Eircom League kick-off, are you ready?

Interesting round of fixtures to get things underway. With apologies to Bandage, I couldn’t find a Division 1 preview :wink:

http://www.bohemians.ie/index.php/features/seamus.htm

Are you ready?
Article Index
Are you ready?
Page 2
Page 3
Page 4
Page 1 of 4

Suddenly, with a new season upon us, the stakes have risen in Irish football. Our betting pundit and all-round soccer sage Samus casts a cold eye over the coming year’s contest, and gets the opinions of his tipster buddies. You won’t find a more authoritative assessment of prospects for 2008 anywhere else…

As the 2007 season came to a close, with Drogheda United as league champions and Cork City as FAI Cup champions, the benefits of a large, full-time squad were obvious – especially for clubs involved in European action. Now the 2008 season beckons, and more clubs are taking the gamble that a full-time setup from top to bottom is sustainable.

The race for the league title promises to be the most closely fought in years.

Along with ourselves, at least three other teams can claim genuine expectations of being in the mix come November. And even at that, we are ignoring the claims of Derry City, where Stephen Kenny will no doubt go about his business with the kind of quiet, hardworking professionalism that was there for all to see in the 2006 season.

They say you should never go back though, and the Candystripes don’t quite look to be playing in the same ballpark as these big boys…

THE ELITE…

Despite the rivalry, there’s no doubt that Drogheda have earned genuine respect for what they’ve achieved. An FAI Cup, followed by a Setanta Cup and a league title makes them stand out as the best team on the island over the past couple of years, and it’s impossible to make any calculations as to what the league table might look like in November without including them in your thoughts.

Their 3-2 win against Cliftonville in the Setanta opener served notice that Doolin’s team have lost none of their ability to win tight football matches.

Perhaps the scoreline itself signals a willingness to take more chances in a footballing sense. A midfield including Ollie Cahill and Richie Baker, despite being packed with experience, might hint that some of this team might be past their best. But with Paul Keegan running tirelessly and battering the opposition into submission before calling on the likes of Shane Robinson to create a match-winning move, there is no doubt that the ability is still there for this team to stay the course over the season.

Player of the year Brian Shelley and centre-back Graham Gartland, together with new recruit Shaun Maher, will ensure that 1-0 will quite often be the only result that will beat this team. Ex-Bohs striker Tony Grant may have cornered a starting place, while the sharpshooting of Guy Bates towards the business end of last season marks him out as a menace to all. A fit Declan O’Brien and a confident Eamon Zayed complete something of an embarrassment of attacking riches.

Article Index
Are you ready?
Page 2
Page 3
Page 4
Page 2 of 4

Things are changing in that strange area of the island known as Cork. Damien Richardson is no doubt in possession of a fine footballing brain, but he was clearly at odds with the club’s owners, a vehicle called the Arkaga Fund.

In has come Alan Matthews, and he arrives with a keen appreciation of what this squad has in its locker.

As Longford manager, he masterminded Cork’s elimination from the FAI Cup in 2006, but was
unable to repeat the feat in last year’s final. That day belonged to City, and like so many other games, it had the quiet, undeniable strength and class of Joe Gamble stamped all over it.

If Gamble signs a new deal taking him beyond this December, it will probably be the best signing of the year by any team, and Matthews has also stocked up on talent in other areas. Last season’s top scorer, Dave Mooney, has arrived from Longford, and he should be capable of scoring even more this season with the arrival of the enigmatic George O’Callaghan from Ipswich.

O’Callaghan, as well as being in the business of assists, will weigh in with goals of his own, as his Setanta Cup brace at Dungannon confirms.

Danny Murphy returns from Scotland as a member of the top bracket of full-backs in the league, while Mulcahy and Sullivan are two more solid signings. Add to these the likes of Behan, Kearney, and O’Flynn, and what you have is, when all are fit, a squad simply bursting with talent.

If Matthews can organize and harness this talent, we are probably looking at the 2008 league champions. Quite simply, nobody will be able to live with them when fit and on their game both physically and mentally.

Despite all the obvious attacking talent, the player to watch is Gamble. He might not be playing in this league for much longer, but, while he is, his ambitions go well beyond FAI Cup final wins against Longford.

And what of the Dublin challenge? Here in Dublin 7, we now have a squad that should be capable of challenging for the title. No, is capable of challenging for the title.

Despite our fine defensive record last season, we relied upon the heroics of our goalkeeper at times. So we have strengthened in the shape of seasoned centre-back Ken Oman. We struggled to kill tight games by scoring important match-winning goals, so in comes one of the league’s all-time top goalscorers, Jason Byrne.

The pressure to create that may have been weighing on JP Kelly’s shoulders will surely be eased by the arrival of the lively Killian Brennan from Derry City. Either way, Pat Fenlon will know he has had a satisfactory season if he wins the double, collects nine points off Rovers, qualifies for the UEFA Cup via the Intertoto Cup. And if he manages world peace we’ll call it a “successful season”.

