Any lads any experience of dealing with somebody who is showing signs of a bit of a mental breakdown and behaving in erratic manner
I am one step removed but behaviour ( I am told) has become increasingly strange and it is not quite threatening but a bit disconcerting. Person on receiving end is becoming a bit concerned about personal safety. I told them to keep a healthy level of vigilance and not be complacent so if for example the person rocks up at night to refuse to let them in etc. Beyond that not sure what they can do as nothing directly threatening that you can go to police with.
When is time to get barring order, attack dogs, notify GardaĂ, move for a committal order
[QUOTE=“TheUlteriorMotive, post: 1097242, member: 2272”]Any lads any experience of dealing with somebody who is showing signs of a bit of a mental breakdown and behaving in erratic manner
I am one step removed but behaviour ( I am told) has become increasingly strange and it is not quite threatening but a bit disconcerting. Person on receiving end is becoming a bit concerned about personal safety. I told them to keep a healthy level of vigilance and not be complacent so if for example the person rocks up at night to refuse to let them in etc. Beyond that not sure what they can do as nothing directly threatening that you can go to police with.
When is time to get barring order, attack dogs, notify GardaĂ, move for a committal order[/QUOTE]
Committal order is way to go. The person in question will get the help they need. Barring order, getting guards will have no positive effect on that person behaviour.
[QUOTE=“TheUlteriorMotive, post: 1097242, member: 2272”]Any lads any experience of dealing with somebody who is showing signs of a bit of a mental breakdown and behaving in erratic manner
When is time to get barring order, attack dogs, notify GardaĂ, move for a committal order[/QUOTE]
If they are really worried they should at least just log a complaint now and start the paper trail- If something does happen and say the guards have to be called they may respond quicker knowing the situation. No point sitting back waiting, a chat with the local cops or authorities won’t cost anything.
committal order is difficult to get Fenners
not sure of the rules in ireland but in Israel at least and i know its prob the same here there are 5 criteria that need to be satisfied, i know this as the Mrs foremost qualification is social work and she had an issue a while back with a friend who had a husband who also lost it a little
committing someone to a psychiatric institiute is a diffcult and tricky process, she was dealing with a case before where a 17 year old girl was showing behaviour consistent with paranoid schizophrenia, her poor parents were in an awful state, she was up at night shouting, listening to loud music to block out voices in her head, etc… the final straw came when she went to the GP asking for an x ray as she thought she had a chip in her head!! sounds nuts but anyway
the parents were freaked out, the GP called them and said he recommended they go to the mental hospital and herself was assigned to help, as the kid was u-18 the father had to committ his child, this puts the individual under the control of the hospital ( by law) for 21 days until there is a tribunal where next steps are assessed, this usually involves returning heavily medicated to the family home or else an incarceration for up to 4 months… usually they are sent home…
if you committ yourself you can leave at any stage, a parent can committ an u-18 year old… committing a non consenting adult is a different matter… id advise the person to talk to their GP about this and also if they know a guard also, guards are very good with this usually and will help …
hopefully the person will agree they have an issue… if not they are forcibly taken and someone must committ them , a GP will usually tell the hospital all criteria are satified…
[QUOTE=“mickee321, post: 1097265, member: 367”]committal order is difficult to get Fenners
not sure of the rules in ireland but in Israel at least and i know its prob the same here there are 5 criteria that need to be satisfied, i know this as the Mrs foremost qualification is social work and she had an issue a while back with a friend who had a husband who also lost it a little
committing someone to a psychiatric institiute is a diffcult and tricky process, she was dealing with a case before where a 17 year old girl was showing behaviour consistent with paranoid schizophrenia, her poor parents were in an awful state, she was up at night shouting, listening to loud music to block out voices in her head, etc… the final straw came when she went to the GP asking for an x ray as she thought she had a chip in her head!! sounds nuts but anyway
the parents were freaked out, the GP called them and said he recommended they go to the mental hospital and herself was assigned to help, as the kid was u-18 the father had to committ his child, this puts the individual under the control of the hospital ( by law) for 21 days until there is a tribunal where next steps are assessed, this usually involves returning heavily medicated to the family home or else an incarceration for up to 4 months… usually they are sent home…
if you committ yourself you can leave at any stage, a parent can committ an u-18 year old… committing a non consenting adult is a different matter… id advise the person to talk to their GP about this and also if they know a guard also, guards are very good with this usually and will help …
hopefully the person will agree they have an issue… if not they are forcibly taken and someone must committ them , a GP will usually tell the hospital all criteria are satified…
PM me and i can tell you more[/QUOTE]
I know in our place, Parents have done this and assumed it was pretty straight forward for an adult. @TheUlteriorMotive[/USER] , I would advise you to follow [USER=367]@mickee321 advise.
