Great to see you got something out of the course Mike
Maybe elon could boost the profits by letting Jordan Peterson and trump back on twitterā¦then thereād be no more redundancies.
What do we think lads?
Apparently It was actually one of the first guarantees they looked for back in the day ā¦
They want twitter to operate at a loss, while going after its only revenue stream and blocking it from opening other revenue streams while maintaining its workforce it seems
Iād say heāll end up tearing it up for parts
Exactly. The excesses need clearing out and rebuilding from there can then commence. Prudence and financial accountability in each function long overdue in the camp
On a strictly financial basis surely heās fucking himself though. Theyāre losing a shit tonne of advertising this week. Wouldnt be the worst thing in the world if twitter ceased to exist.
100%
I think he is trying to diversify the revenue stream away from ads solely but canāt.
Civil rights groups are pressuring the advertisers to stop paying based on content moderation. No revenue = no jobs.
Can someone fire up a few examples of outraged posts from 2020 off the back of the government turfing people out of their jobs with no notice? That decision impacted hundreds of thousands, as opposed to the number impacted by the Twitter fiasco. From memory, there were an awful lot of āIām alright, Jackā types posting. Fellas with cushy government jobs that didnāt give two shits about job losses in sectors that didnāt impact them. We have our outraged Taoiseach and Tanaiste tweeting their upset at the job losses in Twitter, when the same pair were happy to put families on the bread line two years ago.
This notion that Elon Musk is some sort of outlier in how he is handling redundancies is laughable. A company I worked in previously held a staff meeting one Friday afternoon for a department with close to one hundred workers. A senior executive, who had flown in from head office, stood in front of the floor and announced that the department was being closed due to the availability of cheaper labour elsewhere and all jobs were being made redundant. No remorse. No apologies. Just flew in, waved the scythe and then fucked off again. Iām also old enough to remember Digital in Galway. A company that, anyone honest enough to admit it would confirm, had rampant overspending and waste. āIt was nice while it lasted, but hard to fathom how it lasted as long as it didā was a common enough consensus. @Enrique was on point when he said ātech staff, finance staff, any tech adjacent resources basically for the past 5 years, have been overhired and received benefits and salaries not communserate with their skills, output and scarcityā. This was telegraphed. Meta / Facebook is next.
Similar to @estebandaface, Iāve been through a redundancy. It wasnāt nice. The guy that did it was an unmitigated prick in how he handled it, but he made a decision, and followed through on it. Having your role made redundant is not personal. You can try and justify it in your own head that it is, but youāre wasting your time. Let it be a character-building experience, where you use it as a stepping stone in your career. Never knocked down.
That about sums it up alright
Twitter was a crap buy at the price, thatās the reality. It is clearly a driver of the degree of layoffs combined with a message being sent.
Itās LinkedIn in terms of its importance of a few % generating content and interest but modelled like it was Google or Meta in picking up ad revenue.
Tonky on the button
I wonder is he after some piece of intellectual property or an asset ?
eh, my TFK advocacy would come to an abrupt halt mate
Takeover and merger 101.
Grand you donāt have a clue either so.
Lads donāt like Elon, which is fine, and dressing like concern for Twitter employees when they didnāt give a fuck about redundancies elsewhere up until now is gas
the lads on here were giddy when the tweeps were tweeting about how they were going to frustrate musk if he ever took over the company. well hes taken over the company and when you have an actively hostile workforce, why wouldnt you lock them out of the system and garden leave them out the door?
Whereās the Stripe thread?
I fancy a tayto sandwich
Personally I think covid restrictions were for the most part an absolute joke especially in the area of education but also the way certain industries like hospitality were treated was disgraceful with late arbitrary no consultation decisions shutting their business on what seemed like the whim of tony holohan.
I also think Elon musk seems to be acting the complete cunt here. Although you do make a fair point about other companies being cunts too I doubt anyone āleftieā or otherwise would dispute that. My main issue is with people taking sides and sticking to them - the kind of thinking that presumes if you believe sacking people with no notice is cuntish you must have loved covid lockdowns. Very very few people away from the internet are that entrenched.