Seriously, Pat and all the players have our support, and we all hope that the new-look Bohemians team can click from the beginning.

If it doesn’t, our nearest Dublin challengers will be in the familiar shape of Johnny McDonnell’s St Pat’s Athletic. Professionalism is the buzzword there, although Brian Kerr is at pains to convince all that the money being spent is realistic.

Either way, useful signings such as Gary Dempsey and Joe O’Cearruill will, as at so many other clubs, bring expectations of a serious title tilt, and few can argue that it’s beyond them.

Pat Fenlon will know he has had a satisfactory season if he wins the double, collects nine points off Rovers, and qualifies for the UEFA Cup via the Intertoto Cup. And if he manages world peace we’ll call it a ‘successful season’!

Article Index
Are you ready?
Page 2
Page 3
Page 4
Page 3 of 4

THE PRETENDERS…
The great unknown is probably Derry City under Stephen Kenny. Stephen Grey will add renewed steel at the back, Conor Sammon will bag goals, but a genuine shot at the top table may just too soon for this team. As usual though, beating them will require a lot of patience, especially in the Brandywell, where Kenny will hope to make a fortress, as it was during his previous tenure up north.

Another team who will frustrate as well as playing some decent football are our old foes, Shamrock Rovers. If it can be said that their young team were clearly tiring towards the end of last season, Pat Scully will be hoping that new boys Stephen Rice, Darragh Maguire, and Dessie Baker can add stamina.

We may just be looking at a team who over-achieved for part of last season, though, and, even with the three signings mentioned, the quality necessary to stake a realistic claim of a top three finish doesn’t seem to be there.

Galway United and Sligo Rovers are the other teams who will be hoping to make a significant breakthrough, and both possess players worth paying to see. Fahrudin Kudozovic will again be a threat for any team visiting the Showgrounds, while African Cup of Nations campaigner Romauld Boco of Benin will definitely be of interest. Mark Leech, if given a run in the Galway United team, should be a reliable outlet for goals.

THE BOTTOM…
With three teams to be relegated, it’s going to be all-out war at the bottom. In recent seasons it’s been typical for one team to be cut adrift quite early on, and it’s anyone’s guess who, if anyone, it could be this season.

Finn Harps and Cobh Ramblers will surely find the step up in class from the First Division incredibly difficult. Despite some useful signings, Bray Wanderers may find life hard yet again, while it might be just a season too far for Pete Mahon at UCD.

It will be of key importance for all these teams – rather like the battle at the top, you feel – to get points on the board early. Even draws may not be enough, and if one of these four teams is going to pull away from the rest, they will have to prove capable of scoring wins against the other three, as well as nicking unexpected points from the top teams.

The utterly heroic manner in which Longford pulled away last season, and, mathematically speaking, survived, is unlikely to be repeated, unless the regrettable dynamic of points deduction comes into play in any shape or form.

One only hopes that, as well as the trophy being won on the pitch, the nerve-racking scrap down the bottom plays itself out in a similar manner. If so, there is little doubt we are in for a season to remember.

Article Index
Are you ready?
Page 2
Page 3
Page 4
Page 4 of 4

THE EXPERT VIEW…

Who will finish first, second, and third?

Johnny Ward (Irish football tipster, The Racing Post): Cork City, Drogheda United, St Pat’s Athletic. Obviously it’s hard to keep Bohs out of the top three, but it may take Fenlon some time. Cork have a brilliant squad, as do Drogheda.
Julian Canny (Irish football odds compiler, Paddy Power): Drogheda United, Cork City, Bohemians. I still think Drogheda are the ones to beat this season. They pretty much cantered the league last season and have added a few decent signings to their already huge squad.
Daniel McDonnell (Irish Independent): Cork City, Drogheda United, Bohemians.
Neil O’Riordan (Irish Sun): Drogheda United, Bohemians, Cork City
Aidan Fitzmaurice (Evening Herald): Drogheda United, Bohemians, St Pat’s Athletic
Who will be the league’s top goalscorer?

JW: Eamon Zayed
JC: Eamon Zayed
DMcD: Dave Mooney
NO’R: Jason Byrne
AF: Conor Sammon
Players to watch?

