Culture, in Stradbally, D:D:D:D:D
Gobshites will buy anything once you stick “organic” on it.
Culture, in Stradbally, D:D:D:D:D
Gobshites will buy anything once you stick “organic” on it.
[quote=“myboyblue”]Culture, in Stradbally, D:D:D:D:D
Gobshites will buy anything once you stick “organic” on it. [/quote]
Especially of the Mushroom variety
[quote=“myboyblue”]Culture, in Stradbally, D:D:D:D:D
Gobshites will buy anything once you stick “organic” on it. [/quote]
The culture is brought to Stradbally.
So what your saying is you scammed people. I must say my e-image of you have become really distorted over the past 48 hours.
Has someone hacked into MBB’s account?
Lads down there that could sell heroin to Dubs, so some of the lads who go to this fooking thing, well its like shooting fish in a barrel.
[quote=“caoimhaoin”]The culture is brought to Stradbally.
Ah would ya stop, you’re fooking killing me here, bringing culture to Stradbally, I’ve heard it all now!
:o
[quote=“myboyblue”]Ah would ya stop, you’re fooking killing me here, bringing culture to Stradbally, I’ve heard it all now!
:D[/quote]
But your accepting that you scammed people?
Define scammed?
Ah come on lads…what did somebody on AFR say one day. Being at the Electric Picnic is “living and not existing” or something!
Anyway it is not just a music festival but a festival for a lover of all “arts” in general. Still, I’ll be going with Chocomatemice so he’ll be dragging me around looking to score birds in the Silent Dicso all weekend - the sleaze bag!
Offical Press Release
POD & Festival Republic present Electric Picnic 2009 - Music & Arts Festival, 4th, 5th and 6th September 2009, Stradbally Hall, Co. Laois
Tickets on sale, Friday 17th April at 9am
The time has come to reveal the line up for Electric Picnic 2009 at Pod today Wednesday 15th April. Well known festival characters toasted the occasion with afternoon tea at The Mad Hatters Tea Party alongside the impressive Dragon from BYE (Bin Your Empties) intricately made from the recycled drink cans of last year’s revelers. Model Lisa Cummins was on hand to brighten up proceedings!
With a host of musical acts, performance art, spoken word, green area, the ever popular Electric Picnic is sure to amuse, entertain, engross and thoroughly engage the mind, body and soul.
Since dance behemoths ORBITAL announced late last year they were reforming this summer, their massive Irish fanbase has awaited and speculated if and when there would be an Irish show - the wait is finally over and it’s confirmed to take place at Electric Picnic. One of the biggest and most iconic electronic acts of all time, Orbital made a host of hugely influential albums in the 15 years until they split in 2004 and their legendary live shows are not to be missed.
Famed for their live performances which include furry animals, aliens, santas, streamers, laser beams and singer Wayne Coyne crowd surfing in a giant bubble, American indie gods FLAMING LIPS will make a very welcome return to Electric Picnic. These festival favourites will be debuting tracks from their brand new album which is due for release in June.
BASEMENT JAXX play their first show in Ireland in three years, since they headlined Electric Picnic in 2006, when they bring their fabulous carnival of ass-shaking dance to Stradbally. They release a brand new album in June, so this will be fans’ first chance to hear brand new tracks live alongside classics such as ‘Where’s Your Head At?’ 'Rendez-Vous? and ‘Red Alert’.
2 tone/ska legends MADNESS celebrate 30 years since the release of their debut album ‘One Step Beyond’ with their first appearance at Electric Picnic. Suggs, Chas, Chrissy Boy and the rest of the Nutty Boys spent more time in the UK singles top 10 in the 1980s than any other act - this show will feature all the hits of their career.
Without doubt the worldwide breakthrough act of 2008, electronic rockers MGMT will play Electric Picnic as one of only a handful of performances in Europe this year. On the back of massive radio hits ?Time to Pretend, Kids and Electric Feel; MGMTs debut album ‘Ornacular Spectacular’ recently went triple platinum in Ireland and this appearance will confirm their rapid elevation to superstar status.
