I called him an ape in PM it clearly stuck with him! anyway the truth hurts
[quote=“Boxtyeater, post: 835985, member: 246”]See the “Calling Mark Renton” thread although the IM/PM section may not be available.
This lad/lass has some anger issues I feel.
Not a worry for me, but I like to keep some of you in check.
All well in the Anipodeas lads? A poor final, the best team won…[/quote]
Disgraceful scenes.
All well Boxty, the Swans got rolled on Saturday, but we expected that. Disappointed the football final wasn’t better, I was surprised when I saw the scoreline this morning, I was expecting Dublin to score at least 4 goals.
Roll on the hurling…
[quote=“Boxtyeater, post: 835974, member: 246”]He was stone fucking useless you arrogant cunt. Stone fucking useless unless you may have seen him scrambling up handy ball. Unclear of his positioning at all times and destroyed on the day.
TV3 in Ballinaora might portray him in a kinder light though…[/quote]
Nah he wasn’t. He made 3-4 dispossessions in the game, a couple if blocks and generally played well bar the very poor quick free.
It may have escaped you falling eyes but Mayo didn’t play a center back so the ball coming into Brogan et al. was very good an clean. Te 2nd goal was completely the fault if Mayo players asleep out the park an the first one was the keepers fault.
It’s not 1965 boxy, football is not man on man like it used to be. To just look at the scores really shows a complete misunderstanding of what was going on yesterday.
[quote=“The Wild Colonial Bhoy, post: 833696, member: 80”]ive heard Dublin have been doing a lot of work on “spacial awareness in the dangerzone” and cluxtons kick out strategy aims to nullify the presence of the o’sheas in midfield.
This is brilliant stuff by Gavin and shows how much thought goes into GGA games these days[/quote]
& that my friends is why Im top dog around here when it comes to the GGA
100% accurate right down to the game breaking goal
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 835990, member: 273”]Nah he wasn’t. He made 3-4 dispossessions in the game, a couple if blocks and generally played well bar the very poor quick free.
It may have escaped you falling eyes but Mayo didn’t play a center back so the ball coming into Brogan et al. was very good an clean. Te 2nd goal was completely the fault if Mayo players asleep out the park an the first one was the keepers fault.
It’s not 1965 boxy, football is not man on man like it used to be. To just look at the scores really shows a complete misunderstanding of what was going on yesterday.[/quote]
Kev hates old people…
Not cool
not cool at all
the SRFC lad did very well
he seems tougher than the rest of them and good to see a minute after winning an All Ireland he spoke mainly about SRFC
damp squib anyone ???..100%…terrible fair…i tried to tell @caoimhaoin it would be such but he labelled me dumb…:D:D
i won over 13k on a 25 euro accum on that match…delighted…great to be a dub…
[quote=“scumpot, post: 835996, member: 182”]damp squib anyone ???..100%…terrible fair…i tried to tell @caoimhaoin it would be such but he labelled me dumb…:D:D
i won over 13k on a 25 euro accum on that match…delighted…great to be a dub…[/quote]
Fair play to you scumpot, I take it you are suitably in the horrors at present, enjoy.
[quote=“scumpot, post: 835996, member: 182”]damp squib anyone ???..100%…terrible fair…i tried to tell @caoimhaoin it would be such but he labelled me dumb…:D:D
i won over 13k on a 25 euro accum on that match…delighted…great to be a dub…[/quote]
You should throw that docket up. Would be a shame for people to think you are full of shit.
You actually called it wrong.
You said
- Mayo would win by 7-8 points
- Mayo would play defensively. They didn’t, they played at best 6 backs, most of the time it was 5 though.
That’s just 2 main points, no doubt there are others I can’t be bothered searching. And to think all you were worried about was coming in here to have a crack off me after your team wins an All Ireland says it all. You are a sad bastard.
Well done though, Dublin’s win was well deserved an should be celebrated accordingly by all.
You’ll surely present that docket mate, you should be proud of it and would ordain you as kink tipper on TFK?
[quote=“Blake, post: 835959, member: 1755”]Just back home from the post-match drowning of the sorrows now. Fucking Christ. Another final where the cunts we were up against were there for the taking, yet we fucked it out the gate. First 25 minutes were grand apart from the few wides, then the shit hit the fan. The backs were grand all day, the forwards fucked up altogether though. Hennelly was class, despite being at fault for the first goal. The only Mayo players who acquited themselves to any standard were Cafferkey, Boyle, Keegan and Seamie, the rest were by and large absolute wank. CiCo was off his fucking tits taking the time he did for two tap overs in injury time. McQuillan should be strung up by his navy and blue balls. I’d like to say it gets easier, but it doesn’t, losing still stings, and much worse when you played shite and still should have won. And for those of ye wondering, Freeman was injured when he was taken off.
Anyway, I’m off to join the monks, g’luck to ye…[/quote]
How could you leave out Keith Higgins? The man was the only one of the forwards to show up, and was disgracefully shunted to the backs where he again fought manfully. Mayo’s only shining light, Hennelly aside.