JW: Romauld Boco (Sligo Rovers)
JC: Conor Gethins (Finn Harps), Matthew Judge (Sligo Rovers)
DMcD: Seamus Coleman (Sligo Rovers)
NO’R: Romauld Boco
AF: Glenn Cronin (Bohemians), Davin O’Neill (Cobh Ramblers), Aaron Callaghan (Derry City), Romauld Boco

SAMUS’S VERDICT:

League champions: Cork City
Runners-Up: Bohemians
Third: Drogheda United
Top goalscorer: Jason Byrne (Bohemians)

Players to watch: Jason Byrne (Bohemians), Gavin Whelan (Bray Wanderers), Davin O’Neill (Cobh Ramblers), Joe Gamble (Cork City), Conor Sammon (Derry City), Eamon Zayed (Drogheda United), Gary Beckett (Finn Harps), Mark Leech (Galway United), Gary Dempsey (St Pat’s Athletic), Alan Murphy (Shamrock Rovers), Romauld Boco (Sligo Rovers), Timmy Purcell (UCD)

Betting selections:

Cork City to win the league (5/1, Coral)
George O’Callaghan league top scorer (20/1 each way, Paddy Power)
Darren Mansaram league top scorer (33/1 each way, Paddy Power)

Looking for a breakthrough from Galwya United this season and will go for a 6th place finish from them. They’ve gone for a good bit of youth in the transfer window. They’ve good pace down the flanks and up front and a solid back 4. It’ll be the middle of midfield that’ll be interesting. Squad numbers suggest Foley and Lester will be first choice but I’d like to see Russell get games too. Lester’s lost a heap of weight and has tonnes of ability so he’ll be a real key player. They’ve Deegan to come in for Foley too. Could be a tough second season for Derek Glynn I reckon.

I think it’ll be an interesting season for Wexford Youths on and off the pitch after coming second from bottom in Division One last season. I know Mick Wallace remains committed to having ‘a team of the people, for the people’ and his whole ethos is based on having a community based team built around Wexford born players and integrating players into the senior squad from his underage teams. As a result, we’re limiting our player base as pretty much all of our players are from Wexford and it’s club policy not to sign any of the raft of players who forge a career / make a living from whoring themselves all around the league.

Pat Dolan was involved with the coaching last season and he expressed his surprise at how raw the players were compared to those he’d worked with at Cork and St. Pat’s and I suppose that reflected the fact they were starting out from scratch. That said most of those players had won All-Ireland Youth honours so it showed there’s another step to the Eircom League. They’ve signed Paul Murphy who was an Irish underage player and was on Manchester City’s books and he’s 23 or 24 now. They also brought Darren Browne into the side towards the end of last season and he used to play with Waterford United and is around the 30 mark. So I think Mick’s accepted that it’s not viable to expect a whole team full of 19 and 20 year-olds to get results consistently.

After the initial novelty factor early last season and a couple of gates around the 2,000 mark things levelled off and they were getting closer to 700/800 as least season progressed. I generally only go back down to Wexford at weekends for GAA games and family events or whatever and a Friday evening kick-off rules me out too as I wouldn’t get down in time either after work so I actually only saw them playing once at home last season but I wish them well. Youths! Youths! Youths!

Friday night k/o is indeed shit. Rules me out of seeing any Galway games and tbh I’m a little intimidated to go to games against Dublin sides here.

Yeah Mick in fairness has a good set up off his own work and determination to get a team going in Wexford. At home to Waterford tonight, so could to have a local derby kicking it off. Waterford should be better, with their experience and just coming down from Premier div. Mick has had troubles with getting a settled squad, between players giving the commitment and then others going back to their GAA clubs in the summer. Its all a learning curve, and hope to see them climb another few places this season.

well one things for certain and that is boez have no chance of winning the league.
nutsy (srfc member 445) will be gone by september and the d7 suicicde squad will be out in force.
Rovers ,in my opinion will finish no more than mid table as we havent strengthened the squad that much and with idiot rowe off the books we look a bit light up front.

i’d say drogs will win the league again and hopefully george o’callaghan will get caught drink driving again and get sent to spike island or wherever they send langers these days

Wahey. I was waiting for josepi to say something. Ive missed the banter. Roll on next season “Tomorrow I love ya tomorrow, is only a day away”

Probably wont be able to make the game tomorrow but will try my best to.

[quote=“josepi73”]well one things for certain and that is boez have no chance of winning the league.
nutsy (srfc member 445) will be gone by september and the d7 suicicde squad will be out in force.

Most Bohs fans have known for years that Fenlon is a Rovers fan. It seems to mean more to Rovers fans than it does to Bohs fans. If the results are good, no-one will care. If they’re not, that alone will seal his fate.

Although with the way Finglas and Bohs legend Roddy Collins infiltrated the enemy and got them relegated, Rovers fans are probably hoping that Fenlon is on some kind of perverted revenge mission. Bring it on :wink:

Fenlon is on a perverted mission?

Obviously not, he’s a thorough professional, but maybe the scum are hoping he is.