Another American indie act who has made a major breakthrough over the last 12 months; FLEET FOXES’ eponymous debut album has won widespread critical acclaim, like MGMT appearing in just about every critic’s top 10 albums of 2008. These baroque, harmonic rockers’ live show has to be seen/heard to be believed as any of the lucky few to get their hands on tickets for their Dublin show last Autumn will attest. Also visiting the festival for the first time, are Mercury prize winners KLAXONS, who release their hotly anticipated second album this year.
Having recently hit the top of the Irish charts with their brilliant fourth album ‘Blue Lights on the Runway’, BELL X1 will make their overdue Electric Picnic debut. The Kildare band continue to go from strength to strength and this show will surely confirm their growing status and popularity. Another act with a massive Irish following; Mexican guitar virtuosos RODRIGO Y GABRIELA will play their first show in Ireland since 2007 with what will also be their first time playing Electric Picnic. For their bands of fervent fans, this will be a first opportunity to hear their new album - which is released the week of the festival.
It wouldn’t be Electric Picnic without a trip down memory lane, disco’s greatest band CHIC make the first ever Irish appearance of their 33-year career. Famed for disco anthems such as Le Freak, Good Times, and Everybody Dance; Chic were inducted into the Dance Music Hall of Fame in 2005 and the legacy of their music has been acknowledged sources as broad as Blondie’s Debbie Harry, Grandmaster Flash and The Smiths’ Johnny Marr. Still led by Nile Rodgers, the 10-piece band maintain its status as the ultimate feelgood party band.
Other acts include one man blues phenomenon, SEASICK STEVE; Belgian mash-up kings 2 MANY DJs who will be playing EP for the first time in three years, honey-voiced songstresss LISA HANNIGAN, US instrumental post-rockers EXPLOSIONS IN THE SKY; ‘80s synth-pop combo ABC; Dublin’s modern trad hero DAMIEN DEMPSEY; the only band who can be described as country techno rockers - ALABAMA 3; acclaimed multi-instrumental singer / songwriter Natasha Khan aka BAT FOR LASHES; Grammy-nominated London chill/downtempo band ZERO 7 who too will release a long-awaited new album this summer; producer, remixer, DJ and all around whizz kid EROL ALKAN; quality hiphop from ROOTS MANUVA and pioneers THE SUGARHILL GANG, political folk punk rocker BILLY BRAGG; enjoy the catchy pop confections of Swedish rising superstar LYKKE LI; the soulful rockabilly of the Liberties’ award-winning IMELDA MAY.
Electric Picnic has always been a festival to tip its hat to history and 2009 is no different. Liverpool?s ECHO & THE BUNNYMEN celebrate the 25th anniversary of their landmark ‘Ocean Rain’ album with a live performance of that record; seminal post-punkers MAGAZINE come to Stradbally play their first Irish shows ever; while Brooklyn veteran all-girl 4 piece E.S.G will show how they produced the grooves and tunes that led from punk to hiphop in their early '80s heyday.
For the more electronically-inclined punter, Electric Picnic 2009 will feature the first ever performance in Ireland of MODERAT - the new live project of German electro acts Modeselektor and Apparat, the return of the stomping live show of SIMIAN MOBILE DISCO who are set to release one of thee albums of this year in early summer, Radiohead’s favourite electronic act FOUR TET, the first Irish appearance of dubstep maestros SKREAM & BENGA’s MAGNETIC MAN live show, Parisian hyperactive duo NOZE, Italo disco from HEARTBREAK, the introspective electronic wall of sound of Dublin’s HALFSET and last but most certainly not least, Electric Picnic welcomes a major coup in a rare audiovisual performance by producer CHRIS CUNNINGHAM whose videos for everyone from The Aphex Twin to Madonna need no introduction. This is one of a handful of festivals Chris Cunningham will play across the globe this summer. Chris Cunningham Live is a 55 minute performance, combining original and remixed music and film. It features remixed, unreleased and brand new videos and music, dynamically edited together into a new live piece spread over 3 screens.
For those more fond of acoustic guitar-based sounds, EP welcomes cult Americana acts OKKERVIL RIVER, MAGNOLIA ELECTRIC COMPANY, LOW ANTHEM well as VILLAGERS and TUNNG.
