a total calamity for Clare next week Davy will be their manager next year. What the fuck would else would Daly be at other than managing Dublin?

[quote=“H.P Sauce, post: 815815, member: 2044”]Yes, I heard it and I thought… what a stupid old gobshite.

Tony Consodine=Fuckwit[/quote]

your first good post
ive only access to these games on radio and i simply cannot listen to Considine, Im not sure if its Adrian Eames or Padraic Lodge doing commnetary and they are very good in fairness as opposed to last season when they tried Marty Morrissey on the radio,
Considine is an ignorant , thick lump of a man who is clearly exhibiting the early stages of demetia, his analysis is hopeless, shortsighted and he comes from a background of where the only hurling acceptable is blood and guts , pull on this and that and other shit and of course a game cannot be won without hunger,. Id rather have Paul Flynn or someone in there

Great to have a traditional county in the final anyway

Considine is a dope, only a shower of eejits like kilmalkock would pay him, he wouldn’t get a junior team in Clare

There’s a cracking picture of JBM and frank on the indo website. Unable to post link.

Two Cork legends:
http://cdn4.independent.ie/incoming/article29490187.ece/ALTERNATES/w620/hurling15.jpg

Sean Og O’Halpin must be seething tonight

[quote=“Bandage, post: 815841, member: 9”]Two Cork legends:
http://cdn4.independent.ie/incoming/article29490187.ece/ALTERNATES/w620/hurling15.jpg[/quote]
Fucking splendid, Frank has seen and delivered many great days to his beloved Cork GAA, this September however could trump every one of them.

Frank Murphy is some legend of the GAA

Quite possibly…

He would be still hurling for his native county but for that very fact.

Corks possession game? What planet are you on? Corks game is based on speed and direct hurling. Just because they are skillfull and accurate don’t mistake it for a “possession” type game like 03-06. It’s completely different.