[quote=“dancarter”]Jasus Balooba you didnt give me much to go on…was it in or close to the city centre or out in suburbia somewhere? Quality chippers that may fit the bill include Matty Kielys or Bartys in Ballypheahane or Hoggys near Nth main st?
Best chippers in Cor gan dabt are KC’s in Douglas, un fooookanbelieveable stuff…real unusual stuff youe see no where else like pig in a box which is chips with sausages chopped up and caermalised onions in on top of it and some cheese and fancy sauce…messy but worth it. Also you can get a chicken creole, a pitta bread with creole chicken , special KC mayo and chips and lettuce all in the pitta…savage.
Frances in the Golden Fry (Ballintemple) has never let me down either and for pure chipper quality and consistency she gets the vote. One of the few chippers I would grace stone cold sober.[/quote]
Dan whats the old style chipper on Barrack st ?? real old school with mushy pea’s and pie’s etc…Lennox’s???
also in a chipper in Edinburgh a few years ago. I ordered a chicken burger and yer wan just pulled out a big lump of batter and dropped it on the counter. “what the fuck is that?” i said. “yer chicken burger” she replied. I turned around to the lads to see if they also thought this a little strange and one of them said go ahead its grand but you have to order all the “extras” separately. I had to toss it back to her and ask her to wrap a bun around it. She seemed to think it odd that we ate our burgers in a bun. Fooking scottish freaks. Then when i was half way through the burger i made the mistake of looking at the “meat” inside it. The substance that i was told was chicken (and in fairness it did taste a little bit like chicken) was green. Now i’ve seen uncooked chicken that’s a bit pink and i know that’s dodgy but i’d never seen fooking green chicken before. God only knows how it became that colour. Still finished it though and there’s been no serious side effect yet…apart from the sixth toe on my right foot.
One of my local Borzas does battered chocolate bars these days but no-one I know has had the front to actually order one.
I like Charlie’s usually when I’m pissed. If I’m getting a nitelink the one on Westmoreland St does nicely. If I’m getting a taxi from Wexford St I’d often drop into Burger Max, surprised that spot hasn’t got a mention yet, it’s solid enough scran.
I’m slightly amused about the hammering Eddie Rockets is taking, especially some of it from Abrakebabra fans. There really isn’t a whole lot of difference, price-wise, between the two, depending on what you are ordering I suppose.
I am currently in the process of tracking the area down through my mate who lived in the area, just waiting for him to get back to me later on it.
This was top quality in my opinion and I’m normally a good judge on a decent chipper unless of course I just got a lucky batch that night.
I loved the way it was all wrapped up old style in paper rather than a plastic carton yoke.
I’ll post the area later Dan when I find out, I wouldn’t know Cork well enough to say myself.
[quote=“balloobasluvsbeer”]I am currently in the process of tracking the area down through my mate who lived in the area, just waiting for him to get back to me later on it.
This was top quality in my opinion and I’m normally a good judge on a decent chipper unless of course I just got a lucky batch that night.
I loved the way it was all wrapped up old style in paper rather than a plastic carton yoke.
I’ll post the area later Dan when I find out, I wouldn’t know Cork well enough to say myself.[/quote]
could have been lennoxs so, i assumed anyone who would have been there would have known the place, its clean and shiny though and area is surrounded by pubs so doesnt really fit the bill
[quote=“dancarter, post: 129139”]
I was in Mexico recently and they had a Johnny Rockets, identical to Eddies in every single way except the name.
[/quote]Johnny Rockets are all over the States as well. Can’t say I noticed them before this year
[quote=“TwoRunnyEggs, post: 129138”]
Dig out the old student cards, eddie rockets doing a student deal. Two classics, two fries and two drinks for a tenner.
[/quote]I hate students
You’d hate me, Fagan. A working man with a student card valid till the end of the year. I’ve a right mind to go to Eddie’s now, it’s only about 200 yards away.
Here, do both diners have to be students for that deal?
Ive the expiry date rubbed out on mine, its years old and it works everywhere still. Not sure about both diners, they probably have some sort of terms such as what time you can avail of the offer and the like.
I would like to take this opportunity to distance myself from my previous comments made on the first page of this thread with regards Eddie Rockets.
I admit I was wrong and am somewhat disappointed that it took me so long to appreciate the true worth of Eddie Rockets and what a majestic dining experience it really is