Thanks for giving us a blow by blow description of what we just watched in the video.
I was invited on here due to my past work as a classroom assistant. Glad you are reaping the rewards, twas for the benefit of lads just like you that i was headhunted.
Can I buy your avatar off you, mate?
Barney Rock - became a windy cunt only good for the odd free and a failed local election candidacy for an ideological Thatcherite party, after having his collar bone broken in the 1986 Leinster final.
Sir Kenneth Mathieson Dalglish - he’d bring himself on as a substitute in a late season Division 1 game at home to Derby, or somebody, after we’d already clinched the league. Still, even though he’d only play 15 minutes and the game wasn’t being televised and because Liverpool had already won the league you weren’t bothering to listen to it on BBC Radio 2, you could see his greatness.
The entire Kerry 1986 team. I never saw what the fuss was about. They were all stone useless any time I saw any of them play, with the exception of Michael Galwey dragging Tony Underwood on his back like Desperate Dan that time at Lansdowne Road.
Barry McGuigan. “Jaysus, there’s boys in the class above me who’d beat him up.”
Eddie Macken. “What age is he? 80?”
John McEnroe. “The fucking state of his serve. Is he having a baby?”
Tom Watson. “I’d say Eamonn Darcy or Des Smyth would beat him.”
There’s plenty of good uns online, bro - Diego has lit up this World Cup… go dig one out.
6:06 on this link is the only save I ever recall Peter Shilton making.
And the linesman had raised his flag for offside, so it doesn’t even count.
I can recall several times the frame of the goal saved him. Argentina hit the inside of the post just after Lineker had scored in 1986, Ronnie Whelan’s volley off the crossbar in 1988, Ceulemans and Scifo hitting the post in 1990, Germany hitting the post in extra-time in the 1990 semi-final.
there was a few keepers of that ilk that I never got the admiration for. Shilton, Southall, Seaman, Bonner, etc. Big leaden footed keepers who would make a big kick out or block a ball, but not at all agile in any way. And it wasnt even that it was the style of keepers for the era as you had Grobelaar, Jennings, Clemence, Preudhomme, etc were to me anyway agile and flexible type keepers who could keep out a top corner shot. The other mullockers would barely get a foot off the ground and be a mile away with their 2 handed palm away effort of a save. Granted, I would have been young at the time so memory wouldnt be great, but they get lauded as great keepers when to me, they seemed to have been very average.
Southall was the best in the world for a few years,
at eating pies?
Southall had a few season where he was top class.
Jim Leighton and Les Sealy are two corkers from my youth.
Southall was the complete package, never made mistakes, (very very rarely),
Only Dasayev could compare at the time
Is Steve Ogrizovic still in goal for Cov?
so the late 80s being his peak? As once that threshold crossed over into the 90s he was shat on by plenty other keepers worldwide. I’m not exactly going to say I’d know enough of how worldwide keepers were in the 80s, as the limited viewing we’d have had of them here would only be major club finals or international tournaments. But I’d still have said there were far better keepers than him of that era.
Seaman was excellent too, esp around the time of Euro 96. Tailed off badly afterwards
I believe he still is.
John ‘Budgie’ Burridge was the best of the lot of them.
Joe Corrigan is another one. Ended up goalkeeping coach at Liverpool and made clean shite of a lot of potentially good goalies, James, Kirkland, Carson, Westevelt, Dudek. Rafa got rid but there’s another dud in now, probably Joe’s son.
Brilliant keeper.
Fixed
Mid to late 80s I suppose, I was only a kid but he was unbelievable, I would say he could well have been the best keeper in the world back then, it probably wasn’t a golden era but you had Dasayev and Zubizaretta who would have been rated, Southall was brilliant, a real all rounder,
I would never consider him overrated, Shiltons best years must have been well before my time because I can’t ever recall being impressed,
Just reading back there, who would you say ‘shat on’ Southall at the turn of the decade?