ENGLAND Supporters Thread

You need to move on and get over another England failure. You are defending them cheating and now pretending they didn’t lose on Sunday night as Italy was engraved into the trophy as winners and Chiellini lifted it.

@Fulvio_From_Aughnacloy

The final score at the end of the 90 minutes regulation time and again at 120 minutes after the extra time was 1-1. That’s a draw.

Good luck to Italy for prevailing in the lottery. I’m nearly as happy that it wasn’t England’s name engraved on the trophy in that manner. I’d imagine it would have felt a bit hollow.

True, but the main difference is VAR was brought in to prevent controversial decisions like that night in Paris. No doubt if it was in use then we would have at least gotten to penalties. But it wasn’t. Everyone saw the same replay with Sterling diving. Himself and Kane at it all night vs italy, which the ref saw but never gave a yellow for it.

England supporters disgrace themselves. Other tier 2 footballing nations can at least cover up their total lack of silverware with a bit of class off the field

HIGHLIGHTS | More penalty pain for England as Italy win Euro 2020 - YouTube

Declan Rice fairly sloppy for the Goal, loses bonucci

Maguire critical of “drunken yobs”. Greek police have had issues dealing with loutish behaviour by yobs in recent times.

Ball-watching.

It’s not a lottery just because English players lack the minerals to hold their nerve,

England did really good to get to the final. They should be proud of themselves

Personally I would compare many of the ABEs to hardline Unionists even more than Brexiteers but this article raises some good points. Being obsessively anti-England really is a terribly negative, paranoid, confidence-free version of Irishness that rejects the notion that it should take its place among the national identities of the world - and instead ties itself to merely being defined by anything the English are not. Which given that most of these same ABEs consume English culture by the barrelful, is very funny.

Martin and Coveney’s soft diplomacy should not be underestimated in its value. And whether we might expect Ireland to receive the same treatment from Westminster is secondary. Great countries lead by example.

Jesus fucking Christ.

What we need is politicians that don’t think before they speak. Playing to forum posters who are dying for a Trump like figure is much important than actual diplomacy.

Justin Barrett or Airlines Gemma should fit the bill.

you seem to need that more than anyone to fuel your crazy.

As usual you’ve missed the point and are wrong, of course.

What crazy? When Micheal Martin spoke on that Claire Byrne programme about a United Ireland some months ago he spoke exactly how I would want a Taoiseach to speak. He refused to speak in soundbytes and instead waffled his way through using vague, de-dramatised, conciliatory terms, all spoken in a quiet, reasonable, extremely boring manner. You’d have fallen asleep during it. That’s what public diplomacy is and it’s exactly what you want during a situation which threatens to explode at any moment. Coveney has done similar over the last few years.

Obviously most lads here hate that because they’re now addicted to the excitement of gobshite politicians saying incendiary things for kicks, they want politicians to behave in the manner of a forum poster who is “right” about everything and will quit their forklift driving job to stay in a bedroom for a decade to prove they’re “right”.

Those people are essentially the DUP and their supporters, no matter whether they’re orange or green.

that crazy… it was a soccer match dude. Get over it

You literally ridiculed the notion of soft diplomacy.

it was a game of ball, dude, time to pull on your big boy pants now and accept it for what it is

Football has a great way of exposing the bankruptcy of particular nationalist ideologies.

That goes for Brexitism and insular English nationalism and it goes for the sort of mean, miserable, swivel eyed, perpetually negative, insular Irish nationalism you see so commonly on these pages.

oirish fans dressed as leprechauns shaking inflatable shamrocks?