[quote=“myboyblue, post: 836012, member: 180”]
How could you leave out Keith Higgins? The man was the only one of the forwards to show up, and was disgracefully shunted to the backs where he again fought manfully. Mayo’s only shining light, Hennelly aside.[/quote]
Was it really disgraceful? Obviously they missed him in the forwards but they wer the looking exposed defensively towards the end of the first half and obviously decided putting him back there was a more important fix for the team. Now not scoring a point from play for the last 45 minutes suggests their need was greater higher up the pitch but that’s hindsight and it’s unclear he’d have made them any better at shot selection etc.
To conclude: a decision that didn’t work out but one that wasn’t disgraceful.
[quote=“Rocko, post: 836015, member: 1”]Was it really disgraceful? Obviously they missed him in the forwards but they wer the looking exposed defensively towards the end of the first half and obviously decided putting him back there was a more important fix for the team. Now not scoring a point from play for the last 45 minutes suggests their need was greater higher up the pitch but that’s hindsight and it’s unclear he’d have made them any better at shot selection etc.
To conclude: a decision that didn’t work out but one that wasn’t disgraceful.[/quote]
Maybe disgraceful was the wrong word, baffling, silly, insane perhaps more worthy choices?
He’s a fantastic defender, of that there is no doubt, but he was also one of only two forwards making any inroads up front. How you could move the only member of your half forward line worth a damn to the backs to me is baffling. While they were experiencing some troubles at the back, they were still leading at the break when the change was made, its not as if the situation was fatal back there.
In the last 10 minutes, when the damage was effectively done, and he was marking an injured O Gara, he should have been released up the field to eke out the scores needed. Horan slipped up badly there imo.
[quote=“myboyblue, post: 836026, member: 180”]Maybe disgraceful was the wrong word, baffling, silly, insane perhaps more worthy choices?
He’s a fantastic defender, of that there is no doubt, but he was also one of only two forwards making any inroads up front. How you could move the only member of your half forward line worth a damn to the backs to me is baffling. While they were experiencing some troubles at the back, they were still leading at the break when the change was made, its not as if the situation was fatal back there.
In the last 10 minutes, when the damage was effectively done, and he was marking an injured O Gara, he should have been released up the field to eke out the scores needed. Horan slipped up badly there imo.[/quote]
Certainly agreed on the last paragraph.
Are punched goals far too prevailent at Inter County level ? Should they be banned?
Discuss
I have a lot of time for Horan, but he had a stinker yesterday.
A manager is judged by decision making. Hindsight doesn’t come into it, you either get it right or wrong. Now sometimes the opposition just outplay your decision/player/tactics but I think Horan made a number of pretty big errors.
The robbing Peter to pay Paul excuse wears thin. Why put Higgins up there? Why did you make that decision in the first place, you obviously felt he would do damage. What does that say to the backs in the sideline.
Gavin on the other hand just rolls the dice, and is very consistent about it. He trusts everyone. Bastick, Brennan, O Brien and O Gara all have had serious question marks over them in the past year or two. He just went with it. These lads will be fine, our strengths out weigh our weaknesses. I trust everyone. That is what he portrays as his attitude to this team. I think Horan lost that somewhere along the line just that little bit.
Gavin say YPOTY candidate McCaffery struggle, whipped him off.
Gavin let FlynN do his diversion job on Vaughan even though they may have wanted more from Flynn in the ball.
Horan looked at Kevin McLoughlin butcher 7-8 balls and left him on.
Horan watched Aidan O Se disappear (oxymoron I know) yet took off Seamus and said he was only playing in bursts. Aidan was not playing at all though.
Horan let Vaughan leave the center open for 60 mins and let Brogan have the run of about a radius of 50-60M. Crazy stuff.
It was only a point on the pitch, but in the sideline it was a knockout.
Think you are being a bit harsh on Horan there Kev. The problem mayo have and a lot if teams at the moment have is that they lack the strength in depth that Dublin have. Horan simply didn’t have the players that he could send on to change the game, where as Dublin had them in abundance.
It is something that mayo will have to work and try to build up some strength in depth through the league and Connaught championship so that when they do get to an All Ireland final and the shit hits the fan they can make the changes from the bench rather than moving there best performing forward in to the backs.
[quote=“chewy louie, post: 836034, member: 1137”]Are punched goals far too prevailent at Inter County level ? Should they be banned?
Discuss[/quote]
Think I posted something along the lines of this early in the championship. They look shit.
I couldn’t believe Joe McQuillan’s performance yesterday. Fair play to Dublin for overcoming the fact he laughably and quite incredibly awarded Mayo 20 more frees than them.
It’s still ridiculous even when you acknowledge the 3 or 4 cynical fouls committed late on out the field when they’d used all their subs and had a concussed Rory O’Carroll on the pitch and Eoghan O’Gara with a torn hamstring.
Mayo lacked the composure to pick off the scores in those last 3 or 4 minutes of normal time plus the injury time that followed. Clever move by Gavin to position Paul Flynn around the “D” for the last 10-15 minutes too.
Mayo were awarded the last free after 73:30 and O’Connor popped it over after after 74:05. What the fuck was he at?
[quote=“Bandage, post: 836061, member: 9”]
Mayo were awarded the last free after 73:30 and O’Connor popped it over after after 74:05. What the fuck was he at?[/quote]
Is he a bit of a simpleton? Surely that situation warranted a bit of a pause and think before throwing it over the bar. He must have known it was the last play.
They looked like they had given up to me.