[quote=“balloobasluvsbeer”]When Marios was “The Snack Box” years ago now that was the business.
Charcoal grill is gorgous but multiplies the hangover by about 3fold the next day.
Abrakebabras Taco Fries always nice after beer too but red rotten when sober for some reason.[/quote]
Snack Box was savage. Go in locked, get a portion of sausages, garlic/cheese fries, can of coke for now, can of coke for when you wake up sandpaper-mouthed the following morning. Rarely much trouble there too, you’d actually find a bit of banter rather than the idiots looking for fights in Supermacs.
Where you from Balloo? I’m a Knocknacarra lad myself.
Recently had a chipper on the Falls Road in Belfast and it was a rather eerie experience. I asked for a chicken burger. They asked me if I wanted bacon it so I said why not. Then when I got it and opened it all that was in it was a lump of chicken and bacon with no dressing or mayo.
I took it up with the person who brought us there and they said you have to ask for mayo and salad up there and was shocked when I said I never did that in the Free State. Cue a few random jokes about the North and Free State but at the end of the day I still had to eat that horrible burger…
similar type experience for myself over in Edinburgh a few years back, in a chipper late at night after a few beers, and asked for a cheesburger. Out comes this battered piece of shite, and when I took a bite, it was a burger with cheese on it that was battered. Nice!
strange how in other countries that they all have different outlets for after booze eating. In America, we used to go eat pizza slices for ages after, Buenos Aires there’d be these steak restaurant places open at 3 and 4 in the morning, England loves its curries, Australia has a mix of stuff, but always loads of kebab places (altho I remember Archies pizza and wedges in St Kilda were great), Germany with its meaty kebab type things. And here with its burgers and chips.
Iskanders is the value when it comes to late night eating. Eddie Rockets isn’t that bad if you aren’t a cheap fook. I especially like getting out of town and hitting the one in Terenure at 3.00 in the morning.
Iskanders is the job. Get one of the box things where you make your own kebab. There’d still be loads left for the morning then as well. Our sitting room would be in some state the next day after them.
Eddie Rockets is a fine diner. You pay for that extra bit of quality you get with it. Particularly fond of their cheese and garlic fries and their burgers are lovely though can be quite messy to eat. The food you get in eddie rockets fills you up way more so than other chain outlets like burger king. Eddie Rockets might have a reputation as being pricey but I’d much rather they kept the prices the same as a reduction in price could lead to a reduction in quality. Its a bit like our tax system. If you want quality public services you must pay for them.
Abrekebara is the finest purveyor of taco kebabs in the land. A beautifully warmed pitta, filled to handsquelchingly dangerous fullness with the finest salad, crispiest lettuce and tastiest spicy mince. It kicks the pipes off just about anything.
The next time you’re good and drunk, I urge you all to try it.
[quote=“Juhniallio”]Abrekebara is the finest purveyor of taco kebabs in the land. A beautifully warmed pitta, filled to handsquelchingly dangerous fullness with the finest salad, crispiest lettuce and tastiest spicy mince. It kicks the pipes off just about anything.
The next time you’re good and drunk, I urge you all to try it.[/quote]
Jesus, i find myself agreeing with Flano here, but ya Abra is manky. The portion sizes of the chips are tiny too and it’s dearer than a lot of other places. Much better options around.
I understand your assertion that Abra is shit boys(my mate once pulled half a plaster from his burger) but the Taco Kebab transcends all else.
She is the shining light of the late night munchies. 10 minutes of chindripping heaven. Ye are but naysayers, prophets of doom who have yet to taste the self-forbidden fruit, the kebab of Eden.
I’d go drinking tonight especially to try one if I had yet to savour it’s flavour.
I’ve never experienced the taco kebab but the taco fries are stranglely appealing when pissed. I actually recall drinking outside Kehoe’s of South Anne Street last summer with Juhniallio and others and Juhy made the bold decision to get a taco fries from the Abra across the road to eat with his pint of Guinness. It was only about 10pm though and I was astounded.
[quote=“balloobasluvsbeer”]There’s a spot in Cork, Hillbillys I think that do an unreal nice massive Chicken Breast Sandwich(think it has a special name but can’t remember what).
Ate three of them one night, lovely yokes alltogether.
Shitty chipper though anything else I’ve had in there was a grease bucket alltogether and you’d have a mouth like a babboons arse in the morning after it.[/quote]
yep hillbillys, getting a watewry mouth now thinking about it, savage gravy there too, if you turned the tub upside down it wouldnt even budge!
correct though, breast in a bun is the only option in there
I also like Zaytoon on camden st, good tucker, nice to get your kebab on a plate as well, and a proper table, adds a layer of class to the otherwise horrendously messy proceedings
Istanbul on Baggot Street used to do cracking kebabs but it mysteriously closed down about two months ago.
It was featured in ‘Brendan Bites’ in the Sindo where that prick Brendan O’Connor talks about his favourite types of food and restaurants and they’d his article laminated onto big posters and stuck on the wall in there.
Jugs and I protested about having the place adorned with pictures of O’Connor’s fat head regularly for months before ripping them down one night. We were on a warning for that and then I got barred for a few months another night.
There was a crowd of lads and lassies from Mauritius working there and they were pretty sound. I was in the queue in O’Brien’s on Baggot Street one lunchtime with my boss and one of the lads who used to work there came up to me and went, ‘Hello! Are you still being an annoying bastard at weekends?’ My boss didn’t know what it was all about.
Any of you non-Wexicans ever check out our rissoles? Breadcrumb ones in The Premier on South Main Street are class.
I like Roma II on Wexford St alright, Empty Pockets fcuk them… robbing bastards. Last time I was in there the bill for two burgers two shakes and ONE chips between us came to 32 quid. Fuck off.
I sat down in the one in Rathmines one night after a Limerick defeat in Croker, I sat down at 11.50, there was a sign on the wall saying “All orders placed after 12 incur a 10% charge”, anyway went to pay up and they tried to bill me for the 10%. Well if I didn’t cry blue murder… such a scene I made. They yielded in the end.
[quote=“SHANNONSIDER**”]I like Roma II on Wexford St alright, Empty Pockets fcuk them… robbing bastards. Last time I was in there the bill for two burgers two shakes and ONE chips between us came to 32 quid. Fuck off.
I sat down in the one in Rathmines one night after a Limerick defeat in Croker, I sat down at 11.50, there was a sign on the wall saying “All orders placed after 12 incur a 10% charge”, anyway went to pay up and they tried to bill me for the 10%. Well if I didn’t cry blue murder… such a scene I made. They yielded in the end.[/quote]
If bringing her to Eddies wasn’t tight enough …
You made her share the chips!
Jasus Balooba you didnt give me much to go on…was it in or close to the city centre or out in suburbia somewhere? Quality chippers that may fit the bill include Matty Kielys or Bartys in Ballypheahane or Hoggys near Nth main st?
Best chippers in Cor gan dabt are KC’s in Douglas, un fooookanbelieveable stuff…real unusual stuff youe see no where else like pig in a box which is chips with sausages chopped up and caermalised onions in on top of it and some cheese and fancy sauce…messy but worth it. Also you can get a chicken creole, a pitta bread with creole chicken , special KC mayo and chips and lettuce all in the pitta…savage.
Frances in the Golden Fry (Ballintemple) has never let me down either and for pure chipper quality and consistency she gets the vote. One of the few chippers I would grace stone cold sober.