Choice-Award winner JAPE returns to Stradbally after a storming show last year, Erland Oye’s underground cult heroes WHITEST BOY ALIVE play their long-awaited first ever Irish show, as do London-based MICACHU & THE SHAPES. New York’s THE WALKMEN bring their distinctly powerful brand of indie rock.
Powerful big bands are represented by classical composer and film score writer MICHAEL NYMAN who will bring a mini-orchestra, Electric Picnic stalwarts DUBLIN GOSPEL CHOIR, the jazz/funk of Will Holland?s QUANTIC SOUL ORCHESTRA, and a very rare full band show of Berlin’s jazz-electro fusion JAZZANOVA.
With lots more acts to be announced in the coming weeks and months the music line-up for Electric Picnic is shaping up to be another cracker!
Of course it’s not just about the music…
The Body & Soul Village, the heartbeat of the Electric Picnic will be once more pulsating to its own rhythm. A veritable hippy heaven with a large array of holistic treatments, reiki, yoga and massage. The unique Chill Stage, set in a natural amphitheatre will host a mix of folk, world, classical, electronic, reggae, roots and hip wiggling funk. Once more an army of creatives will be set free across the landscape to transform the space into a magical wonderland.
It wouldn’t be the Electric Picnic without the peals of laughter across the lawns of Stradbally. The Comedy Tent has always been a major attraction with a steady stream of Picnikers through the doors. This year will be no exception and there will be the usual 3 days of entertainment, the line up will be announced over the coming months.
Now an integral part of the festival the Spoken Word area will see the return of David McWilliams’ Leviathan debates, poetry reading, Storytelling and Irish language, full details of the compendium of events to be announced over the coming months but expect a further step up from last year with renowned international names ?stay tuned!
The world renowned performance art troupe, Lucent Dossier crawls once again out of the LA underground arts & music scene with their interactive Water Show?.a 1960s Treehouse Jungle World complete with water stage, rope ladders, unique aerial apparatuses and wild eccentric characters!
Each year Arcadia has looked more and more like a jaw dropping set from a Mad Max movie and this year they will we be taking it to a new level with a unique space-aged 360 degree venue complete with robots and junk metal art installations, circus acts, trapeze performers, and fire spinners. This year Electric Picnic will be the only festival, aside from Glastonbury, that will host Arcadia?s impressive structure.
Inhabited by the dark, the twisted and the strangely beautiful, THISISPOPBABY’s palace of Performance, Myth and Discotheque returns to the Picnic this year following a notorious debut in 2008. Slip once again through the orifice of POP and immerse yourself in an upsidedown universe ruled by Queens of Allegory, Caricature and Disguise. With gender illusion, blinding visions, sensory surprises and grotesque wit, you will find yourself Popsucked and Poplicked by a host of international tranniversalist superstars. And then your sweat will turn to artificial sugar as you dance deep into your future and find yourself returning to POP, over and over…
THISISPOPBABY brought together the best of Irish drag artists to put together this evening’s Electric Picnic line-up announcement show, hosted by Panti.
Last year Electric Picnic was the proud recipient of two awards for its attempts at making it a more environmentally friendly festival. The Irish Festival Awards voted it Greenest Festival and A Greener Festival awarded it The Greener Festival International Award. A Greener Festival recognizes environmentally-friendly music festivals and Electric Picnic is the only Irish Festival to receive the award in 2008. The long term sustainability strategy that was implemented at last year’s festival will be closely followed with plans for ‘Year 2’. The ‘Global Green’ will return along with the successfull carpool.ie and Bin Your Empties team. There will be increased number of recycling stations throughout the festival and many more new intiatives to try on build on last year’s efforts.
Such was the success of last years Greencrafts it has been decided to enlarge the area. Specialist meets beginner to share practical skills and inspiration, enabling green philosophy and aspiration to be shifted into a practical reality - while having lots of fun.