Ah I want him to be perverted.

your right SH when you say fenlon’s a professional.
What he makes of the phibsborough pantomine is anyones guess tho.
Underachievers on the board have cost youse a decent manager or two.

and anyway when ot goes tits up in d7,and it surely will at least when we sing “nutsy he’s a hoop he hates bohs” this time it will actually be true.

best of british luck for the season

Connor - was a disaster of a manager off the pitch (legal battle still ongoing) and results on the pitch while not too bad, weren’t great

Farrelly - an utter disaster of an appointment in every way

Kenny - the only one that an argument could be made for us getting rid of too early. BUT he’s only really become the manager he is SINCE we got rid of him

Mahon - results just not anywhere near good enough - more suited to a “coaching” role

Roddy - wouldn’t sign his new contract a matter of weekds before a European game.

Rather than our board costing us a few decent managers, I’d say they’ve repeatedly failed to appoint the right manager in the first place. There’s a feeling that they have now, but obviously time will tell. Check out how many managers Derry have been through in the past 10 years, and then look at us.

Availed of the opportunity to pop out to Ferrycarrig Park to watch Wexford Youths this evening seeing as I was home and literally froze my balls off. They came back from a goal down to draw with Kildare County to pick up their first point of the season. I wasn’t expecting total football but I was a bit disappointed in the standard overall. There was a lack of composure on the ball for a lot of the game and plenty of aerial stuff too. That said a howling wind meant for difficult conditions. Their effort and commitment was clear though and the set-up is good out there so I’ll definitely head out again this season.

i see galway have sacked their manager Tony Cousins four games in. think his management team got the chop aswell. apparently the club want to ‘go in a new direction’. surely something else must have happened? what could have changed after four games? strange.

Strange indeed although I’ve heard nothing about the real goings-on. As I’ve said elsewhere Kenna is a daft appointment and fully expect us to get relegated - 1 point out of 21 so far.

Wexford Youths beat my club (Salthill Devon) in the U-18 Irish Cup semi-final - great achievement for them.

Devon also played in the U-13, U-14 and U-15 Irish Cup semi-finals over the weekend, only prevailing in the U-15 but great for the club to be going so well at underage level.

[quote=“ClarkeyCat”]Strange indeed although I’ve heard nothing about the real goings-on. As I’ve said elsewhere Kenna is a daft appointment and fully expect us to get relegated - 1 point out of 21 so far.

Wexford Youths beat my club (Salthill Devon) in the U-18 Irish Cup semi-final - great achievement for them.

Devon also played in the U-13, U-14 and U-15 Irish Cup semi-finals over the weekend, only prevailing in the U-15 but great for the club to be going so well at underage level.[/quote]

How big is your club Clarkey?

Wexford Youths beat your lads in the U-18 final last season and Mick Wallace admitted at the time that we were very lucky and ye played the better football.

We beat ye on penalties in this year’s semi-final the weekend before last after drawing 1-1 aet and Wallace has some record at U-18 now.

It’s actually a cracking achievement for both Wexford and Salthill to be getting to finals and winning at U-18 as there’s an Eircom League combined XI in it containing the pick of all the U-18 players in the league. There’s also an AUL selection and teams from way bigger leagues around the country.

Our senior team are starting to find their feet in Division 1 now. We’ve won our last two league games - away to Monaghan and at home to Athlone - and also put Premier Division Cobh out of the League Cup aet. We also drew 2-2 at home to Shels recently too so after a bad start - 1 point from 4 games - we’ve now 8 points from 7.

AUL doesn’t have a junior section to it though as far as I know so doubt they’d be up to much. The Dublin clubs seem to get their hands on 50% of the best young players in the country at some stage but it’s slowly changing away from that. When I was playing underage there’d be lads from Kerry and Mayo and places playing in the DDSL but I think the regional teams have been developed very well since then and the future for the Eircom League is surely based on those structures - like Wexford Youths etc. We’re nothing if not parochial in this country and that’s why the territorial nature of GAA and rugby continues to attract far bigger supporting numbers.

Was at the Wexfrd Youths v Athlone Town match there last Friday night which Youths won 2-0. My first time in Ferrycarrig Park.
Wasn’t overly impressed to be honest. Youths don’t really have a gameplan apart from the counter attack-which they are pretty good at in fairness and both goals came from said gameplan.
Good enough defensively-Patsy Malone is a great player. Upfront, Paul Murphy looks a savage player, great touch, great in the air but went off injured after 25 mins.
Think Wallace has them set up as a Cup team so they still need time to adapt to a laegue season.

More on that Galway stuff:

Galway United has fined two of its players and banned a supporter from the club for life following a number of incidents.

Both players have been fined one week’s wages, one for making an unacceptable gesture to supporters at the game against Sligo Rovers and the other for an abusive contribution to a website.

Both players have also received verbal warnings.

The two players have apologised to the club and its supporters.

One supporter has been banned from the club for life and the behaviour of supporters will be closely monitored following the unacceptable behaviour of a minority of fans.

Galway United FC will not be commenting further on this matter.