To my mind the behaviour to date would not justify admission = some visits and ranting and raving about a perceived slight and then some odd rambling text messages which I have seen talking about visions and dreams and other people dying within a year and philosophical nonsense
Relationship between them is son-in-law and mother-in-law and up until week or two ago there was normal politeness/decorum/etiquette anybody has for a mother in law so it’s a quite sudden breakdown of what I would see as normal social etiquette/behaviour but no more than that. Good chance it won’t escalate beyond that but are there any obvious warning signs of violence
Make the DVA application now, involves the cops. I presume theyve been living with each other at some stage during the past 6 months. Getting sectioned in ireland can be quite troublesome
is this related to @caoimhaoin return to these shores?
[QUOTE=“mickee321, post: 1097866, member: 367”]ok, jesus…
was he arrested?
that’s a different story altogther
did the cops sign him in to the hospital then?, im guessing he didn’t go voluntarily[/QUOTE]
not sure if arrested but cops called an ambulance and he was sedated
Unfortunately you have have to wait until the explosion happens before any intervention takes place, unless the person is aware of the breakdown and goes get help themselves.
Unfortunately your right. A neighbour of mine murdered his uncle with an axe in an episode of unmedicated schizophrenia. His erratic behaviour was well known for a while but he’s mother choose to protect him.
just for our own personal entertainent could you provide some details of the psychotic outburst @TheUlteriorMotive ?
i knew of a lad ( again thru the wife) poor fella was a paranoid schizophrenic, again young man in 20’s very susceptible age
he staged his own anti governement protest outside his house as he was convinced he was about to be arrested for being a spy, accused a family member of being an informer, wildly attacked a tree in he garden one day with an axe, mad stuff, parents were scared of their life… he hung himself 6 months after been released from mental hospital.
follow up care for outpatients with psychotic disorders is shambolic in this country, very little social worker involvement, just here are these tablets and see the psychiatrst once a month… look at that poor family in cobh FFS, that man should never have been out
[QUOTE=“mickee321, post: 1097883, member: 367”]just for our own personal entertainent could you provide some details of the psychotic outburst @TheUlteriorMotive ?
i knew of a lad ( again thru the wife) poor fella was a paranoid schizophrenic, again young man in 20’s very susceptible age
he staged his own anti governement protest outside his house as he was convinced he was about to be arrested for being a spy, accused a family member of being an informer, wildly attacked a tree in he garden one day with an axe, mad stuff, parents were scared of their life… he hung himself 6 months after been released from mental hospital.
follow up care for outpatients with psychotic disorders is shambolic in this country, very little social worker involvement, just here are these tablets and see the psychiatrst once a month… look at that poor family in cobh FFS, that man should never have been out[/QUOTE]
my man sounds bipolar but we’ll see - maybe he always was a bit - grandiosity, lack of empathy, reckless, then extreme exercising
anyway seems he trapped his kids in the car this morning on school run, eventually was talked out by a priest and ran into school and start talking to the devil
Is he goosed or is there anyway back from that. Do people recover from that sort of a breakdown?
[QUOTE=“mickee321, post: 1097883, member: 367”]
follow up care for outpatients with psychotic disorders is shambolic in this country, very little social worker involvement, just here are these tablets and see the psychiatrst once a month… look at that poor family in cobh FFS, that man should never have been out[/QUOTE]
Mentioned it before but a cousin of mine was in John of Gods for a good while essentially on suicide watch as he’d become obsessive about suicide and talked about nothing else. The wife and 3 kids had moved into her parents house for their own safety as he was gone completely crazy. Punched his father in law (man in his 60’s / 70’s) straight in the face and knocked him out was on episode. Anyway, he was in and out of JoG only on day release but was allowed travel home one weekend on the basis he wouldn’t kill himself which is itself bizarre. Anyway, long story short, he bought a length of rope on his way home and was found hanging in his mothers house that evening. His mind was made up and nothing was going to get in his way.
It was obviously tragic at the time (2 and a bit years ago) but now everyone accepts he was badly sick and no matter what anyone did he was going to end it himself. If he’d been kept at home or if his wife and kids hadn’t moved out there’s every chance it could have ended like that family in Cobh or Boolavogue.