In the Greencrafts area, you’ll feel the pounding energy and spirit of all the makers during the day leading workshops: smiths forging hot metal, silver rings and shamanic drums, pole lathes chatter while shavings fly, bow-top wagons, yurts and tipis built, fire and flint, knives and arrows, glistening axes splitting and shaping timber, fluff and fur, rhythmic weaving of willow basketmakers, dazzle and delight, twinkling lanterns formed, raku kilns a-blazing
The Southern Comfort Crawdaddy Stage promises to draw out the Mardi Gras fever adding a touch of New Orleans style. The Bacardi B Live Arena also makes a welcome return, as ever showcasing the collaborative works of world class DJs, musicians, live vocalists and percussionists.
The Hot Press Chatroom offers festivalgoers a unique chance to get close to their favourite stars, with lively question and answer sessions involving experienced Hot Press interviewers and the fans themselves. Legendary chatroom appearances over the years include Wayne Coyne of the Flaming Lips, Mani of The Stone Roses/ Primal Scream, New Order, The Frames, The Undertones, Damien Dempsey, The Go! Team, DJ Shadow, Bloc Party, Carbon/Silicon and Michael Franti. Hot Press journalists Stuart Clark, Roisin Dwyer and Paul Nolan will be fielding questions from the crowd this year. The crew look forward to chatting to the creme de la creme of the Picnic’s 2009 line-up.
Last year’s introduction of the Family Ticket proved hugely successful with a record number of families in attendance. The Family ticket permits access for two adults and up to four children with access to the Family Campsite, there will be a vast array of activites for children and the Kids Area will return bigger, brighter, more colourful than before- if that’s possible! The Electric Picnic isn’t just for grown up and we intend to make the festival as family friendly as possible. The Children’s Festival will have all sorts of creative workshops, kids yoga, chill out space for parents, and games.
Ticket Info
Weekend Tickets are EUR240 / Family Camping Ticket is EUR480 for 2 adults & up to 4 kids under 12 with access to designated Family Campsite. There are no single day tickets.
[quote=“Phil Leotardo”]Ah come on lads…what did somebody on AFR say one day. Being at the Electric Picnic is “living and not existing” or something!
Anyway it is not just a music festival but a festival for a lover of all “arts” in general. Still, I’ll be going with Chocomatemice so he’ll be dragging me around looking to score birds in the Silent Dicso all weekend - the sleaze bag!
Ah Christ, people will swallow any sort of shite you level at them. Fair play to MCD or whoever is running this I suppose. A fool and his money are easily parted.
Cosby is laughing all the way to the bank, the gormless coont.
I stopped reading after “Press Release”
False advertising, call it what you may. You indicated to me and the board that you threw organic labels on some product that wasn’t actually organic at all.
Yes or No?
If yes, your a scammer, simple as.
[quote=“caoimhaoin”]False advertising, call it what you may. You indicated to me and the board that you threw organic labels on some product that wasn’t actually organic at all.
Yes or No?
If yes, your a scammer, simple as.[/quote]
Define “people”.
[quote=“myboyblue”]
Ah Christ, people will swallow any sort of shite you level at them. Fair play to MCD or whoever is running this I suppose. A fool and his money are easily parted.
Cosby is laughing all the way to the bank, the gormless coont.[/quote]
What’s all this about?
Sure - at 240 bucks it is vastly overpriced but there are some decent bands in that line up. Much better than at the standard music festival.
[quote=“farmerinthecity”]What’s all this about?
Sure - at 240 bucks it is vastly overpriced but there are some decent bands in that line up. Much better than at the standard music festival.[/quote]
I was referring to the press release, what a pile of drivel.
Just cos you haven’t heard of the bands doesn’t mean they’re shite.
Who said I was referring to the bands?
I was making the comment in general.
Yea, but you quoted my post, seems like you’re were directing it at my post.
What are you referring to then? I honestly don’t see your problem with this.
Right - maybe they are pushing it by calling it an arts festival but having a classical musical composer such as Michael Nyman on the bill is a welcome change from my point of view anyway and something they should be commended for as opposed to slating anyone who may want to see him as falling for a scam.
Don’t take it personally.
How do you fleece gullible punters at the EP anyway?